0

Group Special License Plates

Creating A Group Special License Plate

To create a Group Special License Plate as defined under Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 42-1-102(41.5) the process has to be initiated by a nonprofit, which would need to meet the statutory and regulatory requirements, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-3-207(5) and (6) and Code of Colorado Regulations 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 16. Group Special License Plate.  Entities wishing to propose the creation of a Group Special License Plate are required to complete an application process and be certified by the Department as meeting the requirements.  Requirements include, but may not be limited to, petitions of 3,000 Colorado registered vehicle owners, proof of nonprofit tax exempt status, design prepayments and others that the Department will discuss with you prior to providing the application.  Please contact the Department at countyinventorysupport@state.co.us your email should state your nonprofit name, the name of the plate you are desiring to propose creating, and the nonprofits representatives name and contact information that the Department will work with on the application process.

#FFFFFF

Group Special License Plates A - F

Adopt A Shelter Pet
Adopt a shelter pet license plate

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 10-1214.

Available For: Passenger vehicles, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Adopt a Pet plate.

Requirements: None

Fees: One-time fee of $80.00 for new issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. The $80.00 fee is split between three funds, $25.00 to the Highway Users Tax Fund(C.R.S. 43-4-201); $25.00 to the Licensing Services Cash Fund (C.R.S. 42-2-114.5); and $30.00 to the Pet Overpopulation Fund (C.R.S. 35-80-116.5) In addition to all other taxes and fees, a person renewing an Adopt a Pet license plate shall pay a $25.00 Pet Overpopulation Fund fee to renew.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited Plates

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-234.

ALS
ALS Red License Plate

About: The Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) group special license plate, created with Senate Bill 15-229.

Available For: Passenger vehicles, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the ALS License Plate

Requirements: None

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited Plates

Online: https://www.als.org/support/states/colorado

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-248.

  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate
American Indian Scholars
American Indian Scholars License Plate in Blue

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Rocky Mountain Indian Chamber of Commerce will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $25.00 to the Rocky Mountain Indian Chamber of Commerce for each electronic certificate that is valid for two weeks from date of issuance.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. American Indian Scholars license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Online: Rocky Mountain Indian Chamber of Commerce.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-217

Aviation
Colorado Aviation license plate in Light Blue with White Mountains

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 17-1212.

Who Qualifies: The Aviation license plate may be issued to any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Aviation license plate.

Requirements: None

Fees: A one-time fee of $50.00 will be collected for issuance or replacement of plates.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-251.

Born To Be Wild
Born to be wild Colorado license plate with black background and white mountains and a white wolf in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 23-1265.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: Anyone

Requirements: None

Fees: One-time fee of $25.00 fee that is credited to the highway users tax fund; an annual $50 fee that is credited to the wildlife cash fund in the Division of Parks and Wildlife; and a one-time $25 fee that is credited to the Colorado DRIVES vehicle services account, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Online: myDMV.colorado.gov

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-267.

Boy Scouts
Colorado Boy Scouts License Plates with yellow background white mountains and boy scout emblem

About: The Boy Scouts license plate is a limited issued commemorative plate that will only be issued from July 15, 2009 through June 30, 2016, or so long as the department has the license plates in stock, whichever occurs later. Plates issued within this period may continue to be used after June 30, 2016 until they become damaged, destroyed, lost, stolen or unreadable.

Available For: The Boy Scouts license plate may be issued to trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, passenger cars, motorcycle, or a noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicle.

Who Qualifies: The Boy Scouts license plate may be issued to any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Boy Scouts license plate.

Requirements: None

Fees: A one-time fee of $50.00 will be collected for issuance or replacement of plates.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-229

Breast Cancer Awareness
Breast Cancer Awareness Colorado License Plate with pink background and white mountains and breast cancer emblem in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 05-1247 and amended with House Bill 09-1164.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Breast Cancer Awareness plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $75.00 for new issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. The $75.00 fee is split between three funds, $25.00 to the Highway Users Tax Fund (C.R.S. 43-4-201); $25.00 to the Licensing Services Cash Fund (C.R.S. 42-2-114.5); and $25.00 to the Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Fund (C.R.S. 25.5-5-308).

