State of Colorado Unrecovered Theft Title Application

C.R.S. 42-3-118(2)(a) and 42-6-145 (3)(b) and Code of Colorado Regulations 1 CCR 204-10 rule 43

Any alteration or erasure may void this document

Step 1. Obtain a letter on letterhead from the insurance company that is requesting a title in the owner's name. The letter must state that they are authorizing the State of Colorado to issue a title in the owner's name. Not applicable when an insurance company submits request.

Agents acting on behalf of a business must provide a Power of Attorney (POA) and/or a Letter of Authorization (LOA).

Step 2. Pay all applicable sales tax at the local county motor vehicle office where the applicant resides. Not applicable to insurance companies.

Forms Needed

- Registration/Ownership Tax Receipt
- Step 3. Complete and sign the application for Unrecovered theft.

Forms Needed

- DR 2593
- **Step 4.** Obtain a copy of the police report indicating the vehicle was reported stolen (Not applicable to insurance companies).
- **Step 5.** Apply for title with the above listed supporting documents required for transfer of ownership. **Schedule an appointment at** *DMV.Colorado.gov/AppointmentScheduling*

Physical Address:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV – Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood, CO 80227

Regular Mail:

Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles PO Box 173350 Denver, CO 80217-3350

Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope or a pre-paid return express envelope. Requests may take approximately 2-3 weeks to process.

Drop off at:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV – Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood, CO 80227

Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope or a pre-paid return express envelope. Requests may take approximately 2-3 weeks to process.

Forms Needed

• Title fee - \$7.20 pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-137 (1)(a)

To create joint tenancy with rights of survivorship, there must be specific language declaring such intent, signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree by all owners. This form is only applicable to multiple owners.

Joint Tenancy with rights of Survivorship is defined as:

A form of legal co-ownership of property (also known as survivorship). At the death of one co-owner, the surviving co-owner becomes sole owner of the property. Transfer of ownership requires copy of death certificate and signature of survivor.

Tenancy in Common is defined as:

The equal or unequal holding of property by two or more persons. At the death of one co-owner, the deceased share of the property goes to his/her estate and is to be divided according to his/her will or the law in the absence of a will. Transfer of ownership requires documents appointing a personal representative for the decedent.

The following types of identification are Secure and Verifiable:

- Any Colorado Driver License, Permit, or ID Card current or expired one year or less. Includes documents issued under CO-RCSA SB13-251)
- Out-of-state issued photo driver's license, permit, or ID Card current or expired one year or less.
- U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card, current or expired less than 10 years.
- Valid foreign passport with I-94 or valid processed for I551 stamps. Exception: Canadian Passport may not have I-94 attached.
- Valid I-94 issued by U.S. Immigration with L1 or R1 status and a valid Canadian drivers license or valid Canadian identification card.
- Valid I551 Resident Alien/Permanent Resident card. No border crosser or USA B1/B2 Visa/BCC cards.
- Valid I766 Employment Authorization Card with intact photo.
- Valid US Military ID (active duty, dependent, retired, reserve and National Guard).
- Tribal Identification Card with intact photo.(U.S .or Canadian)
- Certificate of Naturalization with intact photo.
- Certificate of (US) Citizenship with intact photo.

State of Colorado Unrecovered Theft Title Application

C.R.S. 42-3-118(2)(a) and 42-6-145 (3)(b) and Code of Colorado Regulations 1 CCR 204-10 rule 43

Any alteration or erasure may void this document

This application is to be used to establish title in anticipation of the recovery of a vehicle that has been reported stolen.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)			Year		
Make	Body		Model		
Color	Date Purchased	Date Purchased		Fuel Type	
MSRP	Odometer Reading and Indicator, If known		Dealer Number		
Bus Capacity Number of Seats Trailers and Manufactured Homes Size (W x L)					
Adult Juvenile					
Owner/Entity Name					
Owner 2/Entity Name					
Email Address (This email will only be used in the event we need to contact you to complete your request.)					
Legal Address					
City			State	ZIP Code	
Mailing Address (If different than legal address)					
City			State	ZIP Code	

Note: DR 2421 Statement of One in the Same is required when the owner's name on the Secure and Verifiable ID differs from the owner's name on the application.

Acknowledgment of intent for joint tenancy with the rights of survivorship is required for all owners (C. R. S. 38-11-101). For detailed explanation, please refer to page 2.

Owner 1 (Print Name)

Owner 1 Signature

Request the Colorado Certificate of Title with the above Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to be issued in: (check one)

Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship Tenancy in Common

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the above facts are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Owner 2 (Print Name)

Owner 2 Signature

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Request the Colorado Certificate of Title with the above Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to be issued in: (check one)

Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the above facts are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Unless a person waives his or her confidentiality, the information contained in the person's motor vehicle record shall not be used for any purpose other than a purpose authorized by law, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-2-121 (4)(a).

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the motor vehicle described above is an unrecovered theft. There are no liens outstanding against this vehicle.

Owner/Agent as it appears on Identification (Print Name)

Owner or Agent Signature

Secure and Verifiable ID of Owner/Agent. For examples of acceptable Secure and Identifiable ID please refer to the bottom of page 2.

Colorado DL Colorado ID Other

ID Number

Expires

Date of Birth

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Tenancy in Common

Witness signature required. Witness cannot be customer that is applying. The undersigned witness affirms that the named owner of the vehicle identified in this document presented the identification described above.

Witness (Print Name)

Witness Signature

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Make check or money order payable to:

Colorado Department of Revenue

No refunds will be granted for requests

The state may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically. Please note that payment cannot be made online or over the phone.

Account Number: M1525571

5750 Total amount (999) \$7.20