DR 2186 (02/10/22) **COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE** Division of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Services Section *DMV.Colorado.gov*

MENT OF REVENUE State of Colorado Mes Checklist: Rebuilders Title to Regular Title C.R.S. 42-5-206, 42-6-102(15), 42-12-101, 102, 103, 42-12-202

A Rebuilder's Certificate of Title must be surrendered to complete this process. If the owner on the face of the title is not the applicant, the title must be properly assigned. If the motor vehicle has been made roadworthy, the owner may apply for a regular title. The vehicle must be physically located in Colorado to complete this process.

Forms can be found online at DMV.Colorado.gov/forms-and-publications

STEP	WHAT YOU NEED TO DO	FORMS/FEES
1	Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T certified inspector in your area).	DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T certified inspector) Inspection Fee – \$50.00
	➔ Inspection must not be over one (1) year old.	Cash or check only
2	 A Colorado Assigned VIN will be required if the inspection reveals that the current VIN on the vehicle does not match the Rebuilder's Title being surrendered or is now missing from the vehicle. If an assigned VIN is required, submit the following to your county motor vehicle office: Application for Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (DR 2408) Colorado Certified VIN Inspection, DR 2704 Ownership document(s) Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Declaration of Facts (DR 2426) and Photos of completed vehicle. Photos must show: The entire front and driver's side The entire back and passenger's side All approved assigned VIN applications will be forwarded to the Colorado State Patrol who will contact you for an appointment to physically affix the VIN plate to your vehicle. All supporting documents will be returned to you at that time. 	DR 2408 DR 2426 DR 2704 Fee - \$3.50 for Assigned VIN Photos
3	documents will be returned to you at that time. Complete the Rebuilder's Title to a Regular Title Declaration of Facts form (DR 2239)	DR 2239
4	To convert a rebuilder's title to a standard certificate of title, the applicant shall furnish evidence of a savings account, deposit, or certificate of deposit meeting the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S., or a good and sufficient bond with a corporate surety. The account, deposit, certificate, or bond must be in an amount fixed by the director, but not less than twice the reasonable value of the vehicle, determined as of the time of application. The applicant and the applicant's surety shall hold harmless any person who suffers loss or damage by reason of the filing of a certificate of title under this section.	
	 Provide proof of ownership for all major components used in the reconstruction of the vehicle (body, frame, and/or any VIN found on the vehicle through the Certified VIN Inspection). Original Certificate of Title properly assigned to the applicant, or Original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), properly assigned to the applicant, and Provide proof of ownership for all other components used in the reconstruction of the vehicle to include an original Bill of Sale, notarized or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree. Original Bill of Sale must include: 	Rebuilder's Title Bill of Sale MSO Acceptable Lien Release
5	 Description of the part sold – VIN, year and make Date Sold Buyer's Name Seller's Name 	
	A lien release is required for all active liens. The lien release must be on the Colorado Certificate of Title or on lienholder' letterhead (letterhead is not required if lienholder is an individual): Photo and faxed copies are accepted and must include vehicle year, make, VIN, title owner's name(s), agent's signature, date of lien release and <u>must be signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree</u> as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503	
6	Apply for Title at the motor vehicle office in the county in which you live. Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the State of Colorado. Please see the Secure and Verifiable ID form (DR 2481) for a list of acceptable documents.	Items listed above Title fee - \$7.20, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-137 (1)(a)