On or after July 1, 2012, a person renewing a Breast Cancer license plate shall pay a $25.00 Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Fund surcharge. The Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Fund is created under the Colorado Medical Assistance Act.

Information and administration of the Colorado Medical Assistance Act can be obtained by contacting the Department of Public Health and Environment.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-217.5

Broncos Foundation
Broncos Charities Colorado License Plate  with Orange background and white mountains and Broncos logo in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 06-1339.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Denver Broncos Foundation organization will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $40.00 to the Denver Broncos Foundation organization for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Denver Broncos Foundation organization at Denver Broncos.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. Broncos Foundation license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Denver Broncos.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-221

Carbon Fund
Carbon Fund Colorado License Plate with Light Blue Background and White Mountains

About: The Carbon Fund group special license plate was created with Senate Bill 08-186. Carbon Fund license plates may only be issued to persons that have been authorized by the Colorado Carbon Fund via The Climate Trust. A certificate will be issued to each authorized person that is valid for one set (single for motorcycles) of Carbon Fund license plates. Individuals should contact Natural Capitalism Solutions at https://www.coloradocarbonfund.org/ or at (720) 684-6580 to inquire about the issuance of an authorization certificate.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreational vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Natural Capitalism Solutions by offsetting through the carbon fund.

Requirements: Qualifying person must contribute a minimum of $25.00 or offset 50% of their vehicle's annual emissions to the Colorado Carbon Fund via Natural Capitalism Solutions. Donations will be transferred into the Colorado Carbon Fund, for each certificate authorizing issuance of the Carbon Fund license plate. Only one Carbon Fund license plate set (single for motorcycle) per certificate is allowed. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of the Carbon Fund license plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: https://www.coloradocarbonfund.org/

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-228

Child Loss Awareness
Child Loss Awareness License Plate with Red Background and white mountains with logo in middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 12-1131

Available for: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Child Loss Awareness license plate

Requirements: None

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Rowan Tree Foundation

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Colorado Revised Statues 42-3-243

Childhood Cancer Awareness
Childhood Cancer Awareness License Plate with blue backdrop white mountains and a strip of yellow on the bottom.

About: The Childhood Cancer Awareness license plate created by House Bill 18-1255 is effective January 1, 2019. A certificate will be issued to each authorized person that is valid for one set (single for motorcycles) of Childhood Cancer Awareness license plates. A one-time donation to the Morgan Adams Foundation is required to qualify for the Childhood Cancer Awareness Special License Plate.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreational vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Morgan Adams Foundation (https://www.morganadamsfoundation.org/licenseplate/)

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $43.00 to the Morgan Adams Foundation. 

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. Childhood Cancer Awareness license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: https://www.morganadamsfoundation.org/licenseplate/

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-252

Colorado Avalanche
Colorado Avalanche License Plate with dark blue backdrop, white mountains and crimson on the bottom. Avalanche logo featured in the middle of the numbers

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 11-1316.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Colorado Avalanche will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $45.00 to Kroenke Sports Charities for each authorizing certificate. Contact Kroenke Sports Charities at www.pepsicenter.com/AvsLicensePlate

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. Colorado Avalanche license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Colorado Avalanche

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-239

Colorado Nurses
Colorado Nurses License Plate with a blue background and white mountains with red heart and stethoscope image in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1219. 

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes. 

Who Qualifies: The Colorado Nurses license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit Colorado Nurses Foundation who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle). 

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $50.00 to the Colorado Nurses Foundation for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Colorado Nurses Foundation at www.coloradonursesfoundation.com

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. 

Online: www.coloradonursesfoundation.com

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-258.

Colorado Professional Firefighter
Colorado Professional Fire Fighters License plate with black background and Golden mountains with IAFF International Association of Fire Fighters logo in the middle

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Colorado Professional Firefighter license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit Colorado Professional Firefighter Foundation who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle).

