# **Transporter Plate Instructions**

#### 1. Plates may be purchased in person at:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV - Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood, CO 80227

### Drop off at:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV - Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood, CO 80227

**To purchase plates by mail, send completed application to:** Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles PO Box 173350 Denver, CO 80217-3350

- 2. All transporter license plates will have a one month grace period for renewal. An annual renewal fee of \$30.00 for the first plate and \$10.00 for each additional plate plus material fees, shall be remitted with each application.
- **3.** False information on the application or renewal request may result in rejection of the application, cancellation of any plates issued, and denial of the eligibility to obtain such plates for the following three years. Receipts of complaints and/or abuse of transporter plates may result in the department requesting a review of the company's books and records.
- 4. A transporter license plate may be used to transport motor vehicles, trailers, special mobile machinery, or semi trailers upon any highway, in lieu of registering each vehicle, to move vehicles to and from the dealer's place of business or storage to and from the repair facilities place of business or storage, for the purpose of testing, repairs, or transporting them from point of delivery to the dealers place of business. A transporter license plate may also be used for road testing the vehicle after repair. All movement and road testing of a vehicle shall be accomplished during normal business hours. Movement of a vehicle using a transporter license plate for any purpose other than those listed above shall constitute private use.
- **5.** A vehicle displaying a transporter license plate shall either be driven, towed, transported singly, saddlemounted, towbar, fullmount, or any lawful combination. When traveling in a convoy, each individual vehicle must display a transporter plate.

- 6. It is the responsibility of the dealer or repair facility to assure the vehicles being driven while displaying a transporter license plate are in a safe, roadworthy condition.
- 7. Transporter license plates shall be mounted in such a position as to be visible from the back of the vehicle. Transporter license plates **shall not be permanently** attached or affixed to any vehicle. Transporter license plates must be maintained in a clearly legible condition at all times.
- 8. Lost or stolen transporter license plates shall be reported within seventy-two (72) hours to local law enforcement and the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor vehicles, Vehicle Services using form number DR 2283 Lost or Stolen License Plates/Permits Affidavit. All transporter license plates shall be replaced for the statutory fee of \$10.00, per C.R.S. 42-3-304(7) plus material fees.
- **9.** With the exception of licensed dealers, all vehicles displaying transporter plates shall have a copy of the agreement/contract with the dealership for whom the vehicle is being transported or copies of evidence of repossession, repair agreements/contracts or transit of transport agreements/contracts of the vehicle in the vehicle at all times.

## Transporter Plate Application C.R.S. 42-3-116, 42-3-304(7) and Code of Colorado Regulation 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 35. Transporter License Plates

**Business Name** 

Daytime Phone Number

Address

City

State ZIP Code

A Transporter License Plate will only be issued and renewed to:

- **a.** Dealer or auctioneer that provides a valid license issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
- **b.** A manufacturer that provides a valid license issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
- **c.** Distributor, as defined in 12-6-102(5), C.R.S., that provides a valid license issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
- **d.** A Dealer of special mobile machinery that provides: (1) a valid Colorado Sales Tax License; and (2) a business license or other proof that the Dealer is engaged in the sale of special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business.
- **e.** A Government agency that is acting in the capacity of disposing, auctioning, or movement of vehicles previously owned by the Government.
- **f.** A Repair Facility that provides a current executed written agreement proving that it is engaged in Repair Activity for a State of Colorado licensed dealer and a valid Colorado Sales Tax License.
- **g.** A drive-away or tow-away transporter that provides: (1) a valid Colorado Sales Tax License; and, (2) a current executed written agreement proving that it is providing drive-away or tow-away services for a person listed in this subsection 2.2; or (3) other proof demonstrating that it is providing drive-away or tow-away services for a lawful purpose.
- **h.** A Financial Institution that provides to the Department a copy of its certificate of charter or other documentation proving its authority to do business in the State of Colorado.
- i. A repossessor that provides proof of a bond filed with and drawn in favor of the State of Colorado Attorney General pursuant to 4-9-629(b), C.R.S.

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the above facts are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge, and that I have read and will abide by all rules and regulations for use of transporter plates. I also understand that this information is subject to further verification.

Print Name as it Appears on Identification of Applicant

Secure & Verifiable ID of Applicant

Date of Birth

Date of Application

Signature of Owner

**ID Number** 

The undersigned witness affirms that the identification described above was presented to me.

Expires

Witness Printed Name

Signature of Witness

### Plates Requested - No Refunds Will Be Granted

Price	Quantity	Total Fee
\$34.62 First Plate	. 1	\$ 34.62
\$14.62 Plates 2 and up, or replacements		\$

Account Number: 15-25571 Liability Code: 5900-800

### Mail To and Make check payable to:

Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles PO Box 173350 Denver CO 80217-3350

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Totals \$