
Low-Power Scooter  
Registration Agent Application

C.R.S. 42-1-102(48.5), 42-3-103, 42-3-105, 42-3-311 and Code of Colorado Regulations 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 40. Low Power Scooter
Applicant

Company Name

Address City State ZIP

State Sales Tax License Number Dealer License Number (if applicable) Telephone Number

Definition
A Low-Power Scooter (42-1-102(48.5)) means:

•  A self-propelled vehicle designed primarily for use on roadways with not more than three wheels in contact with the ground. 
•  Has no manual clutch. 
•  Has either of the following:

•  A cylinder capacity not exceeding fifty cubic centimeters (50cc's) if powered by internal combustion; or
•  A wattage not exceeding four thousand four hundred seventy-six (4,476) if powered by electricity.

Registration
•  Low-Power Scooters are registered by a department approved registration agent or the Vehicle Services Unit.
•  Low-Power Scooters must have an identification number stamped on the frame. The ID number will be recorded on the 

registration.
•  Registration decal will be affixed to the frame in a conspicuous place.
•  Registration shall be valid for a period of three years.
•  Registration fee is $5.35 for the three year period.

Rules and regulations
The Vehicle Services Unit Agrees:

•  To appoint the applicant as a registration agent to sell Low-Power Scooter registrations.
•  To permit the agent to retain one dollar ($1.00) for each registration issued.
•  To furnish all necessary decals, forms and instructions.

The Registration Agent Agrees:
•  To keep all money for Low-Power Scooter registrations in a separate fund. In the event of death or insolvency of the 

registration agent, the State of Colorado shall have a preferred claim on the fund.
•  That the Vehicle Services Unit may terminate this agreement if the registration agent goes out of business or if the rules and 

regulations are violated. Upon termination, all money and inventory will be surrendered to the Vehicle Services Unit.
•  To keep a complete record of all registrations sold.
•  To be responsible for all records, decals, and forms; these are to be kept at the place of business at all times.
•  To allow Vehicle Services Unit employees to examine decals and to audit records of Low-Power Scooter registrations.
•  To make monthly reports and remittances to the Vehicle Services Unit, paying the necessary postage.
•  To return all unsold, expired, voided and/or damaged decals by January 15th of every year.

Completed Application should be mailed to:  Colorado Department of Revenue 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
PO Box 173350 
Denver, CO 80261-0016

I certify, under penalty of perjury in the second degree , that the above statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge 
and that I am a business selling Low-Powered Scooters. I agree to abide by this agreement and by the rules and regulations relating 
to the registration of Low-Power Scooters. Current rules and regulations can be viewed at www.colorado.gov/revenue

Printed Name

Signature Date

Department Use Only

  APPROVED
Low-Power Scooter Registration Agent Number

The Department of Revenue has approved your place of business as a registration agent to register Low-Power Scooters. The Low-Power 
Scooter Registration Agent Number assigned to you must be recorded on all forms, reports, and correspondence. 

  DENIED

Reason:

Printed Name of Department of Revenue Personnel

Signature Date

DR 2228 (07/25/19) 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Division Of Motor Vehicle 
Vehicle Services Unit
www.colorado.gov/dmv
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