State of Colorado

Checklist: In Lieu of Bond for Motor Vehicles 25 Years Old or Older C.R.S. 42-6-115 (1), (3) (b)

This procedure is completed for motor vehicles that are 25 years old or older and ownership documents are not available or are incorrect.

- · Applicant must have possession of the motor vehicle.
- · Motor vehicle must be physically located in Colorado.
- · Presents a bill of sale within twenty four months after such sale with the title application.
- Forms can be found online at <u>DMV.Colorado.gov/forms-and-publications</u>

Step	What You Need to Do	Forms Needed
1	Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T certified inspector in your area).	DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T certified inspector)
	Inspection must not be over one (1) year old.	Inspection Fee – Refer to
	https://csp.colorado.gov/services-we-provide/get-a-vin-inspection	the CSP Inspection page for current pricing.
2	Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A - Motor Vehicle Requestor Release of Affidavit of Intended Use or go to myDMV.colorado.gov . All out of state vehicles need a title record search from the state they are from in addition to the Colorado record search. If no Colorado record is found a national database search is required. You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search.	Validated copy of a DR 2489A for each VIN. Fee – \$2.20 each. Copy of letter and certified/
	Record search cannot be over 1 (one) year old.	registered mail return receipt.
	NOTE A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required to be submitted with this records request. Please go to DMV.Colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches for additional information.	
3	If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle, it must be released. The lien release must be on the lienholder's letterhead (letterhead is not required if lienholder is an individual). Copies and photos are accepted and must include vehicle year, make, VIN, titled owner's name(s), agent's signature, and date of lien release. If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien release and the lienholder is not available, the following procedure must be followed:	Acceptable Lien Release
	Lienholder is not available – filed in Colorado	
	 A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder's last known address and be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title application. 	Copy of letter and one of the following:
	Lienholder not available- Out of State Lien (Not filed in Colorado)	Certified/registered mail return receipt
	Contact the state of record and request a lien release. Many states will give a	OR
	statement of release of lien or lien expired. This statement must be on the state's letterhead and be submitted with the title application.	USPS printout of signature acceptance
	The lien release may be signed under penalty of perjury or notarized.	OR
	Without one of the above statements, a court order will be required. The 'in-lieu of' bonding procedure cannot be completed.	Printout of signature by delivery company (FedEx, UPS, etc.)
4	Complete the DR 2394 Bond Statement Guide and In Lieu of Bond Affidavit, providing the following information:	DR 2394 and other documents proving purchase or
	 The reason why bonding for ownership is required and why there is no title for the motor vehicle. 	ownership
	 What attempts were made to contact the owner of record to insure they have no interest in the motor vehicle. 	
	From whom and when purchased; purchase amount.	
	 Describe the motor vehicle by year, make and VIN. That there are no liens against the motor vehicle 	
	- mat there are no hens against the motor vehicle	

Step	What You Need to Do	Forms Needed
5	The applicant is required to disclose current or previous salvage information.	
	Upon receiving the record search information from the Department and the record indicates that the vehicle is salvage;	DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T certified inspector) DR 2415
	The applicant shall have a DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection completed to determine if the vehicle is roadworthy . If the vehicle is determined to be roadworthy , then the applicant may apply for title by following the DR 2415 Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist. The applicant will complete the DR 2424 Salvage Title Statement of Fact stating that the vehicle was purchased without proper ownership documents, no repairs were needed and bond is required for title.	
	If the (DR 2424) Certified VIN Inspection indicates that the vehicle is not roadworthy , the applicant may apply for a salvage title using the DR 2410 Application for Salvage Title or the applicant may apply for Title by repairing the vehicle and following the (DR 2415) Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist. The DR 2424 Salvage Title Statement of Fact must indicate the repairs that were completed to make the vehicle roadworthy. After making repairs a new DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection will be required.	DR 2424 DR 2410
	If the record search obtained from the Department indicates that the vehicle was 'Previous Salvage' (Rebuilt From Salvage), the applicant shall request a salvage history by submission of a DR 2489A Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use: or go to myDMV.colorado.gov indicating "Salvage Title History", a photo copy of the DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection and a DR 2444 Statement of Fact to determine the cause of the salvage designation. Once the reason for salvage has been determined, the applicant will complete a DR 2710 Rebuilt From Salvage Disclosure. If the reason for salvage is indeterminate, the applicant will complete the DR 2710 by marking the "Other" box and stating "Purchased without proper ownership documents through the in lieu of bond process; unable to obtain a salvage history, reason for salvage unknown."	Results of the "Salvage History Search". DR 2489A DR 2444 DR 2710
6	Apply for Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which you live. Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the state of Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification documents.	Items listed above. Title fee – \$7.20, pursuant to, C.R.S. 42-6-137 (1)(a).

DR 2462 (06/14/24) Page 2 of 2