DR 2709 (03/18/22)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Section

DMV.Colorado.gov

State Of Colorado

Checklist: Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number
C.R.S. 42-5-110, 42-5-202, 204, 42-6-115, 118, 42-12-202, 203
A vehicle identification number is assigned when a vehicle identification number has been removed, changed, altered,
obliterated or the vehicle is manufactured from a kit. Forms can be found online at DMV. Colorado.gov/forms-and-publications

Step

What You Need To Do

Forms/Fees

Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by
a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T certified inspector (Your local
county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T certified inspector in your area).

» Inspection must not be over 1 year old.

DR 2704 (will be
provided by P.O.S.T
certified inspector)

Inspection Fee — $50.00
(cash or check only)

Ifvehicle has proper ownership documents, whetherin-state or out-of-state, skip to Step 5.

If there are no proper ownership documents, perform a record search for in-state and
out-of-state vehicles:

* Request a record search by filling out form DR 2489A Motor Vehicle
Requestor Release of Affidavit of Intended Use or by going online to
myDMV.Colorado.gov. All out of state vehicles need a record search
from the state they are from in addition to the Colorado record search.
You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt
requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search.

» Record search cannot be over 1 year old.

**NOTE** A photocopy of the DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents
are required to be submitted with this records search request including a DR 2444
Statement of Fact form with the following information:

* How, when and from whom the vehicle was obtained
* How much was paid for the vehicle
» Why applicant is requesting a record search

Please see online instructions for additional information at
DMV.Colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches

Fee — $2.20 per search

Copy of a DR 2489A for
each VIN

DR 2444

Contact all owners of record found as a result of the search via certified or registered
(return receipt requested) mail:

* Letter must include
* Year, make, VIN
* Your intent to title
* Your contact information
* A request that owner of record indicate his/her intent to keep or release
the vehicle

* Print out of signature acceptance
Letter must be returned with proof of delivery via Post Office Return Receipt form

(PS 3811) or envelope stamped “Undeliverable”

Copy of letter and
certified/registered mail
return receipt

OR

USPS printout of
signature acceptance

OR

Printout of signature by
delivery company (FedEXx,
UPS, etc.)
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http://myDMV.Colorado.gov
http://DMV.Colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches
http://DMV.Colorado.gov
http://DMV.Colorado.gov/forms-and-publications

Step

What You Need To Do

Forms/Fees

If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle, it must be released.
The lien release must be on the lienholder’s letterhead (letterhead is not required if
lienholder is an individual). Copies and photos are accepted and must include vehicle
year, make, VIN, titled owner’s name(s), agent’s signature, date of lien release and
must be signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree as defined in C.R.S. 18-
8-503. If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien release and the lienholder is
not available, the following procedure must be followed:

Lienholder is not available — filed in Colorado

* A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder’s last known
address and be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title
application

Lienholder not available - Out of State Lien (Not filed in Colorado)

 Contact the state of record and request a lien release. Many states will give
a statement of release of lien or lien expired. This statement must be on the
state’s letterhead and be submitted with the title application.

Acceptable lien release

Copy of proof of
delivery (PS 3811, or
envelope stamped
"Undeliverable")

Court Order that
identifies vehicle by
year, make and VIN

Provide proof of ownership for all other components used in the reconstruction of
the vehicle including an original Bill of Sale, invoices or receipts; these must be
notarized or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree.

« Original Certificate of Title properly assigned to the applicant, or

* Bill of Sale or

* Original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), properly assigned to, the
applicant, and

Provide proof of ownership for all other major components used in the reconstruc-

Original Certificate of

of Facts

tion of the vehicle to include an original Bill of Sale, invoices or receipts, if notarized Title
or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree. Original Bill of Sale must |OR
5 include: Bill of Sale
* Description of the part sold, VIN, year, make * Buyers Name OR
+ Date Sold * Seller's Name MSO
*NOTE** « If the Certificate of Title or MSO shows an active lien, an acceptable lien
release is required (see Step 4 for lien release information).
« If you do not have acceptable ownership documents, you must pur-
chase a surety bond, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-115. If you have a home-
made motorcycle, built from the ground up, only receipts signed under
penalty of perjury for the major components, including the engine case,
are required. No bond will be required in this instance.
Compile photographs of the completed vehicle showing vehicle is road
worthy, including:
6 * Pre-repair photos, if available.
» Entire front and driver’s side
* Entire rear and passenger’s side.
7 Complete form DR 2426 Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Declaration DR 2426
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Step What You Need To Do Forms/Fees
If the model year is newer than 2011, a secure odometer disclosure is required. DR 2173
8 If vehicle has no odometer, submit form DR 2444 Statement of Fact explaining why
. DR 2444
there is no odometer.
Submit form DR 2408 Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Application DR 2408

with supporting documents listed to the right, to your local county motor vehicle office.

All approved applications will be forwarded to the Colorado State Patrol who will
contact you for an appointment to physically affix the VIN plate to your vehicle. All
supporting documents will be returned to you at that time. If your application indicates
that bonding is required for titling your vehicle, you must obtain a bond after your
VIN tag has been affixed but before you apply for title.

Bond should be purchased after assigned ID is affixed otherwise a rider to
the bond will be required

All rejected applications will be returned to you with detailed reasons for rejection.

DR 2704 (will be
provided by P.O.S.T
certified inspector)

DR 2489A for each VIN
DR 2841

Copy of Certified

letter of natification to
owner(s) of record and
lienholder, if applicable

AND

Proof of delivery or
an envelope stamped
‘undeliverable’

DR 2173
DR 2444
Assigned ID fee - $3.50

DR 2709 (03/18/22)

Page 3 of 3




