Duplicate Title/Lien Request and Receipt

C.R.S. 42-6-125, 42-6-126, 42-6-135, 42-6-137

Sections in **bold text** represent required information. If any bolded field is left blank, your application will be rejected.

This Statement Mu	st Be Signed By	Owner, Agent o	r Lienholder	
I certify, under penalty	y of perjury in the s	econd degree, th	at the title for this vehicle will be iss	ued to me as:
(Check One)	Owner	Agent	Lienholder	
only to lien(s) shown	on State Motor V	'ehicle records. I	ot been assigned or transferred, a understand that this duplicate title eviously issued duplicate title(s) w	e will be the
Printed Name as it App	ears on Identification	on of Owner, Agent	, or Lienholder (include firm name if a	applicable)
Signature of Owner, Ag	gent, or Lienholder		Date	e (MM/DD/YY)
Identification of inc	dividual signing a	above:		
Colorado DL	Colorado ID	Other		
ID Number	Expires		DO	B (MM/DD/YY)
_	· • /	•	ness affirms that the named ow dentification described above.	ner of the
Witness Signature			Date	e (MM/DD/YY)
Please Provide Mai To Expedite, Please	J		ned Envelope	
TO Expedite, Flease	Filiciuue a Sell A	uuresseu stalli	peu ∟iiveiope.	

Name

Street Address

City State ZIP Code

Duplicate Title/Lien Request and Receipt (Continued)

Year of Vehicle **Body Style** Title Number Make Issue Date County of Issuance **Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)** License Plate Number State of Issuance **Owner Name** Street Address City State ZIP Code Lienholder (if applicable) Name Street Address ZIP Code City State

- Make check or money order payable to: Colorado Department Of Revenue,
 - Or

If applying at your County Motor Vehicle, make check payable to: County Clerk.

The state may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Account Number: M1525571

Duplicate Title: \$8.20 Lien Release Title: \$7.20

5750 Total Amount: \$8.20 \$7.20

DR 2539A (06/04/25) Page 2 of 4

Procedure For A Duplicate Colorado Title

To comply with Colorado Laws this procedure is to be followed when applying for a Colorado duplicate title.

- Complete and sign the **Duplicate Title/Lien Request and Receipt** title application (DR 2539A).
 The application must be signed by the owner, lienholder, or authorized agent by power of attorney of the vehicle listed on this form. The individual signing the duplicate title application must provide identification information.
- 2. Colorado duplicate titles can only be applied for by the owner, lienholder, or an authorized agent. If the authorized agent applies for the duplicate title, they must submit a Power of Attorney (POA) signed by the owner or lienholder. If the Power of Attorney form used **does not** have a place for the grantor's identification information, a <u>DR 2842</u> Supplemental Secure and Verifiable Identification Information and Attestation Clause must also be submitted.
 - **Do not send photocopies of identification or original identification card(s), such as Driver's license or Passport.** If the POA is VIN specific, the original must be submitted and will be returned upon request. If a General POA is submitted, a photo copy or fax copy is acceptable (notary seal must be visible on copy) and must be included with **each** application. The <u>DR 2175</u> (Colorado POA) and the <u>DR 2842</u> are available at the County Motor Vehicle offices, the Vehicle Services Section, or online at <u>DMV.Colorado.gov</u>.
- 3. A lien release is required for all active liens. The lien release must be on the lienholder's letterhead (letterhead is not required if the lienholder is an individual). Photo and fax copies are accepted and must include vehicle year, make, VIN, titled owner's name(s), agent's signature, date of lien release and must be signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree or notarized declaration as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503.
 - The title will be issued omitting all reference to the lien pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-126.
- **4.** All duplicate title transactions require identification. Secure and Verifiable ID (see form DR 2841) is required for titles issued on or after July 1, 2006.
- **5.** If you are applying as lienholder and the lien is **Not Filed** in Colorado, you must include a Power of Attorney from the owner, (see step 2 above) or, in the case of repossession, include a Statement of Repossession **and** a certified copy of the security agreement.

DR 2539A (06/04/25) Page 3 of 4

6. Mail-in requests:

The fee for a duplicate title is \$8.20 pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-137 (5). The fee for a lien release title is \$7.20 pursuit to C.R.S 42-6-137(4). Make checks payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Submit applications by **Regular Mail** to:

Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles PO Box 173350 Denver CO 80217-3350

Drop off at:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV - Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood CO 80227

In-Person/Physical Address: Submit applications to:

Colorado Department of Revenue DMV - Vehicle Services 3265 S Wadsworth Blvd Suite 3A Lakewood CO 80227

E-Services: *myDMV.Colorado.gov* (For quickest processing, please utilize this option)

Agents acting on **behalf of a business** must provide a Power of Attorney (POA) or a Letter of Authorization (LOA).

7. If your application has been rejected, return the original DR 2539A with the additional information required.

Checks submitted with rejected applications will not be returned and are destroyed by the Department.

DR 2539A (06/04/25) Page 4 of 4