FAQs: Vehicle Registration and Keep Colorado Wild Pass
The Keep Colorado Wild Pass is an optional lower-cost annual state parks pass that will be included in your vehicle registration through the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), unless it is declined. It will cost $29, which is less than half the cost of an annual vehicle park pass — which is currently $80. The pass cannot be transferred to a different vehicle or a new vehicle.
Per state law, the Keep Colorado Wild Pass will automatically be included, or opted-in, to vehicle registrations beginning January 3, 2023 for first-time and renewals. If an owner does not wish to purchase the pass, they will need to opt-out for that vehicle during registration to not be charged.
- Passenger vehicles including:
- passenger cars
- sports utility vehicles
- motor homes
- passenger vans
- lightweight trucks with an empty vehicle weight that is less than or equal to 16,000 pounds
Coloradans will have the option to decline the pass while registering or renewing their vehicle.
- If in person, tell the county clerk you’re declining the Keep Colorado Wild Pass.
- If online or at a kiosk, there will be a prompt during the transaction asking if you want the Keep Colorado Wild Pass. Select “No” to decline the pass.
- If mailing your vehicle registration renewal to the county, your renewal card (beginning with January 2023 cards) will have the amounts with and without the pass. Write the check for the amount that does not include the $29 pass.
- If online or at a kiosk, you will see the opted out option checked for that vehicle going forward. If you wish to opt back in, simply change the response to “yes” to opt in.
- If in person, tell the county clerk you would like to change your selection.
- Refunds for a Keep Colorado Wild Pass purchased by mistake can be voided in a DMV office on the same day and are available for 60 days after the pass purchase.
- You will need to create a CPW Shop account and link your Keep Colorado Wild Pass to that account in order to request a refund. Visit CPW Shop or contact the Colorado Parks and Wildlife call center at 303-297-1192 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Mon. to Fri.).
Vehicle registrations that have a pass will have a Colorado Parks and Wildlife logo printed on the registration card. Owners will also see the $29 charge on the detailed receipt.
Simply show your vehicle registration card that includes the Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) logo to Colorado Parks and Wildlife staff when asked. If the entrance is not staffed, you may enter the park with the knowledge that you may be checked for proof of purchase at any time. You can also show proof of purchase using the image of your vehicle registration in the myColorado app or the My CPW app if the pass is linked to your CPW Shop account.
Yes, if you plan to use that vehicle to access state parks. The Keep Colorado Wild Pass purchased during your annual vehicle registration with the DMV is linked to the specific vehicle being registered. The pass is not transferable between vehicles.
The pass provides car, bike and foot entry into Colorado state parks. For information on outdoor recreation, visit cpw.state.co.us. To find a Colorado state parks map, visit the CPW Park Finder Tool. This pass does not grant access to federal recreation fee areas, state wildlife areas or state trust lands.
Pass owners can leave their registration card in their vehicle unless using it to access a park without a motor vehicle. If accessing a park without a vehicle (by bike or foot) and the park requires a non motorized vehicle individual pass, the pass can be shown by the original registration card or a photocopy on your phone. You can also show proof of purchase using the image of your vehicle registration in the myColorado app or the My CPW app if the pass is linked to your CPW Shop account.
If you lost your vehicle registration card, you can request a receipt of the transaction online to show the pass was purchased. However, the duplicate registration card will not show the Colorado Parks and Wildlife logo.
Or you can go to your county motor vehicle office and ask for them to print an original vehicle registration card.
The pass is valid for your registration period and expires with your registration expiration date.
No. Your CPW issued specialty park pass (Columbine, Centennial, Blue Spruce, Independence, Volunteer or Military Pass) already authorizes you free or lower-cost entrance to all Colorado state parks when in your possession.
Colorado residents with any of the applicable fee-exempt military license plates, Colorado Disabled Veterans or Purple Heart license plates may access Colorado state parks for free; if renewing your vehicle registration online, stay opted in and the pass will be added at no cost. The veteran must be present in the vehicle to use the pass.
The following license plate types receive a Keep Colorado Wild Pass at no charge; stay opted in to receive the pass for free:
- Air Force Cross
- Colorado State Patrol
- Disabled Veteran
- Distinguished Flying Cross
- Distinguished Service Cross
- Disabled Woman Veteran
- Government Set and Single
- Medal of Honor
- Navy Cross
- Purple Heart
- Prisoner of War
- Pearl Harbor
- Silver Star
International Registration Plan (IRP) and vehicles with farm plates are not included in the Keep Colorado Wild Pass program.
The following license plate types are also ineligible:
- Apportioned Trailer, Tractor or Truck
- Collector Tractor and Collector Truck
- Commercial Fleet Single and Set
- Dealer in Transit, Dealer Full Use Motorcycle, Dealer Demo Motorcycle or Dealer Demo, Dealer Demo SMM, Dealer Full Use
- Farm Tractor
- Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) Tractor, GVW Truck
- Horseless Carriage Passenger and Motorcycle
- Livery Passenger
- Special Mobile Machinery (SMM) and SMM Exempt
- Special Use Vehicle (SVW)
- Tow Truck
- Year of Manufacturer