State of Colorado Checklist: Repair Shop Abandoned Vehicle Titling

C.R.S. 38-20-116 (2.5) (a), 42-5-110, 42-5-202, 204, 42-6-118, 42-9-102 (1.5), (6) or 42-9-104(1) (c), 42-12-203, 1 CCR 204-10

A vehicle is considered abandoned at a repair shop when the owner or owner's agent has refused to authorize repairs, has refused to remove the vehicle from the repair shop upon request, or has refused to pay for authorized and completed repairs to the vehicle. The owner or owner's agent shall be deemed to have refused to grant authorization, make payment, or remove the motor vehicle 5 working days following the repair shop's last good faith effort to contact the owner or owner's agent.

- **Step 1.** Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T. certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area).
 - Inspection must not be over one (1) year old from date of application.

https://csp.colorado.gov/services-we-provide/get-a-vin-inspection

Form/Fees:

- DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T. certified inspector)
- Inspection Fee Refer to the CSP Inspection page for current pricing.
- **Step 2.** Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A- Motor Vehicle Requestor Release of Affidavit of Intended Use. All out of state vehicles need a title record search from the state they are from in addition to the Colorado record search. You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search.
 - Record search cannot be over 1 (one) year old.
 - Provide photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection form DR 2704

NOTE A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required to be submitted with this records request. Please see online instructions for additional information

Form/Fees:

- Motor vehicle appraisal
- Validated copy of DR 2489A for each VIN
- Fee \$2.20 per search
- · Copy of letter and certified/registered mail return receipt

Step 3. If the Colorado title record search indicates a motor vehicle has a current salvage status, the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form, DR 2704 will indicate if the motor vehicle is "roadworthy" or "not roadworthy."

If Colorado title record search indicates that the vehicle was "Previous Salvage," the repair shop shall request a salvage history by submitting:

- Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use DR 2489A
- Photocopy of the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form DR 2704
- Statement of Fact form DR 2444 to determine the cause of the salvage designation

Upon determination of the reason for salvage:

- · Complete Rebuilt From Salvage Disclosure form DR 2710, or
- If reason for salvage is indeterminate, complete Rebuilt From Salvage Disclosure form (DR 2710)
 - Mark the "Other" box
 - Indicate "Purchased as an abandoned vehicle, unable to obtain a salvage history, reason for salvage unknown"

Form/Fees:

- DR 2444
- DR 2489A
- DR 2704 (Photocopy OK)
- DR 2710
- **Step 4.** Contact all owners of record and lienholders found as a result of the search via certified or registered (return receipt requested) mail
 - Letter must include:
 - Year, make, VIN
 - Your intent to title
 - Your contact information
 - Notification that the motor vehicle is subject to sale if not claimed within 30 days after the postmark date

Letter must be returned with proof of delivery via Post Office Return Receipt form (PS 3811) or envelope stamped "Undeliverable", or printout from delivery agency.

Form/Fees:

- Copy of letter sent to all owners and lienholders of record
- PS 3811

- **Step 5.** At least 15 days after the vehicle is deemed abandoned, establish the retail fair market value of the vehicle, determined by one of the following:
 - Price guide books
 - Computerized valuation services
 - · Licensed Colorado automotive dealer
 - · Certified appraisal

No Colorado title can be issued for vehicles with a retail fair market value of less than \$200.

These vehicles should be sold only for the purpose of junking, scrapping, or dismantling the vehicle using a DR 2173 Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale form, which must clearly indicate 'NO TITLE.' A copy must be sent to the Department of Revenue, DMV, Vehicle Services Section.

Form/Fees:

- Vehicle appraisal identifying the vehicle, by VIN, year and make
- DR 2173 (not available online)

Step 6. Purchase a Surety Bond:

- Establish the retail fair market value of the vehicle, determined by one of the following
 - Price guide books
 - Computerized valuation services
 - Licensed Colorado automotive dealer
 - Certified appraisal
- Furnish evidence of a savings account, deposit, or certificate of deposit meeting the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S., or a good and sufficient bond with a corporate surety not less than twice the retail fair market value of the vehicle
 - Bond must indicate year, make and VIN (Assigned ID) of vehicle.

Form/Fees:

- · Vehicle appraisal identifying the vehicle by VIN year and make
- Account Deposit Certificate or signed Bond

Step 7. Complete the Storage Lien Bond Statement Guide form DR 2438

 Be sure to check the box indicating that you are completing the Preparation of a Repair Shop Abandoned Vehicle for Titling process.

Form/Fees:

• DR 2438

Step 8. Provide a copy of any estimate, written or oral.

Step 9. Apply for a Title or Salvage title at the county in which the Repair Shop is located, not less than 30 days after the postmarked date of the notice mailed.

If the motor vehicle has a current salvage status, the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form, (DR 2704) will indicate if the motor vehicle is "roadworthy" or "not roadworthy."

- Roadworthy
 - Apply for a Colorado certificate of title via the Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist form (DR 2415). Apply for title only in name of repair shop.
- Not roadworthy:
 - Apply for a salvage title using the Application for Salvage Title form, DR 2410,

or

 Apply for Colorado certificate of title by repairing the vehicle and following the Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist form, (DR 2415). Title vehicle in name of repair shop only.

Form/Fees:

- DR 2395
- DR 2410
- DR 2415
- DR 2444
- DR 2489A
- DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T. certified inspector)
- Other documents as noted in Steps 1 7
- Title fee \$7.20