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State of Colorado
Checklist: Repair Shop Abandoned Vehicle Titling

DR 2542 (06/15/23)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Services Section
DMV.Colorado.gov

C.R.S. 38-20-116 (2.5) (a), 42-5-110, 42-5-202, 204, 42-6-118, 42-9-102 (1.5), (6)  
or 42-9-104(1) (c), 42-12-203, 1 CCR 204-10

A vehicle is considered abandoned at a repair shop when the owner or owner’s agent has refused to authorize repairs, has refused to 
remove the vehicle from the repair shop upon request, or has refused to pay for authorized and completed repairs to the vehicle. The 
owner or owner’s agent shall be deemed to have refused to grant authorization, make payment, or remove the motor vehicle 5 working 
days following the repair shop’s last good faith effort to contact the owner or owner’s agent.

Step What You Need To Do Forms/Fees

1 Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified 
Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T. certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle 
office can refer you to a P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area).

	¤ Inspection must not be over one (1) year old from date of application.

DR 2704 (will be provided 
by P.O.S.T. certified 
inspector)

Inspection Fee — $50.00
Cash or Check only

2 Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A- Motor Vehicle Requestor Release of 
Affidavit of Intended Use. All out of state vehicles need a title record search from the state they 
are from in addition to the Colorado record search. You must attempt to contact by certified or 
registered mail (return receipt requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search. 

	¤ Record search cannot be over 1 (one) year old.
	¤ Provide photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection form DR 2704 

**NOTE** A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required to 
be submitted with this records request. Please see online instructions for additional information

Motor vehicle appraisal

Validated copy of DR 
2489A for each VIN

Fee $2.20 per search

Copy of letter and 
certified/registered  mail 
return receipt

3 If the Colorado title record search indicates a motor vehicle has a current salvage status, the 
Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form, DR 2704 will indicate if the motor vehicle is “roadworthy” 
or “not roadworthy.”
If Colorado title record search indicates that the vehicle was “Previous Salvage,” the repair shop 
shall request a salvage history by submitting:

•	 Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use DR 2489A

•	 Photocopy of the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form DR 2704

•	 Statement of Fact form DR 2444 to determine the cause of the salvage designation
Upon determination of the reason for salvage:

•	 Complete Rebuilt From Salvage Disclosure form DR 2710, or
•	 If reason for salvage is indeterminate, complete Rebuilt From Salvage Disclosure 

form (DR 2710)
•	 Mark the “Other” box
•	 Indicate “Purchased as an abandoned vehicle, unable to obtain a salvage 

history, reason for salvage unknown”

DR 2444

DR 2489A

DR 2704 (Photocopy OK)

DR 2710

4 Contact all owners of record and lienholders found as a result of the search via certified or 
registered (return receipt requested) mail

•	 	Letter must include: 
	¤ Year, make, VIN 
	¤ Your intent to title 
	¤ Your contact information
	¤ Notification that the motor vehicle is subject to sale if not claimed within 30 days after 
the postmark date

Letter must be returned with proof of delivery via Post Office Return Receipt form (PS 3811) or 
envelope stamped “Undeliverable”, or printout from delivery agency. 

Copy of letter sent to all 
owners and lienholders of 
record

PS 3811

https://dmv.colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches
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Step What You Need To Do Forms/Fees

5 At least 15 days after the vehicle is deemed abandoned, establish the retail fair market value of 
the vehicle, determined by one of the following:

•	 	Price guide books

•	 	Computerized valuation services

•	 	Licensed Colorado automotive dealer

•	 	Certified appraisal
No Colorado title can be issued for vehicles with a retail fair market value of less than $200.
These vehicles should be sold only for the purpose of junking, scrapping, or dismantling the 
vehicle using a DR 2173 Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale form, which must clearly indicate ‘NO TITLE.’ 
A copy must be sent to the Department of Revenue, DMV, Vehicle Services Section. 

Vehicle appraisal 
identifying the vehicle, by 
VIN, year and make

DR 2173 (not available 
online)

6 Purchase a Surety Bond:
•	  Establish the retail fair market value of the vehicle, determined by one of the following

	¤ Price guide books 
	¤ Computerized valuation services 
	¤ Licensed Colorado automotive dealer 
	¤ Certified appraisal

•	 Furnish evidence of a savings account, deposit, or certificate of deposit meeting 
the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S., or a good and sufficient bond with a 
corporate surety not less than twice the retail fair market value of the vehicle
	¤ Bond must indicate year, make and VIN (Assigned ID) of vehicle.

Vehicle appraisal 
identifying the vehicle by 
VIN year and make

Account Deposit 
Certificate or signed Bond

7 Complete the Storage Lien Bond Statement Guide form DR 2438

•	 	Be sure to check the box indicating that you are completing the Preparation of a Repair 
Shop Abandoned Vehicle for Titling process.

DR 2438

8 Provide a copy of any estimate, written or oral.

9 Apply for a Title or Salvage title at the county in which the Repair Shop is located, not less than 
30 days after the postmarked date of the notice mailed.

If the motor vehicle has a current salvage status, the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form, 
(DR 2704) will indicate if the motor vehicle is “roadworthy” or “not roadworthy.”

•	 Roadworthy

•	 Apply for a Colorado certificate of title via the Title Established by Salvage Title 
Checklist form (DR 2415). Apply for title only in name of repair shop.

•	 Not roadworthy:

•	 Apply for a salvage title using the Application for Salvage Title form, DR 2410, 

or

•	 Apply for Colorado certificate of title by repairing the vehicle and following the Title 
Established by Salvage Title Checklist form, (DR 2415). Title vehicle 	 in 
name of repair shop only.

DR 2395

DR 2410

DR 2415

DR 2444

DR 2489A

DR 2704 (will be provided 
by P.O.S.T. certified 
inspector)

Other documents as 
noted in Steps 1 - 7

Title fee - $7.20

https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/DR2438.pdf
https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/DR2395_2021.pdf
https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/DR2410_2021.pdf
https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/DR2415.pdf
https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/DR2444_2021.pdf
https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/DR2489A_2022.pdf

