Coming To Colorado

 

What is a VIN Verification?

In addition to the registration or title, a VIN verification is a physical inspection of the vehicle to verify that the vehicle identification number on the vehicle matches the vehicle's registration or title document. This inspection can be made by a Colorado licensed auto dealer, a Colorado licensed inspection station (i.e. Air Care Colorado), or a Colorado law enforcement officer. The inspection is annotated on Form DR 2698 Verification of Vehicle Identification Number. This form is also available at all motor vehicle office locations and all emissions testing locations.

In accordance with House Bill 17-1105 (effective July 01, 2017), This legislation removes the requirement for a regular VIN inspection to be completed on new vehicles that are being titled and registered in Colorado for the following cases:

  • The applicant presents a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (also known as a MSO) from a dealership. This would apply to any new vehicle purchased in Colorado or out-of-state or in another country.
  • The resident coming to Colorado from another state can provide proof that the previous title field on their out-of-state title shows it was purchased on a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin. Previous title field reads: MSO.
VIN Verifications vs. Certified VIN Inspections?

Certified VIN Inspections are not the same as VIN Verifications. Only the Colorado State Patrol or authorized law enforcement agency can conduct a Certified VIN Inspection. Click below for more information and locations.

Where can I get a VIN Verification?

All licensed car dealers in the State of Colorado can perform VIN verifications, but know what kind of VIN inspection you need., as only Colorado State Patrol  or authorized law enforcement agency can do Certified VIN inspections.The following is a partial list of law enforcement agencies and businesses that offer VIN Verification services. To save time, call ahead for appointments, hours, and fees before going. 

Vin Verification Form (DR 2698)


 

ADAMS COUNTY

Chase Automotive Repair and Service

$15

(303)344-4670

Rocky Mountain Diesel Emissions

$20

(303)288-5500

Stewart & Stevenson

$40

(303)287-7441

Dynoman Diesel Emissions

$20

(303)288-4344

Trans West Truck Trailer RV

$59

(303)289-3161

Excel Diesel and SUV

$15

(303)659-0442

Colorado State Patrol Adams County

$20

(303)289-4760

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

Northglenn Police Department

$20 residents only

(303)450-8853

Commerce City Police Department

$25 resident, $35 non-resident or business

(303)287-2844

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Adams County Motor Vehicle

All locations charge $15.00

(720)523-6010

Thornton Police Department

FREE

(720)977-5150

ARAPAHOE COUNTY

Progressive Diesel, Inc.

$20

(303)761-4232

Excel Diesel - Ken Caryl

$15

(303)904-1500

J&J Truck and Auto

$15

(303)364-4244

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Arapahoe County Motor Vehicle

$12 residents only

(303)795-4500

BOULDER COUNTY

Al's Front Range Diesel

$10

(303)776-6469

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Boulder County Motor Vehicle

$15

(303)413-7710

Colorado State Patrol Boulder County

$20

(303)469-1966

BROOMFIELD COUNTY

Fifth Gear Automotive Inc.

$10

(303)466-6552

S&S Service Inc., Diesel Emissions Testing

$20

(303)460-7786

Broomfield Police Department

FREE residents only

(303)438.6459

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

DENVER COUNTY

Akisp Diesel Emissions

$10

(720)434-9343

JECO Inc.

$30

(303)623-7049

L&N Diesel Emissions Testing and Repair

$10

(303)937-8485

Cartech, Inc.

$20

(303)922-9393

Front Range Fleet & Auto Inc.

Free with test / $15.00 without test

(303)907-0555

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

MHC Kenworth Inc.

$25

(720)941-0833

Denver County Motor Vehicle (8am - 2pm) Dever County Residents only

$20

(720)865-4600

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

DOUGLAS COUNTY

Diesel Repair & Performance

$7.50

(303)841-6527

Parker Police

$5

(303)841-9800

Branch Automotive & Diesel Emissions LLC.

$10

(303)771-2224

Douglas County Diesel, LLC.

$20

(303)660-9986

H&M Transmissions and Automotive

$20

(303)663-5578

Excel Diesel and SUV, LLC.

$15

(303)400-6040

Castle Rock Police Department

$10

(303)660-1000

Douglas County Sheriff's Office

FREE

(303)660-7500

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Colorado State Patrol Douglas County

$20

(303)688-3115

EL PASO COUNTY

Exhaust Readers I

$10 with test / $15 without test

(719)260-6629

Exhaust Readers II

$10 with test / $15 without test

(719)574-7063

Springs Auto Truck and RV Service Center

$10

(719)382-0363

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

JEFFERSON COUNTY

Andersen's Foreign Car Service

$5 with test / $10 without test

(303)278-8766

Lake Arbor Automotive and Truck

$10

(303)429-7700

Performance Wise, Inc.

$10

(720)898-0808

Mountain Air Emissions

$10

(303)697-6850

Golden Police Department

$10 residents-only

(303)384-8045

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

LARIMER COUNTY

Engle Automotive

$15

(970)635-9760

Houska Automotive Services

$10

(970)482-0156

Alliance Auto Care

$10

(970)660-4429

Nelsen’s Auto Tech Center

$10

(970)484-0834

Performance Tune

$10

(970)482-3971

Proformance Diesel & Auto Repair

$5

(970)667-7396

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090

Schwinzell's Diesel Inc.

$40

(970)493-3123

Larimer County Motor Vehicle Ft.Collins (8am-4pm)

$20

(970)498-7878

Larimer County Motor Vehicle              Estes Park (8am - 11:30am / 1:30 - 4:30)

$20

(970)577-2025

Larimer County Sheriff - Ft. Collins       (9am - 11am / 2pm - 4pm)

$20 check or cash

(970)498-5100

Larimer County Sheriff - Berthoud          (8am - 5pm) 

$20

(970)532-2611

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

CSU PD (8am - 5pm)                               1st & 3rd Thursday of each month

$20

(970)491-7695

Fort Collins PD                             (Tuesdays: 8:15am - Noon)

$10

(970)221-6540

Colorado State Patrol - Ft. Collins    (Certified Only) (8am - 4:30pm)

Call for appt and fee amount

(970)224-3027

Lundsteadt Auto

FREE

(970)221-9400

WELD COUNTY

Agfinity Inc.

$20

(970)454-4000

Rocky Mountain Diesel Services, Inc.

$15

(970)356-2672

Greeley Automotive Machine

$15

(970)352-4342

Licensed Auto Dealers*

Call for Fee Amount

N/A

Air Care Colorado

$20

(303)456-7090