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $60 to the Colorado Professional Firefighter Foundation for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Colorado Professional Firefighter Foundation at https://www.firedues.com/

Fees: One-time fee of $50 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: https://www.firedues.com/

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license
  • plate and motorcycle regular license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-254.

Colorado Rockies
Colorado Rockies License Plate with Purple Background and white mountains and Colorado Rockies logo in middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 12-1295.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Colorado Rockies Baseball Foundation will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $52.80 to the Colorado Rockies Baseball Foundation for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Colorado Rockies at www.coloradorockies.com

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: www.coloradorockies.com

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research: Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-241

Columbine
Columbine Colorado License Plate with Gradient Blue background and white mountains and Columbine flower with the words Respect Life in the middle

About: This plate was created to recognize the victims and survivors of the tragic bombing and shooting at Columbine High School on April 20, 1999.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Columbine plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Plate Options:

  • Passenger License plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-207

Court Appointed Special Advocates for Children (C.A.S.A)
Court Appointed Special Advocate for Children Colorado License Plate with a slate blue background and white mountains with the C.A.S.A Logo in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 22-1241.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The CASA license plate may be issued to any person.

Requirements: Pay the usual registration taxes and fees

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60 with an annual $25 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: No limit.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-261.

Craig Hospital
Craig Hospital License Plate with an Azure blue background and white mountains with the Craig Hospital logo in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 11-1166.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: The Craig Hospital license plate may be issued to any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Craig Hospital license plate

Requirements: None

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Online: Craig Hospital

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research: Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-240

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority License Plate with the Delta Sigma Theta Emblem in middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 22-1103.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The DELTA SIGMA THETA license plate may be issued to any person who is able to prove membership.

Requirements: Pay the usual registration taxes and fees

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees:;A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: No limit.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-261.

Denver Nuggets
Colorado Denver Nuggets License Plate with a yellow background white mountains and navy blue on the bottom and Denver Nuggets logo on the bottom

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 11-1316.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Denver Nuggets will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $45.00 to Kroenke Sports Charities for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Kroenke Sports Charities at https://www.nba.com/nuggets/license-plate

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. Denver Nuggets license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Denver Nuggets

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-239

Donate Life
Donate Life License Plate with gradient blue background white mountains and neon green on the bottom featuring the Donate Life logo in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 09-1347.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Donate Life license plate. Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-232

Emergency Medical Services
Emergency Medical Services Colorado License Plate with a Chelsea Blue background and white mountains and the emergency medical logo in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 14-036

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Emergency Medical Services Association of Colorado will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: 1 set per certificate.

Online: https://www.emsac.org/

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-23

Epilepsy Awareness
Epilepsy Awareness Colorado License Plate with a red and purple gradient background and white mountains featuring the Epilepsy Awareness logo in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1014.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Epilepsy Awareness license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit Epilepsy Foundation of Colorado who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle).

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $50.00 to the Epilepsy Foundation of Colorado for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Epilepsy Foundation of Colorado at www.epilepsycolorado.org.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: www.epilepsycoloradowyoming.org

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-261.

Fallen Heroes
Fallen Hero's Colorado License plate with a Blue background and white mountains and the Fallen Heros logo in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 12-1023.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Colorado Chapter of Concerns of Police Survivors Foundation Inc. will be issued a pay pal receipt valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $50.00 to the Colorado Chapter of Concerns of Police Survivors Foundation Inc. for each authorizing pay pal receipt. Contact the Colorado Chapter of Concerns of Police Survivors Foundation Inc. at www.coloradocops.org.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized pay pal receipt. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the pay pal receipt upon issuance of plate.

Online: Colorado Chapter of Concerns of Police Survivors Foundation Inc.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-242.

Firefighter
Firefighter Colorado License Plate with a red background and white mountains and Firefighter emblem in middle

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person who can provide proof they are an active, volunteer or retired firefighter.

