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Document 1 Elements

Stand Alone Documents (Real ID) Identity
Date of 
Birth Name 1, 2

Lawful 
Presence

CO Driver License or Permit (expired less than 10 years) 11 	 X 	 X 	 X 	 X
CO ID card (expired less than 10 years) 10,11 	 X 	 X 	 X 	 X
Out of state DL/ID with Enhancement indicator (unexpired) 2, 3 	 X 	 X 	 X 	 X
U.S. Passport (unexpired)2,13 	 X 14 	 X 15 	 X 14 	 X 14

I-551 (Permanent Resident Card) verified by SAVE (unexpired) 17 	 X 18 	 X 15 	 X 18 	 X 16

Certificate of Naturalization w/ photo less than 20 years old 4,19 	 X 4, 20 	 X 15 	 X 20 	 X 16

Certificate of Citizenship w/ photo 4, 21 	 X 4, 22 	 X 5, 15 	 X 22 	 X 16

OR
You must provide any combination of documents that prove identity, date of birth and lawful presence in the U.S.

Alternative Documents 1 Identity
Date of 
Birth Name 1, 2

Lawful 
Presence

U.S. state or county issued birth certificate 9, 23 or Consular Report 
of Birth Abroad 23 	 X 15 	 X 25 	 X 16

Real ID Out of state DL/ID 2, 26 	 X 27 	 X 15 	 X 27

U.S. Passport (expired less than 10 yrs) 28 	 X 	 X 	 X
Certificate of Citizenship (no photo) 	 X 5 	 X 	 X
U.S. Adoption Order w/birth information 31 	 X 	 X 	 X
Military ID/Common Access Card w/photo (expired less than 10 yrs) 33 	 X 	 X 	 X
VA card w/photo (not older than 20 yrs) 34 	 X 	 X 8 	 X
Out of state DL/ID (expired less than 10 yrs) 16 	 X 	 X 8 	 X
Bureau of Indian Affairs ID card w/photo (not older than 20 yrs) 35 	 X 	 X 	 X
Parent or legal guardian affidavit of identity (if under 21 years old) 36 	 X 6

An identity card issued by the Federal Bureau of Prisons or any 
state Department of Corrections 7 	 X 7 	 X 7 	 X 7

Certificate of Naturalization without photo or with photo that is 20 
years old or more 19 	 X 	 X 	 X

See reverse side for footnotes disclaimer and additional document list for address requirement.

Required Document Matrix
For individuals who are U.S. citizens or residents who are permanently lawfully present
To be issued a REAL ID compliant Colorado driver license, 
instruction permit or identification card, you must prove the 
following elements: your full legal name, identity, date of 
birth and lawful presence in the U.S. The chart below shows 
the documents that you may use to prove each of these 
elements. If an applicant has already established lawful 
presence and SSN with the State of Colorado previously, 
they do not need to re-establish lawful presence or SSN. All 
documents presented must be an unaltered original certified 
by the issuing agency, or a true copy certified by the issuing 
agency, excluding miniature, wallet sized, or photocopies of 
documents.
If the applicant cannot prove each of the required 
elements through the documents set forth in the chart 
below, then the applicant may request to go through 
Exceptions Processing.

All applicants who do not hold a valid Colorado driver license, 
identification card, or instruction permit must provide proof 
of their Social Security number or sign a sworn statement 
made under penalty of law that the applicant does not have 
a Social Security number. See reverse for a list of acceptable 
Social Security number documents.
All applicants must provide two documents proving their 
current residential address which includes a street address 
(except as provided in 1 CCR 204-30, Rule 6) unless their 
last issued Colorado driver license, identification card, or 
instruction permit shows their current residential address. A 
parent’s current address indicated on their driver license or 
identification card is acceptable for a minor child under 21 
years old. Applicants changing their address must submit 
two documents as well. See reverse for a list of acceptable 
address documents. 



