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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
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Title Section 
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State of Colorado
Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale 

for Purged Colorado Record
This procedure is completed when the vehicle has been titled in Colorado, the vehicle is physically located in Colorado 
and the Colorado motor vehicle record has been purged. The owner may:

  Sell the vehicle or
  Re-establish the ownership document

The vehicle listed below meets the following criteria:
•  Colorado title has been lost and state records have been purged. 
•  This vehicle is free and clear of all liens and encumbrances. 
•  This vehicle has not been titled and/or registered in any other state since it was titled in Colorado.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Year Make Body Style

Date of Sale Amount of Sale Title Number (if known)

Owner
Printed Name of Buyer or Current Owner if re-establishing ownership 

Printed Name of Buyer or Current Owner if re-establishing ownership

Address

City State ZIP

Seller
I/we certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the facts stated above are true and accurate to the best of my/our 
knowledge.
Signature of seller Printed Name of seller Date

Signature of seller Printed name of seller Date

Address of seller

City State ZIP



DR 2116 (07/13/15) 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Title Section 
www.colorado.gov/revenue

State of Colorado
Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale 

for Purged Colorado Record Checklist

Step What You Need To Do Forms/Fees

1

Have the vehicle inspected and the “Verification of Vehicle Identification Number” 
completed by one of the following:

•  Licensed Colorado emission inspection station
•  Licensed Colorado automobile dealer
•  Colorado law enforcement officer
•  Colorado county motor vehicle office

For manufactured homes:
•  County Assessor
•  Manufactured home dealer

DR 2698

2

Provide one of the following acceptable ownership documents.

•  Colorado registration (original)
•  Colorado renewal card (original)
•  Photocopy of Colorado title document
•  Verification from the county (Copy of county's record)
•  For manufactured homes, verification from the county treasurer/assessor 

that it has been in the owner's name and on the tax rolls for the past 10 
years. The verification must include the vehicle identification number and the 
Colorado title number

If there are no proper ownership documents, title must be established by one of 
the following procedures:

•  Title or Salvage Title Established by Surety Bond, see DR 2922
•  In Lieu of Bond for Manufactured Homes 25 Years old, see DR 2463
•  In Lieu of Bond for Motor Vehicles 25 Years Old or Older, see DR 2462

3

Apply for Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which you live.

•  Manufactured homes are titled at the county motor vehicle office in the 
county in which the manufactured home is located.

Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration 
in the state of Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification 
documents.

**NOTE** The odometer must be disclosed on a secure form for motor vehicles 
with model year of less than 10 years. The applicant taking title will disclose the 
mileage on the DR 2173 Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale. To obtain a DR 2173, please 
visit, www.colorado.gov/dmv

Title fee - $7.20, 
pursuant to C.R.S. 
42-6-137 (1)(a)


	1: 
	2: 
	3: 
	4: 
	5: 
	6: 
	7: 
	8: 
	9: 
	12: 
	10: 
	13: 
	11: 
	14: 
	15: 
	16: 
	17: 
	18: 
	19: 
	20: 
	21: 
	Purged Colorado Record: Off


