What Else Should | Know?

An alcohol and drug program the court orders
you to complete may differ from your Motor
Vehicle reinstatement requirements.

Education and treatment must begin after
the date of your most recent alcohol or drug
violation.

Colorado Revised Statute

(CRS 42-2-132) requires completion of a Level
I or Level Il education and treatment program,
and provides for the Affidavit of Enroliment.

If you used an Affidavit of Enroliment, DR 2643,
in-lieu of a completed Level Il to reinstate your
privileges and the Department receives notice
from the OBH provider that you are discharged
as non-compliant with the Level Il program, your
license/privilege will be Cancelled & Denied

for failing to complete the Level II. A letter will
be mailed to you at your last known address

on record with Motor Vehicle. Once a letter is
sent, you will need to provide proof that there
was no lapse in your enroliment (renewed
Affidavit of Enrolliment) or proof of completion of
a Level Il program. You cannot use an Affidavit
of Enrollment once the Cancel & Deny restraint
becomes active.

XXy COLORADO
g Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicles

Colorado Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicles
Driver Control Section
1881 Pierce Street
Lakewood, Colorado 80214

Mail Goes To:

Division of Motor Vehicles
Driver Control Section
P.O. Box 173350
Denver, CO 80217-3350

Phone (303) 205-5613
Fax (303) 205-5990
www.colorado.gov/dmv

Level |
Level ll
and
Enroliments

DRUGS

Alcohol and Drug
Education and Treatment

and What You Should Know

DR 2840 (05/18/17)




Education and Treatment
Programs

Level | education and Leve! Il education/
treatment programs, as required by statute,
are defined by the Office of Behavioral Health
(OBH) of the Colorado Department of Human
Services.

Level |
What is a Level I?

Level | consists of 12 hours alcohol and drug
education over a minimum of three sessions,
unless an alcohol evaluator says more is
required.

When is a Level | required?

Completion of a Level | alcohol and drug
education program is required when a minor
driver has had their license/privilege revoked for
one year for their first DUI, DWAI or .02 or more
BAC conviction, for a violation that was received
while under the age of 21. A minor driver may be
required to complete Level |l education or Level
Il education and treatment depending on the
alcohol and drug evaluator’s recommendations.

Level ll
What is a Level II?

L.evel Il consists of an alcohol and drug
education and treatment program, as defined by
OBH, and are identified in the chart as Tracks A,
B, C, and D, shown above.

“Level Il Four Plus” is a level of treatment that
may be required for those individuals that have
four or more impaired driving offenses.

Level Il Education and Treatment Course Guidelines*

LENGTH LENGTH LENGTH COMBINED LENGTH L2 ED &TX

MINIMUM CRITERIA OF TX OF TX OF LZED
B.A.C. Priors (months/iweeks) (hours} (hoursiweeks) {months}) {hours)
TRACK A: <.15 : None gﬂ:g;ﬁ 42 hours i ;1',3 :r?::s B months 66
TRACK B: i:é:t?sg:—s T None gem\sggr; : 52 hours fg ac::fs 9 months 76
t
TRACK C: < .15 1 or more gF::gE F 68 hours f; :g;fs 11 months 92
+
TRACK D: I:é:l?sg[s 1 or more lg ::::;25 86 hours fg ::;Lgfs 13 months 110

*Level Il Four Plus may be required for those individuals that have four or
more impaired driving offenses. It consist of a minimum of 180 hours of
treatment over a minimum of 18 months.

A Level Il is required when a driver:

* |s convicted of 2 alcohol violations that occurred within 5 years, OR
= |s convicted of 3 or more alcohol violations in a lifetime, OR

* |s revoked for having a BAC of .15 or more, OR

= |s revoked for multiple BAC tests of .08 or more (Per Se), OR

* |s revoked for refusal to take a test.

Who is eligible to use an ‘Affidavit of

Enroliment Enroliment’?

UL EICLC,  e Any driver, required to have a Level Il program

An Affidavit of Enrollment, (DR 2643) completed
by an OBH certified treatment agency, allows

a driver who is required to complete a Level

Il course for reinstatement, to attend and
complete their education and treatment program
after and as a condition of reinstatement.

for reinstatement, that is a Colorado resident,

is currently enrolled in an approved Level ||
program, and is eligible for reinstatement but has
not yet completed their Level |l program, can use
the DR 2643 Affidavit of Enroliment form.



