Records may be provided to a person in interest **or** a federal, state or local government agency carrying out its official functions, with a signed requestor release and affidavit of intended use. (§42-1-206, §42-4-1804, §42-2-103, §42-6-115, §42-6-118, §24-72-204, §24-74-105, §24-74-106 C.R.S.) (Driver Privacy Protection Act) 18 U.S.C. § 2721 Prohibition on Release and Use of Personal Information from State Motor Vehicle Records

Additional Information, Forms and Fees

A. Requesting a motor vehicle record (by VIN Number or Plate Number) Name Search

or

B. Providing a blanket release for search activities related to the Abandoned Vehicle Process. This release is required to be submitted annually along with a registration form for all tow or repair facilities and their agents, and law enforcement agencies and their agents who want to search vehicle information as a result of abandoned vehicle tows or vehicles abandoned at repair facilities.

Law Enforcement Officers: Badge Number is acceptable in lieu of Driver's License.

a. Law Enforcement agencies, Tow Carriers and Repair facilities wishing to participate in the abandoned vehicle process are required to complete sections 1, 2, 3a, 4 and 5.

All forms are available online at <u>DMV.Colorado.gov/forms-number-order</u>, at the Colorado State Motor Vehicle office, or at any county motor vehicle office in Colorado.

License plate searches are permitted with appropriate documentation for the following entities: vehicle owner, law enforcement, insurance companies and attorney.

A record search provides a printout of the current owner and lienholder information. A record search is used for the bond procedure, for court cases and to show proof if a record was issued for registration purposes only. To obtain vehicle record search by "owner's name" you must provide the full name and address for whom you are requesting information.

Form: DR 2489A Fee: A fee of \$2.25 is paid when submitting a request for a record search.

A title history provides a digital replication of the record of all documents submitted when titling a vehicle. Each title holder (owner) is a separate history.

Form: DR 2489A Fee: A fee of \$2.25 per history is paid when submitting a request for a record history.

A certified record may be required for court cases.

Form: DR 2489A **Fee:** A fee of \$0.55 per record or history is paid when submitting a request for certification of records or histories.

Abandoned Vehicle: If no Colorado record found, national database search required. (Tow Carrier only)

Form: DR 2489A Fee: A fee of \$2.25 is paid when doing a National database search.

Bonding for Colorado title: If no Colorado record is found, a national database search is required. (A copy of the results showing no Colorado record was found needs to be attached)

Form: DR 2489A Fee: A fee of \$2.25 is paid when doing a National database search.

To process by U.S.P.S. regular or express mail, please mail to:

Colorado Department of Revenue

Division of Motor Vehicles PO Box 173350 Denver, CO 80217-3350

In Person Requests Only:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV - Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood, CO 80227

Motor Vehicle Record Searches may also be submitted online through <u>myDMV.Colorado.gov</u> and the Vehicle Services tab.

All 8 Pages of the DR 2489A are required to be completed and returned.

Please contact the Vehicle Services Program with any questions at 303-205-5608.

To purchase a record other than your own, you must declare your intended use of that record, paraphrased below in Section 3, or you must have the signature of the person in interest authorizing you to inspect the record. If you are acting as an authorized user, you must identify the company or entity on whose behalf you are requesting the record.

This application is subject to approval and additional information/documentation may be required. §42-1-206 C.R.S

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Section 1 - Name of Person Requesting Information and Name of the Agency if applicable Name Email Address Street Address City State ZIP Code Mailing Address City State ZIP Code FEIN (if applicable) Section 2 - Name Search or Vehicle Search First Name Middle Initial Last Name Street Address City County State ZIP Code Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Year Make Body Title (if available) or License Plate Number

Required: Per §24-74-105 C.R.S., Is this request being completed for the purpose		
of investigating for, participating in, cooperating with, or assisting in Federal		
Immigration Enforcement? *If Yes, please submit a copy of the warrant, court order		
or subpoena	Yes	No

Section 3 (If no box is checked in section 3, applicant must check applicable box in section 3a)

Attached is a written consent of the person whose record is being requested using a **Power of Attorney or Letter of Authorization from the vehicle owner of record.**

This is my record.

Section 3a - Information may be used only for the following approved, permissible, use: (Must select 1 box only)

For use by any government agency, including any court or law enforcement agency, in carrying out its functions, or any private person or entity acting on behalf of a Federal, State, or Local Government agency in carrying out its functions.

An agency charged with driver/motor vehicle safety or theft including: motor vehicle product alterations, recalls, advisories, motor vehicle performance monitoring, motor vehicle parts/ dealers, motor vehicle market research or surveys, removal of non-owner records from original records of motor vehicle manufacturers.

A business that conducts research activities, and for use in producing statistical reports, so long as the personal information is not published, re-disclosed, or used to contact the parties in interest.

In connection with a civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitral proceeding in any court or before a self-regulatory body, including process service, investigation, execution of judgment or pursuant to a court order.

An insurer or insurance support agency in connection with claims, investigations, anti-fraud activities, rating, or underwriting.

To provide notice to owners of towed or impounded vehicles. Copy of tow ticket is required.

Research activity to verify if record is "Junk", "Salvage", or "Rebuilt from Salvage". Copy of ownership document is required.

Bonding for title or Application for Assigned ID. Copy of Certified VIN Inspection is required (DR 2704, if Colorado).

By a business that will use the information to verify the accuracy of information submitted by individuals for the purpose of preventing fraud, pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering a debt or security interest.

By a Colorado insurer, or a salvage pool that is licensed as a Colorado used motor vehicle dealer, that is subject to an insurance claim or being possessed by a salvage pool.

Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use (Continued) Section 4 - Additional Information (Check if Applicable)

Attorney Bar Number

Automobile Dealer/Auction License Number

Process Server: Copy of the front page of Summons must be attached

Tow Carrier or Repair Facility Company Name Public Utilities Commission Number (T-)

Court Order:

- Copy of the front page of Court Order must be attached
- Contains connection to the vehicle/vehicle information

Insurance Company

Claim Number

Law Enforcement Agency

Section 5

Under Penalty of Perjury, I attest that I shall not obtain, re-sell, transfer, or use the information in any manner prohibited by law. I understand that motor vehicle records that are obtained, resold, or transferred for purposes prohibited by law may subject me to civil penalties under federal and state law.

Print Name

Driver's License Number

Badge Number

State

Signature

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Year Make Body Title (if available) or License Plate Number

Type of Record Data/Information

Disclose what data/ information is to be included in the record search. Information released will be limited to data/ information that is permitted by Federal and State laws.

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that the above facts are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Signature

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Check all that apply

	Quantity		Amount
Record Search		x \$2.25	
	Quantity		Amount
Title History		x \$2.25	
	Quantity		Amount
Certification of Records		x \$0.55	
(Each record search certification is \$.55 Each title histo	ry certificat	ion is \$.55)	
National Database Search	Quantity		Amount
(Law Enforcement and Tow Carrier)		x \$2.25	
	Quantity		Amount
National Database Search		x \$2.25	
(Use when bonding for a Colorado title: If no Colorad national database search is required. A copy of the ne found needs to be submitted with the DR 2489A for a be processed.)	o Colorado	record	
Total		\$	

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

No refunds will be granted.

Make check or money order payable to: Colorado Department of Revenue

 Name

 Street Address

 City
 State

 ZIP Code