DR 2593 (06/27/22)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Section State Of CO'OradO

DMV.Colorado.gov
Unrecovered Theft Title Application
C.R.S. 42-3-118(2)(a) and 42-6-145 (3)(b) and Code of Colorado Regulations 1 CCR 204-10 rule 43
ANY ALTERATION OR ERASURE MAY VOID THIS DOCUMENT

STEP WHAT YOU NEED TO DO FORMS/FEES

Obtain a letter from the insurance company on letterhead that is requesting a title
1 in the owner’s name. The letter must state that they are authorizing the State of

Colorado to issue a title in the owner’s name. Not applicable when an insurance
company submits request.

2 Pay all applicable sales tax at the local county motor vehicle office where the Registration/Ownership
applicant resides. Not applicable to insurance companies. Tax Receipt
Complete and sign the application for Unrecovered theft. DR 2593

Obtain a copy of the police report indicating the vehicle was reported stolen (Not
applicable to insurance companies).

Apply for title with the above listed supporting documents required for transfer of
ownership. Schedule an appointment at D\MV.Colorado.gov/AppointmentScheduling

Physical Address:

Colorado Department of Revenue
DMV - Vehicle Services Section
1881 Pierce St.
Lakewood, CO 80214

Agents acting on behalf of a business must provide a Power of Attorney (POA) and/
or a Letter of Authorization (LOA).

Regular Mail:
Colorado Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicles .
o PO Box 173350 Title fee - $7.20
RM 147 pursuant to

Denver, CO 80217-3350 C.R.S. 42-6-137 (1)(a)

Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Requests may take
approximately 2-3 weeks to process.

Dropped off at:
DMV Drop Box

Vehicle Services Section
1881 Pierce St.
Lakewood, CO 80214

Please include a pre-paid return express envelope. Requests may take
approximately 2-3 days to process.

To create joint tenancy with rights of survivorship, there must be specific language declaring such intent, signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree by all owners. This
form is only applicable to multiple owners.

Joint Tenancy with rights of Survivorship is defined as: A form of legal co-ownership of property (also known as survivorship). At the death of one co-owner, the surviving co-
owner becomes sole owner of the property. Transfer of ownership requires copy of death certificate and signature of survivor.

Tenancy in Common is defined as: The equal or unequal holding of property by two or more persons. At the death of one co-owner, the deceased share of the property goes to
his/her estate and is to be divided according to his/her will or the law in the absence of a will. Transfer of ownership requires documents appointing a personal representative for
the decedent.

The following types of identification are Secure and Verifiable: « Any Colorado Driver License, Permit, or ID Card current or expired one year or less. Includes documents issued
under CO-RCSA SB13-251) « Out-of-state issued photo driver’s license, permit, or ID Card current or expired one year or less. *« U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card, current or
expired less than 10 years. * Valid foreign passport with 1-94 or valid processed for 1551 stamps. Exception: Canadian Passport may not have 1-94 attached. « Valid 1-94 issued by
U.S. Immigration with L1 or R1 status and a valid Canadian drivers license or valid Canadian identification card. « Valid 1551 Resident Alien/Permanent Resident card. No border
crosser or USA B1/B2 Visa/BCC cards. * Valid 1688 Temporary Resident, 1688B, and 1766 Employment Authorization Card with intact photo. « Valid US Military ID (active duty,
dependent, retired, reserve and National Guard). « Tribal Identification Card with intact photo.(U.S .or Canadian) « Certificate of Naturalization with intact photo. « Certificateof(US)
Citizenship with intact photo.
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This application is to be used to establish title in anticipation of the recovery of a vehicle that has been reported stolen.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Year Make Body Model Color

Date Purchased Fuel Type MSRP Odometer Reading and Indicator, If known
Bus Cap. Trailers and Manufactured Homes Size (W x L) Dealer Number

O Adult [ Juvenile No. of Seats

Owner/Entity Name

Owner 2/Entity Name

Email Address (This email will only be used in the event we need to contact you to complete your request.)

Legal Address City State ZIP

Mailing Address (If different than legal address) City State ZIP

Note: DR 2421 Statement of One in the Same is required when the owner’s name on the Secure and Verifiable ID differs from the owner’s
name on the application.

Acknowledgement of intent for joint tenancy with the rights of survivorship is required

for all owners (C. R. S. 38-11-101). For detailed explanation please refer to the bottom of page 1.
Print Name Owner 1 (Print Name) Owner 1 Signature Date

Request the Colorado Certificate of Title with the above Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to be issued in: (check one)
[ Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship [ Tenancy in Common

I certify under penalty of perjury in the second degree that the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Owner 2 (Print Name) Owner 2 Signature Date

Request the Colorado Certificate of Title with the above Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to be issued in: (check one)
[ Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship [ Tenancy in Common

I certify under penalty of perjury in the second degree that the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Unless a person waives his or her confidentiality, the information contained in the person’s motor vehicle record shall not

be used for any purpose other than a purpose authorized by law, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-2-121 (4)(a).

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the motor vehicle described above is an unrecovered theft. There are no

liens outstanding against this vehicle.

Owner/Agent as it appears on Identification (Print Name) Owner or Agent Signature Date

Secure and Verifiable ID of Owner/Agent. For examples of acceptable Secure and Identifiable 1D please refer to the bottom of page 2.
[ Colorado DL O Colorado ID [ Other
ID# Expires DOB

Witness signature required. Witness cannot be customer that is applying. The undersigned witness affirms that the named owner of the
vehicle identified in this document presented the identification described above.

Witness (Print Name) Witness Signature Date

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: Account Number M1525571
Colorado Department of Revenue

NO REFUNDS WILL BE GRANTED FOR REQUESTS TOTAL
The state may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may
be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If 57 50 AMOUNT $7.20
your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the
payment amount directly from your bank account electronically. Please note that payment cannot be made (999)
online or over the phone.
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