All applicants must provide two document proving their current residential address which includes street address (except as 
provided in 1 CCR 204-30, Rule 6), unless their last issued Colorado driver license, identification card, or instruction permit 
shows their current residential address. Documents that meet this requirement include (but are not limited to):

• Utility bill • Vehicle registration/title
• Credit card statement • Auto insurance
• Pay stub or earnings statement • Rent receipt
• Transcript or report card from an accredited school • Phone bill
• Bank statement • Medical Bills
• Mortgage document • Retirement Statement
• Homeowner’s/renter’s insurance policy • 1st Class Mail Postmarked
• Tax document

All applicants who do not hold a valid Colorado driver license, identification card, or instruction permit are required to 
provide their Social Security number by presenting one of the following documents:

• Social Security Account Number card (not laminated) • Non-SSA-1099 form
• W-2 form • Pay stub with the applicant’s name and SSN on it
• SSA-1099 form

This document is created solely to assist applicants in understanding the identification rules for obtaining a 
Colorado driver license or identification card. This document does not supersede, alter, or amend the rules 
promulgated by the Department of Revenue; those rules contain the complete requirements and are available 
on the Department’s web site at http://www.colorado.gov/dmv.

1	 The applicant’s full legal name is the name on the 
applicant’s document (i.e. birth certificate), unless it 
has been changed by court order, marriage, divorce, 
or adoption. A marriage certificate, divorce decree, 
separation decree, or name change order issued by 
a state or federal court or government may be used to 
document a name change.

2	 Applicants who present U.S. passports, out of state driver’s 
licenses and ID cards or Military IDs/Common Access 
Cards that do not bear the applicant’s full legal name will 
be required to present an additional document (other than 
a U.S. school record or CO Dept. of Corrections/Federal 
Bureau of Prisons ID) that documents the applicant’s full 
legal name.

3	 If, on the face of the license or identification card 
presented, it says that it is an enhanced driver license 
or identification card, then it will be accepted as a lawful 
presence document.

4	 Certificates of Naturalization or Citizenship with photos 
over 20 years old require an additional identity document 
with a photo.

5	 Only if the Certificate of Citizenship shows the applicant’s  
date of birth.

6	 A parent or legal guardian who signs an affidavit of identity 
for a minor under 21 years old must also present an identity 
document from the list on the front of this form and prove 
they are the parent or legal guardian of the minor.  Proof 
of lawful presence is not required for the signing parent or 
legal guardian.

7	 An identity document issued by the Colorado Department 
of Corrections, or the Federal Bureau of Prisons, is 
acceptable provided the first and last name and date of 
birth match the first and last name and date of birth on the 
document presented as proof of lawful presence.

8	 If there is a date of birth on this document then it may be used.
9	 A certified copy of a birth certificate filed with a State or 

county (long form) Office of Vital Statistics or equivalent 
agency in the applicant’s state of birth. Laminated birth 
certificates will not be accepted.

10	 Not issued under the Colorado Road and Community 
Safety Act (CO-RCSA, Senate Bill 13-251).

11	 The Applicant must have previously established lawful 
presence and SSN with the State of Colorado

12	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.1
13	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.2
14	 6 CFR 37.11 (c)(1)(i)
15	 6 CFR 37.11 (d)
16	 6 CFR 37.11 (g)(1)
17	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.5
18	 6 CFR 37.11 (c)(1)(iv)
19	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.6
20	 6 CFR 37.11 (c)(1)(vii)
21	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.7
22	 6 CFR 37.11 (c)(1)(viii)
23	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.3
24	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.4
25	 6 CFR 37.11 (c)(1)(iii)
26	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.8
27	 6 CFR 37.11 (c)(1)(ix)
28	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.6.1.1
29	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.7.1.1.2
30	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 6, 2.3.7
31	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.7.1.1.1
32	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 1, 2.1.2.3 & 2.1.2.5
33	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.6.1.3
34	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.6.1.6
34	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.6.1.5
35	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.6.1.10
35	 1 CCR 204-30 Rule 16, 2.6.1.7


