LAKEWOOD, Tuesday July 20, 2021 -- The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is pleased to announce the addition of three new online services to myDMV.Colorado.gov:
- Upload and pay a traffic citation, or ticket
- Obtain their vehicle record online
- Request a hearing
The new services, which are available now, give Coloradans even more reasons to skip the trip to the DMV and use its online offerings to save some time and travel hassle.
Pay and submit citations
This new online service improves upon its predecessor, which only allowed Coloradans to pay for a traffic citation if the ticket had been logged with the DMV.
However with the new “pay and submit citations” online service, that’s no longer the case. Coloradans can now upload a citation and pay the expected fees if the ticket has yet to be logged as long as the timeframe to pay the citation hasn’t expired.
The DMV manually reviews all uploaded citations and contacts customers once their submission has been reviewed.
Additionally, drivers younger than 18 can now pay a traffic ticket as long as they upload either the signed and notarized citation, or a filled out copy of the Penalty Assessment Notice Minor Affidavit (DR 2334) form.
It should be noted that not all tickets are payable to the DMV or the Colorado Department of Revenue. Coloradans are encouraged to consult their citation to determine where the payment should be directed.
Vehicle Record Search
The newly added online Vehicle Record Search improves upon how title and registration record searches were previously requested.
The new online offering allows Coloradans to complete the transaction entirely online, no printing and uploading required, in less than 20 minutes.
To use the new service, users will have to have an online account, which can be created through myDMV.Colorado.gov from the record search option.
Once the request is processed and approved, a link will be sent via email to the requestor. It should be noted that if more than one record/history is returned in the search, the requester may be asked for additional funds as each result is $2.20. Certified copies are also available for an additional 50 cents per record/history.
Before the update, Coloradans had to print and mail a Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use (DR 2489A) form or visit the DMV’s Lakewood office at 1881 Pierce St.
Colorado State law and the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) state that the division shall not disclose or otherwise make available to any person or entity personal information about any individual obtained by the department in connection with a motor vehicle.
For a person to purchase a record other than their own, they must declare their intended use of that record, or they must have the signature of the record holder authorizing them to receive the record.
Request a hearing
With the third new DMV online service, Coloradans, or their attorneys, can request hearings for a variety of reasons, including express consent, administrative insurance and hit-and-run suspensions.
Once a request for a hearing is made, the DMV processes it and will notify the person who requested the hearing by email.
If a license was suspended due express consent, administrative insurance or hit-and-run violations, Coloradans can request a temporary permit while they await their hearings. The temporary permit can be securely sent directly to the customer via email for immediate use.
The new online offerings are part of the DMV’s efforts to provide digital convenience to Coloradans by expanding online services. This effort will continue to grow DMV online services, allowing the Division to serve thousands of Coloradans without the need to visit a DMV office.
Currently, the DMV offers many online services, including license and ID card renewals, vehicle registration renewals, paying a traffic ticket, motor vehicle records, first-time vehicle registration and many more.
The DMV encourages Coloradans to Save Time, Go Online by using DMV online services. Visit DMV.Colorado.gov/Save-Time for information, direct links and more about DMV online services.
Remember, the next time you need to visit the DMV, use DMV.Colorado.gov/Save-Time so you can #SkipTheTripCO with DMV online services.