DR 2468 (06/10/24)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Section

DMV. Colorado. gov

**Vehicle Owner Information** 

# Late Fee Review And Refund Request

## C.R.S. 42-3-112 and Code of Colorado Regulation 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 44. Late Fee Exemption

If a vehicle is not registered when required by law, the vehicle owner shall pay a late fee of twenty-five dollars for each month or portion of a month following the expiration of the registration period, or, if applicable, the expiration of the grace period described in C.R.S. 42-3-114 for which the vehicle is unregistered; except that the amount of the late fee shall not exceed one hundred dollars. The late fee is due when the vehicle is registered.

The customer must pay the late fee at the time of registration. Once paid, the customer may then submit a request for further review of the late fees paid to the Executive Director of the Department of Revenue within 30 days from the payment date of the late fee.

If you have a Medical Hardship, please have your medical professional sign and complete the DR 2538 and submit that form instead. For idled Commercial and Farm Vehicle Trailers please submit the DR 2505.

Last Name		First Name		Middle Initia
Street Address				
City			State	ZIP Code
Daytime Phone Number or E	mail			
Vehicle Information				
VIN				
License Plate Number		Month Registrati	ion Expired	
Year	Make	Body	Model	
Date The Late Fee Was Paid		Total Late Fee Amount	County To Which Late Fe	ee Was Paid

Colorado Revised Statute (CRS) is very specific. The following reasons for a refund are not allowable per statute and claims may be denied for these reasons:

- · Expired temporary registration permits
- · Failure to receive a renewal postcard; expiration dates are on your tags and registration
- Non-operable or stored vehicles
- · Inability to pass emissions when required
- Financial hardship
- · Out of state/county when registration expired
- Out of state temp tags that have not expired yet; CRS says 60 days to register from date of purchase
- Wrong address; it is up to the customer to make sure they have their correct mailing address on file
- Stolen vehicle parts; the exemption is for a stolen vehicle (with a police report), not parts

For additional information on registration requirements please visit: <a href="mailto:dmv.colorado.gov/vehicles">dmv.colorado.gov/vehicles</a>

The vehicle's owner must prove how they meet one of the below statutorily allowable reasons per Colorado Revised Statute and Rule to be provided a refund. If you do not meet one of these allowable exemptions; your request will be denied. You must also provide supporting documentation to illustrate how you meet one of the statutorily allowable exceptions.

Please check the box of the statutory exemption below that you meet (or complete a DR 2538 instead if it is medical hardship). Please indicate one of the selections below.

**Active duty military deployment:** (copy of orders and affidavit that the car was not driven on any Colorado public highways required).

**Act of God:** means an unforeseen and uncontrollable natural event that is outside of human control, including but not limited to; lightning, fire, flood, tornado, and earthquake; that prevents the owner of a vehicle from obtaining a title, registration, Temporary Registration Permit, or renewing the registration of the vehicle.

**Furlough:** means a government-mandated closure of a Motor Vehicle Office.

**Office closure:** means a closure of a Motor Vehicle Office for any reason during normal posted business hours. This does not include counties who are always closed on Fridays or any particular regularly scheduled day of the week.

**Weather related delays:** means weather or weather-related circumstance that prevent a Motor Vehicle Office from completing vehicle titling, registration, Temporary Registration Permit issuance, or registration renewal transactions, as determined by the Executive Director of the Department or a county commissioner.

**Information technology failure:** means any Department computer system or related software or hardware malfunction that prevents successfully completing a vehicle title, registration, Temporary Registration Permit issuance, or renewal transaction.

**Stolen vehicle:** the whole vehicle must be stolen; not just a part of the vehicle. You must provide a supporting police report..

**Medical hardship:** submit the DR 2538 instead of this form.

DR 2468 (06/10/24) Page 2 of 4

Please provide information regarding how your situation fits one of the previously listed statutorily allowable exemptions for a late fee to be refunded. This information (dates, time, office locations, details), as well as supporting documentation, must be provided to show how you meet a statutory exemption.

DR 2468 (06/10/24) Page 3 of 4

The Department reserves the right to validate all statements and details provided, and may reach out for additional information. False or misleading statements may result in penalty of perjury. This document must be signed by the owner in order for the form to successfully be submitted.

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the above statements are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge; I have illustrated how I meet one of the previously listed statutorily allowable reasons to have my late fee refunded.

Owner's Signature Date (MM/DD/YY)

This form and all supporting documents shall be submitted to the Executive Director of the Department of Revenue within 30 days from the payment date of the late fee. Receipt outside of the 30 days will result in a denial of the refund. Incomplete forms will not be accepted.

#### **Mail Address**

Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Services Unit PO Box 173350 Denver, CO 80217-3350

#### **Email**

DOR LateFees@state.co.us

### **Department Use Only**

Refund Approved for \$

Reason

Refund Denied.

Liability Code 5814

DR 2468 (06/10/24) Page 4 of 4