# State of Colorado Information for Standard Credential Customers Under 18 Years of Age

Proof of Identity (in name of minor)

Proof of Current Residential Address

Signed form DR 2212

Signed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (for driving credentials only)

### **Proof of Identity**

First time applicants must provide either: Foreign Passport, Foreign Consular Card, or Military ID (these are rare). Documents can be accepted for up to 10 years after their date of expiration. These are the only acceptable forms of identification for Standard credential applicants.

Renewals need only their Colorado issued credential (license, permit, or ID) for identity.

## **Proof of Current Residential Address**

Applicants must provide one (1) proof of current residential address.

Proof of Colorado current residential address may be in the applicant's name or, for applicants under age 18, their parent's name.

The proof of current residential address document must show a complete date and be dated within one year.

## DR 2212

A DR 2212 form is required for all Standard credential applicants. The applicant will complete this form. Technicians can access and print the DR 2212 through DRIVES.

## **If Getting A Permit**

Someone 21 or over with a valid Colorado license (it may be a Standard credential license) must sign a *DR 2460 Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship*. The DR 2460 can be signed by a parent, guardian, grandparent with power of attorney, or any other responsible adult willing to assume liability. The signature must be witnessed by a driver license technician or notary.

## Additional Info

Usual graduated licensing rules apply: the applicant must hold their permit for 1 full year or until they turn 18 and turn in drive logs totalling 50 hours (including 10 night hours) of drive time over 1 year.

All applicants must have an appointment. Appointments can be made <u>online</u> or by calling 303-205-2335.

## **CO Statute And Rules**

For applicable statute and rules, refer to <u>Colorado Revised Statute (Title 42 Article 2)</u> and the <u>Code of</u> Colorado Regulations (1 CCR 204-30)