Requirements: Establish proof of membership via Firefighter ID Card or a letter from the Fire Chief.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-207.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger License plate
  • Motorcycle (Effective January 1, 2016).
Flight For Life Colorado
Flight For Life Colorado License Plate with Orange background and white mountains with the Flight For Life Colorado logo in the middle

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by St. Anthony Health Foundation will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $25.00 to Flight For Life Colorado for each authorizing certificate. Contact Flight For Life Colorado at https://centura.org

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Flight For Life Colorado

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-244.

Group Special License Plates G - W

Girl Scouts
Girl Scouts Colorado License Plate with green background and white mountains featuring the Girl Scouts logo in middle

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 11-197.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Girl Scout license plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-237.

Greyhound Lovers
Adopt A Greyhound Colorado License Plate with a purple gradient background and white mountains and an image of a greyhound running in the middle

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Greyhound Lovers plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger License plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-207

Hospice and Palliative
Hospice and Palliative Care License Plate with Purple sky and white mountains and a tree logo in the middle featuring the

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1128.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Hospice and Palliative Care license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit Colorado Center for Hospice & Palliative Care who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle).

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $50.00 to the Colorado Center for Hospice & Palliative Care for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Colorado Center for Hospice & Palliative Care at www.homecarehospicecolorado.org.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: www.homecarehospicecolorado.org

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-256.

In God We Trust
In God We Trust Colorado License Plate Featuring the American Flag in the background

About: Creation of this license plate was per Senate Bill 23-025.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: Anyone

Requirements: None

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Online: myDMV.colorado.gov

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-267.

Italian American Heritage
Italian American Colorado License Plate featuring a blue background with white mountains and the Italian and American flag in the middle

About: Creation of this plates was per House Bill 07-1120.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Italian American plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-225.

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation license plate image

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 11-1166.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation license plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-238.

Kids First
Kids First Colorado License Plate with a Purple background and white mountains and red yellow and blue kids handprints in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 06-110.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Rocky Mountain Research and Prevention Institute will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $30.00 to the Rocky Mountain Research and Prevention Institute for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Rocky Mountain Research and Prevention Institute organization at (303)330-5099.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: Colorado Kids 1st

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate
     

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-224.

Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde National Park Colorado License Plate

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 19-1255.

Who Qualifies: Mesa Verde National Park license plate will be issued a certificate valid for one set (single if a motorcycle).

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate to the Mesa Verde Foundation for each authorizing certificate. Contact Mesa Verde Foundation at https://www.mesaverdefoundation.org/ or 303-321-3120.

Fees: A one-time fee of $50.00 will be collected for issuance or replacement of plates.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate PIN. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Online: https://www.mesaverdefoundation.org/about/

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-250.

Pikes Peak Hill Climb
Pikes Peak Hill Climb Colorado License Plate

About: Creation of this license plate was per Senate Bill 22-107.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Pikes Peak International Hill Climb license plate may be issued to a person.

Requirements: Pay all the regular Registration taxes and fees.

Fees: One time fee of $50 in addition to other taxes and fees. 

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60 with an annual $25 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: https://ppihc.org/colorado-dmv-issues-ppihc-license-plate/

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-261.

Pioneer
Pioneer Colorado License Plate with a yellow background, white mountains and a picture with a pioneer in the middle.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Pioneer plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger License plate 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-207

Protect Our Rivers
Protect Our River License Plate featuring a blue gradient background with white mountains and picture of a river in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 13-224.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Colorado Trout Unlimited will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $25.00 to Colorado Trout Unlimited for each authorizing certificate. For more information please visit www.protectourrivers.net

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Online: www.protectourrivers.net

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate
     

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-246

Pueblo Chile
Pueblo Chili License Plate featuring a navy blue background and white mountains and picture of pueblo chili in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 17-1012.

Who Qualifies: The Pueblo Chile license plate may be issued to any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Pueblo Chile license plate.

Requirements: None

Fees: A one-time fee of $50.00 will be collected for issuance or replacement of plates.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-250.

