Undocumented and temporarily legal immigrants can now schedule appointments for Jan. 2 and later to obtain a Colorado driver license, instruction permit or identification card at the Glenwood Springs, Lamar, Montrose, Pueblo and Durango driver license offices. The Lakewood Westgate, Colorado Springs, Aurora and Grand Junction driver license offices will continue to offer these services.
These customers can schedule their appointments up to 60 days in advance at 303-205-2335 or they can reach out to any of our nonprofit, Colorado Road and Community Safety Act partners at dmv.colorado.gov. The nonprofit groups help schedule appointments and ensure applicants have the documents needed to start the licensing process. The first day these services will be available at the additional driver license offices is Jan. 2, 2020. Undocumented immigrants must schedule an appointment to start the process of obtaining a Colorado driver license, instruction permit or identification card, while temporarily legal immigrants can apply at any state driver license office without an appointment.
The expansion is due to legislation passed during the 2019 session, chiefly Senate Bill 19-139 and the Long Appropriations Bill. The Colorado Road and Community Safety Act (SB 13-251) established immigrant services on Aug. 1, 2014. Additionally, Alamosa and Sterling driver license offices will offer these services July 1, 2020. Information will be released when appointments become available for these offices.
By expanding the number of offices offering these services, more Coloradans will be sufficiently trained to operate a vehicle on roads and highways throughout the Centennial State and will be able to obtain insurance. This will make driving safer for all Coloradans. Additionally, rural Coloradans won't have to drive as far when seeking these services.
This program is completely funded by those using these services, who pay higher fees than Coloradans who are U.S. citizens. Current fees for CO-RCSA documents are:
- Driver license -- $33 ($28*)
- Instruction permit --$21 ($16.80*)
- Identification card -- $13 ($11.50*)
* denotes fees for Individuals Who Are U.S. Citizens, Permanent Residents or Can Demonstrate Lawful Presence in the U.S.
Visit dmv.colorado.gov for more information on Colorado Road and Community Safety Act services.
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles offers 35 online services at mydmv.colorado.gov. Renew your driver license, renew your motor vehicle registration, get a driving record and more!