DR 2521 (12/16/24)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Services Section
DMV. Colorado. gov

Depot Plate Instructions

Information

1. Plates may be purchased in person with an appointment at:

Colorado Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicles 1881 Pierce St. Lakewood CO 80214

To purchase plates by mail, send completed application to:

Colorado Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicles PO Box 173350, Room 147 Denver, CO 80217-3350

Dropped off at:

VSS Drop Box 1881 Pierce Street Lakewood CO 80214

- 2. Fee is \$8.54 per plate regardless of the month plates are requested. Payable upon application.
- 3. Lost/Stolen plates must be reported to the local law enforcement agency and the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor vehicles, Registration Section using form number DR 2283 Lost or Stolen License Plates/Permits Affidavit within 24 hours of plate loss or theft. A copy of the police report must be submitted to Motor Vehicle Registration Section within 72 hours of plate loss or theft, before replacement plates are authorized.
- 4. Replacement fee for lost/stolen/mutilated plates is \$8.54 per plate. Mutilated plates must be returned before replacement plates are issued.
- 5. Plates must be maintained in a clearly legible condition at all times.
- The use of any such plate outside of normal business hours or for private or personal purposes as defined by Colorado rules and regulations is strictly prohibited by law.
- 7. Depot plates cannot be permanently affixed/bolted to any vehicle. Violation will result in confiscation of plates.
- 8. Any violation of the rules and regulations shall subject the violator to a suspension or revocation of the violators depot plate.

Qualifications

- 1. All new and used car dealers shall submit a copy of their dealer license.
- 2. Depot plates may be issued to any licensed motor vehicle dealer road testing authorized vehicles or for moving vehicles for purposes of repairing, painting, upholstering, polishing and related activities. Plates can **only** be used on licensed dealer's vehicles which are being transported to and from the dealer's place of business or storage.

DR 2521 (12/16/24)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Section

DMV.Colorado.gov

Depot Plate Application

C.R.S. 42-3-116, and Code of Colorado Regulation 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 9. Depot License Plates

Submit this form with a copy of dealer license

Dealer Name		Company Telephone Number		
Dealer Address				
City	County	State ZIP Code		
Dealer License Number				
Number of Employees (Including Owner/Operator(s)): Number of Depot Plates R	requested:		
I, certify under penalty of perjury in the second to the best of my knowledge, and that I have depot plates. I also understand that this information	read and will abide by all rules	and regulations for use of		
Print Name as it Appears on Identification of Applica	nt			
Secure and Verifiable ID of Applicant:				
ID Number	Expires	Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY)		
Email Address				
Signature of Owner (Required)		Date of Application		
Witness Signature Required. The undersigned witness affirms that the identification described above was presented to me. Witness Printed Name				
Witness Signature				

Plates Requested - No Refunds Will Be Granted

Price	Quantity		Total Fee
\$8.54 Per New Plate			\$
\$5.33 Per Renewal Plate			\$
		Totals	\$

Account Number: 15-25571 Liability Code: 5900-800

Make check payable to:

Colorado Department of Revenue

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Submit this form with a copy of dealer license