Raptor
Raptor Colorado License Plate with a blue background and white mountains and a picture of a raptor in the middle

About: Please visit the Raptor Education Foundation website.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the Raptor Education Foundation will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must pay membership dues as required by the Raptor Education Foundation for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Raptor Education Foundation at (303)680-8500 or at https://www.usaref.org/.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Raptor Education Foundation

Plate Options:

  • Passenger License plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-207 and 42-3-208.

Rocky Mountain National Park
Rocky Mountain National Park Colorado License Plate featuring a blue nighttime background with white mountains and a deer in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 15-1313

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Rocky Mountain Conservancy will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $30.00 to Rocky Mountain Conservancy for each authorizing certificate. Please visit the Rocky Mountain Conservancy at https://rmconservancy.org for more information.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Rocky Mountain Conservancy at https://rmconservancy.org.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate Motorcycle personalized plate 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-249.

Rotary International
Rotary International License Plate featuring a blue background and white mountains with an image of a rotary in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1154.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Colorado Rotary license plate may be issued to a person authorized by their local Rotary Club.

Requirements: Provide the letter of certification from your local Rotary Secretary.

Fees: in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-261.

Share the Road
Share the Road Colorado License Plate with a blue gradient background and white mountains with a person riding a bike on the road

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 07-067.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Bicycle Colorado will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $25.00 to Bicycle Colorado for each authorizing certificate. Purchase your certificates online at https://www.bicyclecolorado.org/get-involved/share-the-road/ or by contacting Bicycle Colorado at (303) 417-1544 extension 101.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. Share the Road license plate can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycles) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Bicycle Colorado, Inc.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-226.

Ski Country USA
Ski Country USA Colorado License Plate with a Deep blue background and white mountains and a picture of a skier in the middle

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 09-161.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Ski County USA license plate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-231.

Special Olympics
Special Olympics License Plate with a red background and white mountains and the special Olympics logo in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1323.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Special Olympics Colorado license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit Special Olympics Colorado who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle).

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $60.00 to the Special Olympics Colorado for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Special Olympics Colorado at https://specialolympicsco.org/give/licenseplate/

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: https://specialolympicsco.org/give/licenseplate/

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-260.

State Parks

About: Creation of this plate was per Senate Bill 10-103.


Available For: Passenger vehicles, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.


Who Qualifies: A person authorized by The Foundation for Colorado State Parks will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $44.00 to The Foundation for Colorado State Parks for each authorizing certificate. Contact The Foundation for Colorado State Parks at the web address listed below.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. State Parks license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: The Foundation for Colorado State Parks.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate
     

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-233.

Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus Colorado License Plate with a red and orange gradient background and white mountains with a stegosaurus in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per Senate Bill 23-0145.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: Anyone

Requirements: Applicant makes a $50 donation to Friends of Dinosaur Ridge

Fees: A one-time fee of $25.00 fee that is credited to the highway users tax fund; and a one-time $25 fee that is credited to the Colorado DRIVES vehicle services account, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Online: myDMV.colorado.gov https://dinoridge.org

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-267.

Support Education
Support Education License Plate with a blue background and white mountains and a yellow mortarboard cap in the middle

About: Please visit the Colorado School Foundations website.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by Colorado Schools Foundation Association will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $20.00 to Impact on Education, Inc. organization for each authorizing certificate.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: Colorado Schools Foundation Association

Plate Options: Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate
     

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-222.

Support Foster Families
Support Foster Families license plate image

 

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1073.


Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.


Who Qualifies: The Support Foster Families license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit Foster Source who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle).


Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $50.00 to Foster Source for each authorizing certificate. Contact Foster Source at FosterSource.org.


Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.


Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.


Online: www.FosterSource.org


Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate


Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-255.

Support Pollinators
Pollinators License Plate with a light green background and white mountains and a picture of a bee in the middle

About: Creation of this license plate was per House Bill 21-1145.

Available For: Motorcycles, Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered as Tax Class A – International Registration Plan (IRP)) or recreational vehicles and motor homes.

