## State of Colorado

## Checklist: In Lieu of Bond for Trailers 2000 Pounds or Less

C.R.S. 42-1-102(14),(17),(60.3),(37),(111)

The in lieu of bonding procedure for trailers 2000 pounds or less is completed when ownership documents are not available.

- Applicant must have possession of the trailer
- · Trailer must be physically located in Colorado
- Forms can be found online at DMV.Colorado.gov/Forms-and-Publications

Step	What You Need To Do	Forms/Fees
1	Complete the Certification of Equipment Compliance for Trailers 2000 pounds or less (DR 2697)  • A P.O.S.T. Certified VIN Inspector is required to complete the bottom portion of	DR 2697
	the DR 2697 Have the trailer inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T certified inspector in your area).  Inspection must not be over one (1) year old at the time of application	DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T certified inspector)
	If no vehicle identification number (VIN) is found, complete a DR 2394 Bond Statement Guide and proceed to Step 5.	Inspection Fee – \$50.00
2	Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A Motor Vehicle Requestor Release of Affidavit of Intended Use or by going online to <i>myDMV.Colorado.gov</i> . If no Colorado record is found, all titles will need a national database search in addition to the Colorado record search.  Record search cannot be over 1 (one) year old.	Validated copy of the DR 2489A Fee – \$2.20 each
	**NOTE** A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required to be submitted with this records request. Please see online instructions for additional information at DMV.Colorado.gov/Vehicle-Record-Searches	DR 2394 DR 2704
	If the Colorado title record search indicates a trailer has a current or previous salvage status, a title history may be required. See Step 3	
	If a title record is found, please proceed to Step 4	
	If no Colorado record is found, a national database search must be completed.	
3	If the trailer has a current salvage status, the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form (DR 2704), will indicate if the trailer is "roadworthy" or "not roadworthy."	DR 2410
	Roadworthy:     Apply for a Colorado certificate of title by following Checklist DR 2415      Roadworthy:     Apply for a Colorado certificate of title by following Checklist DR 2415	DR 2489A
	Rebuilt Title Established by Salvage Title  Not roadworthy:	DR 2710
	<ul> <li>A request that owner of record indicate their intent to keep or release the trailer AND</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Apply for a salvage title using form DR 2410 Insurer, Authorized Agent of an Insurer</li> </ul>	
	OR  • Salvage Pool Declaration for a Salvage or Nonrepairable Title OR	
	<ul> <li>Apply for Colorado certificate of title by repairing the vehicle by following Checklist DR 2415 Rebuilt Title Established by Salvage Title</li> </ul>	
	If Colorado title record search indicates that the trailer was "Previous Salvage" request a	
	salvage history by submitting: <ul> <li>A completed Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use form (DR 2489A)</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>If out of state record search indicates that the trailer was "previous salvage,"</li> </ul>	
	request a salvage history through that states DMV office. Please contact that state for additional information.	
	Upon determination of the reason for salvage:	
	Complete DR 2710 Rebuilt From Salvage Disclosure form	
	<ul> <li>If reason for salvage is indeterminate:</li> <li>Mark the "Other" box</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Indicate "Unable to obtain a salvage history, reason for salvage unknown"</li> </ul>	

4	Contact all owners of record and lienholders found as a result of the search via certified OR registered (return receipt requested) mail.  Letter must include:	Acceptable Lien Release Copy of letter and one of the following: Certified/ registered mail return receipt OR USPS printout of signature acceptance OR Printout of signature by delivery company (FedEx, UPS, etc.)
5	letterhead and be submitted with the title application. The lien release may be signed under penalty of perjury or notarized. Without one of the above statements, a court order will be required. The 'in-lieu of' bonding procedure cannot be completed.  Request an Assigned Identification Number from the County Motor Vehicle office where the trailer will be titled by completing form DR 2409 Statement of Assembly of Homemade Trailer	DR 2409
6	and Assignment of Trailer I.D. Number.  Apply for <b>Title or Salvage Title</b> at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which you live.  Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the State	Items listed above Title fee – \$7.20,
	of Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification documents.  NOTE: If the trailer is less than six model years old and not roadworthy, applicant must apply for a salvage title.	(Pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6- 137(1)(a))

DR 2908 (05/09/24) Page 2 of 2