LAKEWOOD, Monday June 22, 2020 -- The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will adjust its licensing fees by about 10% by July 1, 2020, in accordance with Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-114.5. The adjustment will apply to all driver licenses, instruction permits and identification cards, and their renewals.
The adjustment means a standard driver license will cost $30.87, up from $28 while an ID card will cost $12.67, up from $11.50. Most licenses only need to be renewed every five years. The adjustment will come in two phases with the first starting Tuesday, June 23, 2020 and adjusting the fee by 5%. The second phase will adjust the fee by 5% at the start of the State's new fiscal year on Wednesday July 1, 2020.
The fee increase is being made to ensure the cash fund that covers the majority of expenses related to providing licensing services for residents across the state remains solvent. One of the causes of reduced revenue is demographic shifts causing a decrease in the number of driver licenses issued. The situation has recently been compounded by the closures and loss of revenues due to COVID-19. Further depletion of the fund would create the need for drastic cuts to services provided to Colorado residents.
Despite the change, Colorado licensing fees will still be lower than most other states. Prior to this change, the DMV last adjusted its licensing fees by $1 from $27 to $28 in 2018. For more fee information, please visit dmv.colorado.gov.
Additionally, Coloradans seeking DMV services are strongly encouraged to #SkipTheTripCO and use any of the DMV's 35 online services at www.myDMV.Colorado.gov.
Coloradans who need in-office-only services should visit www.myDMV.Colorado.gov to schedule appointments. It's easy to set up your visit, just click "Driver/ID Services," then select "Schedule an appointment."
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles offers 35 online services at mydmv.colorado.gov. Renew your driver license, renew your motor vehicle registration, get a driving record and more!