State Of Colorado Checklist: Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number C.R.S. 42-5-110, 42-5-202, 204, 42-6-115, 118, 42-12-202, 203

A vehicle identification number is assigned when a vehicle identification number has been removed, changed, altered, obliterated or the vehicle is manufactured from a kit. Forms can be found online at <u>DMV.Colorado.gov/forms-and-publications</u>

Step	What You Need To Do	Forms/Fees
1	Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T certified inspector in your area).	DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T certified inspector)
	Inspection must not be over 1 year old. https://csp.colorado.gov/services-we-provide/get-a-vin-inspection	Inspection Fee – Refer to the CSP Inspection page for current pricing.
	If vehicle has proper ownership documents, whether in-state or out-of-state, skip to Step 5.	
	If there are no proper ownership documents, perform a record search for in-state and out-of-state vehicles:	
2	 Request a record search by filling out form DR 2489A Motor Vehicle Requestor Release of Affidavit of Intended Use or by going online to myDMV.Colorado.gov. All out of state vehicles need a record search from the state they are from in addition to the Colorado record search. You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search. ▶ Record search cannot be over 1 year old. **NOTE** A photocopy of the DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required to be submitted with this records search request including a DR 2444 Statement of Fact form with the following information: How, when and from whom the vehicle was obtained How much was paid for the vehicle Why applicant is requesting a record search Please see online instructions for additional information at DMV.Colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches 	Fee – \$2.20 per search Copy of a DR 2489A for each VIN DR 2444
3	Contact all owners of record found as a result of the search via certified or registered (return receipt requested) mail: • Letter must include • Year, make, VIN • Your intent to title • Your contact information • A request that owner of record indicate his/her intent to keep or release the vehicle • Print out of signature acceptance Letter must be returned with proof of delivery via Post Office Return Receipt form (PS 3811) or envelope stamped "Undeliverable"	Copy of letter and certified/registered mail return receipt OR USPS printout of signature acceptance OR Printout of signature by delivery company (FedEx, UPS, etc.)

Step	What You Need To Do	Forms/Fees
4	If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle, it must be released. The lien release must be on the lienholder's letterhead (letterhead is not required if lienholder is an individual). Copies and photos are accepted and must include vehicle year, make, VIN, titled owner's name(s), agent's signature, date of lien release and must be signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503. If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien release and the lienholder is not available, the following procedure must be followed:	Acceptable lien release Copy of proof of delivery (PS 3811, or
	Lienholder is not available – filed in Colorado	envelope stamped "Undeliverable")
	 A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder's last known address and be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title application Lienholder not available - Out of State Lien (Not filed in Colorado) 	Court Order that identifies vehicle by year, make and VIN
	 Contact the state of record and request a lien release. Many states will give a statement of release of lien or lien expired. This statement must be on the state's letterhead and be submitted with the title application. 	
5	Provide proof of ownership for all other components used in the reconstruction of the vehicle including an original Bill of Sale, invoices or receipts; these must be notarized or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree. • Original Certificate of Title properly assigned to the applicant, or • Bill of Sale or • Original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), properly assigned to, the applicant, and Provide proof of ownership for all other major components used in the reconstruction of the vehicle to include an original Bill of Sale, invoices or receipts, if notarized or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree. Original Bill of Sale must include: • Description of the part sold, VIN, year, make • Date Sold • Seller's Name **NOTE** • If the Certificate of Title or MSO shows an active lien, an acceptable lien release is required (see Step 4 for lien release information). • If you do not have acceptable ownership documents, you must purchase a surety bond, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-115. If you have a homemade motorcycle, built from the ground up, only receipts signed under penalty of perjury for the major components, including the engine case, are required. No bond will be required in this instance.	Original Certificate of Title OR Bill of Sale OR MSO
6	Compile photographs of the completed vehicle showing vehicle is road worthy, including: • Pre-repair photos, if available. • Entire front and driver's side • Entire rear and passenger's side.	
7	Complete form DR 2426 Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Declaration of Facts	DR 2426

DR 2709 (06/14/24) Page 2 of 3

Step	What You Need To Do	Forms/Fees
8	If the model year is newer than 2011, a secure odometer disclosure is required. If vehicle has no odometer, submit form DR 2444 Statement of Fact explaining why there is no odometer.	DR 2173 DR 2444
9	Submit form DR 2408 Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Application with supporting documents listed to the right, to your local county motor vehicle office. All approved applications will be forwarded to the Colorado State Patrol who will contact you for an appointment to physically affix the VIN plate to your vehicle. All supporting documents will be returned to you at that time. If your application indicates that bonding is required for titling your vehicle, you must obtain a bond after your VIN tag has been affixed but before you apply for title. Bond should be purchased after assigned ID is affixed otherwise a rider to the bond will be required All rejected applications will be returned to you with detailed reasons for rejection.	DR 2408 DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T certified inspector) DR 2489A for each VIN DR 2841 Copy of Certified letter of notification to owner(s) of record and lienholder, if applicable AND Proof of delivery or an envelope stamped 'undeliverable' DR 2173 DR 2444 Assigned ID fee - \$3.50

DR 2709 (06/14/24) Page 3 of 3