^{b.gov} State of Colorado Checklist: Title or Salvage Title Established by Storage Lien

C.R.S. 38-20-116, 42-5-202, 42-5-204, 42-6-102 (16), (17)(a)

This procedure is used when a vehicle has been left for service or storage and there has been no contact with the person who left the vehicle for over 30 days. Vehicle was not sold, however a verbal or written agreement has been made between the parties.

- Applicant must have possession of vehicle.
- Vehicle must be physically located in Colorado.
- A Colorado repair shop must complete Vehicles Abandoned at a Repair Shop procedure, see DR 2542 checklist.

Forms can be found online at <u>DMV.Colorado.gov/forms-and-publications</u>.

What You Need To Do

- **Step 1.** Have the vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T. certified inspector (Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area).
 - Inspection must be less than one (1) year old.
 - Manufactured homes are exempt from providing a Certified VIN inspection. A regular Verification of VIN (DR 2698) must be completed.
 - https://csp.colorado.gov/services-we-provide/get-a-vin-inspection.

Forms/Fees:

- DR 2704 (will be provided by P.O.S.T. certified inspector)
- Inspection Fee Refer to the CSP Inspection page for current pricing.
- or
 - DR 2395 (manufactured homes only)
- Step 2. Request a title record search by filling out form DR 2489A Motor Vehicle Requestor Release of Affidavit of Intended Use or by going online to <u>myDMV.Colorado.gov</u> through the Vehicle Services tab. All out of state vehicles need a title record search from the state they are from in addition to the Colorado record search. If no Colorado record is found, a national database search must be completed. You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) the owner of record as indicated on the record search.
 - Record search cannot be over 1 (one) year old.
 - *Note A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required to be submitted with this records request. Please see online instructions for additional information at *DMV.Colorado.gov/vehicle-record-searches*

Forms/Fees:

- Validated copy DR 2489A for each VIN
- Fee \$2.25 each search.

- **Step 3.** Fifteen days before applying for title or salvage title, you must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) the following:
 - The owner of record, as indicated on the record search.

and

- Person with whom the agreement was made, if other than owner of record.
- You must maintain proof of notification for one (1) year.

If the registered letter(s) is returned unclaimed or if the return receipt is signed by a person other than to whom the certified/registered letter was addressed, a notice must be published for one day in a newspaper that serves the county in which the vehicle is located. Pursuant to C.R.S. 38-20-116 (2)

This notice must include the following information:

- That you are applying for title for this vehicle.
- The VIN, year and make of the vehicle.
- Name(s) of owner(s) of record and name of the person who made the contract, if other than owner(s) of record.
- Provide contact information (name, phone number or address).
- The newspaper office will certify the publication of this notice.

Forms/Fee:

 Copy of Certified letter of notification to the owner of record and Person with whom the agreement was made (if applicable)

and

Proof of delivery

or

- The returned envelope stamped 'undeliverable,' and a copy of the newspaper notice
- Step 4. If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle, it must be released. The lien release must be on the lienholder's letterhead (letterhead is not required if lienholder is an individual). Copies and photos are accepted and must include vehicle year, make, VIN, titled owner's name(s), agent's signature, and date of lien release.

If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien release and the lienholder is not available, the following procedure must be followed:

Lienholder is not available - filed in Colorado

• A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder's last known address and be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title application.

Lienholder not available - Out of State Lien (Not filed in Colorado)

- Contact the state of record and request a lien release. Many states will give a statement of release of lien or lien expired. This statement must be on the state's letterhead and be submitted with the title application.
- The lien release may be signed under penalty of perjury or notarized.
- Without one of the above statements, a court order will be required. The 'in-lieu of' bonding procedure cannot be completed.

Form/Fees:

- Acceptable Lien Release
- Copy of letter and one of the following:
 - Certified/registered mail return receipt

or

USPS printout of signature acceptance

or

- Printout of signature by delivery company (Fed. Ex., UPS, etc.)
- **Step 5.** Establish the reasonable appraised value of the vehicle (minimum appraisal \$200) by the following: Pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-115 (3)(a).
 - Appraisal must be from a Licensed Colorado Dealer.
 - Appraisal must be for the current condition of the vehicle at the time of titling.
 - Must be on the dealer's letterhead, describe the vehicle by VIN, year, make, signed, dated and state the dealership's license number.
 - If statement is not on dealer's letterhead, the statement must be notarized or signed under penalty of perjury.
 - A dealership may do its own appraisal when bonding for title in its own name.
 - The appraisal must be \$200 or more. If the appraisal is less than \$200, a salvage title is required.

