DR 2462 (02/22/22)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Section

DMV.Colorado.gov

State of Colorado

Checklist: In Lieu of Bond for Motor Vehicles 25 Years Old or Older

C.R.S. 42-6-115 (1), (3) (b)

This procedure is completed for motor vehicles that are 25 years old or older and ownership documents are not available
or are incorrect.

» Applicant must have possession of the motor vehicle.
* Motor vehicle must be physically located in Colorado.

» Presents a bill of sale within twenty four months after such sale with the title application.

* Forms can be found online at DMV.Colorado.qov/forms-and-publications

Step What You Need to Do Forms Needed
1 Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by | DR 2704
a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T certified inspector (Your local | (will be provided by P.O.S.T
county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T certified inspector in your area). | certified inspector)
# Inspection must not be over one (1) year old. Inspection Fee — $50.00
Cash or Check Only
2 Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A - Motor Vehicle Requestor | validated copy of a
Release of Affidavit of Intended Use or go to myDMV.colorado.gov. All out of state vehicles
need a title record search from the state they are from in addition to the Colorado | DR 2489A for each VIN.
record search. You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt
requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search. Fee — $2.20 each.
# Record search cannot be over 1 (one) year old. Copy of letter and certified/
registered mail return receipt.
*NOTE** A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional
documents are required to be submitted with this records request. Please
go to DMV.Colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches for additional information.
3 If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle, it must be | Acceptable Lien Release
released. The lien release must be on the lienholder’s letterhead (letterhead is not
required if lienholder is an individual). Copies and photos are accepted and must
include vehicle year, make, VIN, titled owner’s name(s), agent’s signature, date
of lien release and must be signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree
as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503. If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien
release and the lienholder is not available, the following procedure must be followed:
Lienholder is not available — filed in Colorado Copy of letter and one of the
following:
» Acertified or registered Ie-tter must be sent to.the Iienhqlder‘s Igst known aFJdress certified/registered mail
and be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title application return receipt
Lienholder not available- Out of State Lien (Not filed in Colorado) OR
+ Contact the state of record and request a lien release. Many states will give a | USPS printout of signature
statement of release of lien or lien expired. This statement must be on the state’s | acceptance
letterhead and be submitted with the title application. OR
Without one of the above statements, a court order will be required. The 'in-lieu of’ (F;rilntOUt of signaturg bdyE
bonding procedure cannot be completed. elivery company (FedEx,
UPS, etc.)
4 Complete the DR 2394 Bond Statement Guide and In Lieu of Bond Affidavit, providing | DR 2394 and other documents
the fO"OWing information: proving purchase or
» The reason why bonding for ownership is required and why there is no title for | ownership
the motor vehicle.
» What attempts were made to contact the owner of record to insure they have
no interest in the motor vehicle.
* From whom and when purchased; purchase amount.
» Describe the motor vehicle by year, make and VIN.
» That there are no liens against the motor vehicle



http://dmv.colorado.gov/forms-and-publications
http://myDMV.colorado.gov
https://dmv.colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches
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5

The applicant is required to disclose current or previous salvage information.

Upon receiving the record search information from the Department and the record
indicates that the vehicle is salvage;

The applicant shall have a DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection completed to determine
if the vehicle is roadworthy. If the vehicle is determined to be roadworthy, then the
applicant may apply for title by following the DR 2415 Title Established by Salvage
Title Checklist. The applicant will complete the DR 2424 Salvage Title Statement of
Fact stating that the vehicle was purchased without proper ownership documents,
no repairs were needed and bond is required for title.

If the (DR 2424) Certified VIN Inspection indicates that the vehicle is not roadworthy,
the applicant may apply for a salvage title using the DR 2410 Application for Salvage
Title or the applicant may apply for Title by repairing the vehicle and following the
(DR 2415) Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist. The DR 2424 Salvage
Title Statement of Fact must indicate the repairs that were completed to make the
vehicle roadworthy. After making repairs a new DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection
will be required.

If the record search obtained from the Department indicates that the vehicle was
‘Previous Salvage’ (Rebuilt From Salvage), the applicant shall request a salvage
history by submission of a DR 2489A Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit
of Intended Use: or go to myDMYV.colorado.gov indicating “Salvage Title History”,
a photo copy of the DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection and a DR 2444 Statement
of Fact to determine the cause of the salvage designation. Once the reason for
salvage has been determined, the applicant will complete a DR 2710 Rebuilt From
Salvage Disclosure. If the reason for salvage is indeterminate, the applicant will
complete the DR 2710 by marking the "Other" box and stating "Purchased without
proper ownership documents through the in lieu of bond process; unable to obtain
a salvage history, reason for salvage unknown.”

DR 2704 (will be provided by
P.O.S.T certified inspector)
DR 2415

DR 2424
DR 2410

Results of the “Salvage
History Search”.

DR 2489A

DR 2444

DR 2710

Apply for Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which you live. Secure
and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the state of
Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification documents.

Items listed above.
Title fee — $7.20, pursuant to,
C.R.S. 42-6-137 (1)(a).



http://myDMV.colorado.gov