Who Qualifies: The Support Pollinators license plate may be issued to a person authorized by the nonprofit People and Pollinators Action Network who will be issued a certificate valid for one set of license plates (single for motorcycle).


Requirements: Qualifying person must make a donation on a sliding scale of $25 to $50 to the People and Pollinators Action Network for each authorizing certificate. Contact the People and Pollinators Action Network at www.peopleandpollinators.org.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of the license plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal. The center logo is not printed on personalized license plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One license plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate.

Online: www.peopleandpollinators.org.

Plate Options:

  • Passenger regular license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle regular license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized license plate 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-257.

Support the 10th Mountain Division
Support 10th Mountain Division License Plate

About: This commemorative plate recognizes the men from the 10th Mountain Division who fought in the Italian Campaign of 1945. This plate was created per House Bill 14-1089

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- (IRP)) or recreation vehicles.

Who Qualifies: Any person authorized by the 10th Mountain Foundation may be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Individuals are required to donate $45 to the 10th Mountain Division Foundation to receive a certificate authorizing them to be issued a Support the 10th Mountain Division license plate.

Fees: One time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. Owners of the 10th Mountain Division Group Special License Plate prior to January 1, 2015 are exempt the issuance fees, pursuant to 42-3-208(1)(e)(I).

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set per authorization. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-208.

Support the Horse
Support the Horse Colorado License Plate with a green background and white mountains and a picture of a black horse in the middle

About: Creation of this plates was per Senate Bill 08-178.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person authorized by the Colorado Horse Development Authority may be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates (single for Motorcycle).

Requirements: Donate $40.00 to the Colorado Horse Development Authority for each authorizing certificate. Contact the Colorado Horse Development Authority at (303) 292-4981.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates. Support the Horse license plate applicants can apply for a personalized license plate online, or in person at county motor vehicle office.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorized certificate. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plates.

Online: Colorado Horse Development Authority

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-227

Support the Troops
Support the Troops License Plate with a picture of an American Flag in the background on top of white mountains

About: Please visit the American Military Family website.

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: A person authorized by the American Military Family will be issued a certificate valid for one set of plates.

Requirements: Qualifying person must donate $25.00 to American Military Family for each authorization certificate. Contact the American Military Family at (303)746-8195.

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees.

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate set (single for motorcycle) per authorization. The County Motor Vehicle Office will retain and destroy the certificate upon issuance of plate.

Online: American Military Family

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-223.

Wildlife Sporting
Wildlife Sporting License Plate

About: The Wildlife Sporting license plate was created with House Bill 12-1275

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial (not available for any vehicle registered Tax Class A- International Registration Plan- IRP) or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Any person that desires to register their vehicle with the Wild Life Sporting plate.

Requirements: None

Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. Initial donation of $10 is distributed to C.R.S. 33-1-112 and an annual renewal fee of $25 distributed to 33-1-112

Personalized License Plate Fees: A one-time fee of $60.00 ($58.00 upon approval and $2.00 when registered) with an annual $25.00 fee collected each year thereafter upon renewal for Personalized Plates.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Plate Options:

  • Passenger license plate
  • Passenger personalized license plate
  • Motorcycle license plate
  • Motorcycle personalized plate

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-245.

#FFFFFF

Creating A Group Special License Plate

To create a Group Special License Plate as defined under Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 42-1-102(41.5) the process has to be initiated by a nonprofit, which would need to meet the statutory and regulatory requirements, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-3-207(5) and (6) and Code of Colorado Regulations 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 16. Group Special License Plate.  Entities wishing to propose the creation of a Group Special License Plate are required to complete an application process and be certified by the Department as meeting the requirements.  Requirements include, but may not be limited to, petitions of 3,000 Colorado registered vehicle owners, proof of nonprofit tax exempt status, design prepayments and others that the Department will discuss with you prior to providing the application.  Please contact the Department at countyinventorysupport@state.co.us your email should state your nonprofit name, the name of the plate you are desiring to propose creating, and the nonprofits representatives name and contact information that the Department will work with on the application process.