Value from a current Kelley Blue Book or N.A.D.A. Official Use Car Guide. Guidebooks only carry information on vehicles less than seven (7) years old. The specific model being appraised must be identified (i.e., highlighted). Applicant may use the retail or wholesale value listed in the CURRENT Kelley Blue Book or N.A.D.A. Official Used Car Guide with form DR 2444 Statement of Fact indicating that this is the applicant's choice.

Form/Fees:

- Appraisal identifying the vehicle by VIN, year and make.
- Photo copy of the front cover of the reference book and of page with the appraised value.
- DR 2444

Step 6. Purchase a surety bond for twice the appraised value as shown on the appraisal or twice the actual value determined by the county assessor's records for a manufactured home. Bonding companies are listed in the telephone yellow pages under "surety bonds."

Form/Fees:

- Surety Bond **Signed**.
- Indicate year, make and VIN of the vehicle/manufactured home.

Step 7. Complete the Storage Lien Bond Statement Guide, providing the following information:

- That you have not heard from the person who left the vehicle for over 30 days, and in good faith, you believe that the person has abandoned the vehicle.
- VIN, year and make of the vehicle.
- Name of person who left the vehicle with you.
- Copy of written agreement; or if verbal agreement, state terms of agreement.
- Date the vehicle was left with you.
- Whether the vehicle is or is not roadworthy.

Form/Fees:

- DR 2438
- Copy of written agreement, if applicable

Step 8. The applicant is required to disclose current or previous salvage information.

Upon receiving the record search information from the Department and if record indicates that the vehicle is salvage:

The applicant shall have a form DR 2704 Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed to determine if the vehicle is roadworthy. If the vehicle is determined to be **roadworthy**, then the applicant may apply for title by following checklist DR 2415 Rebuilt Title Established by Salvage Title. The applicant will complete form DR 2424 Rebuilt from Salvage Title Statement of Facts stating that the vehicle was obtained as an abandoned vehicle and that no repairs were needed.

If the form DR 2704 Colorado Certified VIN Inspection indicates that the vehicle is **not** roadworthy, the applicant may apply for a salvage title using the form DR 2410 Insurer, Authorized Agent of an Insurer, or Salvage Pool Declaration for a Salvage or Nonrepairable Title or the applicant may apply for Title by repairing the vehicle and following checklist DR 2415 Rebuilt Title Established by Salvage Title. Form DR 2424 Rebuilt from Salvage Title Statement of Facts must indicate the repairs that were completed to make the vehicle roadworthy. After making repairs a new DR 2704 Colorado Certified VIN Inspection will be required.

If the record search obtained from the Department indicates that the vehicle was 'Previous Salvage' (Rebuilt From Salvage), the applicant shall request a salvage history by submission of form DR 2539 Motor Vehicle Request and Receipt indicating "Salvage Title History", a photo copy of the form DR 2704 Colorado Certified VIN Inspection and form DR 2444 Statement of Fact to determine the cause of the salvage designation. Once the reason for salvage has been determined, the applicant will complete a form DR 2710 Branded Title Disclosure Statement

(If the reason for salvage is indeterminate, the applicant will check the "Other" box and stating "Purchased as an abandoned vehicle, unable to obtain a salvage history, reason for salvage unknown").

Form/Fees:

- DR 2710
- Results of the "Salvage Title History"

Step 9. Apply for Title or Salvage Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which you live.

• Manufactured homes are titled at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which the manufactured home is located.

Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the state of Colorado. Please see form DR 2841 Secure and Verifiable ID for acceptable identification documents.

*Note - Model years 2011 or newer, a secure odometer disclosure is required. The applicant taking title will disclose the mileage on the (DR 2173) Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale. To obtain a (DR 2173), please contact Standard Register at 1-800-877-0723.

Form/Fees:

- Items listed above. Title fee \$7.20 pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-137(1)(a).
- DR 2173