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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Services Section
DMV.Colorado.gov

Step What You Need To Do Forms Needed
1 Have the manufactured home inspected and a DR 2698 Verification of Vehicle 

Identification Number form completed by one of the following agencies:

	 •	 Colorado Law Enforcement

	 •	 County Assessor

	 •	 Person registered to sell Manufactured Homes

	 •	 County Clerk (Authorized Agent)
	¤ Inspection must not be over one (1) year old.

DR 2698

2 Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A Motor Vehicle Requestor 
Release of Affidavit of Intended Use. You must attempt to contact by certified or 
registered mail (return receipt requested) the owner of record as indicated on the 
record search. If no Colorado record is found or if the vehicle was titled and/or 
registered in another State a national database search is required.

	¤ Record search cannot be over 1 year old.

**NOTE** A photocopy of the Verification of Vehicle Identification Number and 
additional documents are required to be submitted with the record search request 
(DR 2489A). Please see online instructions for additional information.

Validated copy of a
DR 2489A for each VIN.

Fee – $2.20 each.

Copy of letter and certified/
registered mail return receipt.

3 If the record search indicates an active lien on the manufactured home, it must be 
released. The lien release must be on the lienholder’s letterhead (letterhead is not 
required if lienholder is an individual). Copies and photos are accepted and must 
include vehicle year, make, VIN, titled owner’s name(s), agent’s signature and date 
of lien release. If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien release and the 
lienholder is not available, the following procedure must be followed:

Lienholder is not available – filed in Colorado

•	 �A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder’s last known address 
and be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title application

Lienholder not available- Out of State Lien (Not filed in Colorado)

•	� Contact the state of record and request a lien release. Many states will give 
a statement of release of lien or lien expired. This statement must be on the 
state’s letterhead and be submitted with the title application. The lien release 
may be signed under penalty of perjury or notarized.

Without one of the above statements, a court order will be required. The "in lieu 
of" bonding procedure cannot be completed. If no Colorado record is found, a 
national database search must be completed.

Acceptable Lien Release 

Copy of letter and one of the 
following:

Certified/registered mail return 
receipt 

OR

USPS printout of signature 
acceptance 

OR

Printout of signature by 
delivery company (FedEx, 
UPS, etc.)

State of Colorado
Checklist: In Lieu of Bond for Manufactured Home 25 Years Old or Older

C.R.S. 38-29-119
This procedure is completed for manufactured homes that are 25 years old or older and ownership documents are not 
available or are incorrect.

•	 Applicant must have possession of the manufactured home.
•	 Manufactured home must be physically located in Colorado.

Continued on next page

https://dmv.colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches
https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/DR2489A_e_wo.pdf
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Step What You Need To Do Forms Needed
4 Complete the Bond Statement Guide and In Lieu of Bond Affidavit, providing the  

following information:

•	 The reason why bonding for ownership is required and why there is no title for 
the manufactured home.

•�	 What attempts were made to contact the owner of record to insure they have no 
interest in the manufactured home.

•	 From whom and when purchased; purchase amount.

•	 Describe the manufactured home by year, make and VIN.

•	 That there are no liens against the manufactured home.

•	 Must indicate whether or not it is on permanent foundation.

DR 2394 and other 
documents proving purchase 
or ownership

5 If the manufactured home is abandoned, the following is required:

•	� A copy of the order or judgment for possession obtained through a civil eviction 
proceeding.

•	� Proof of ownership of the real property where the manufactured home is located.

•	 Proof of property taxes paid

Copy of Court Order(s).

Copy of real property deed.

Authentication of Paid Ad 
Valorem Taxes or Certificate 
of Taxes Due (obtained by the 
County Treasurer). Pursuant 
to C.R.S. 38-29-107. Proof 
of taxes paid is required 
on all manufactured home 
applications

6 Apply for Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which the 
manufactured home is located. 

Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the 
state of Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification documents

Items listed above.
Title fee – $7.20 pursuant to 
C.R.S. 42-6-137 (1)(a).

https://dmv.colorado.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/DR2394_2022.pdf

