Minor License

Minor licenses are valid until 20 days after 21st birthday.

Obtaining a driver license:

16 Years to 16 Years, 6 Months
What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

16 Years, 6 Months to 18 Years
What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

18 Years and Older to 21 Years
What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

Out-of-state instruction permit holders, 16-17
  • You are permitted ONE drive skills test on your out-of-state permit if the requirements listed below have been met.  If the drive skills test is failed, the applicant must obtain a Colorado permit and follow the Colorado requirements listed below before taking another drive skills test.

Requirements:

You must successfully complete a drive skills test with an approved driver education school, per Colorado Statute 42-2-104:

  • You must be at least 16 years old
  • You must hold a valid permit for at least 12 months
  • You must complete Drive Time Log Sheets (DR 2324)
    • An Instruction permit holders' drive time logs can be signed by a parent or guardian, or by a responsible adult, whether they were the person who signed the permit holder's affidavit of liability.
  • If younger than 16.5 years of age, you must meet the six hour of Behind The Wheel (BTW) Training. Out-of-state forms may be accepted if issued from a state jurisdiction.
    • You are required by law to complete Behind-The Wheel training before you can be issued your
      driver license if you are under the age of 16 years, 6 months at the time you apply for your driver
      license. The BTW training can be administered two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor
      from a department-approved school
      or, if there isn’t a driving school that offers BTW training at least 20
      hours per week with an address that is within 30 miles of the permit holder’s residence, you may
      complete 12 hours with a parent, guardian or alternate permit supervisor. 
  • A parent or a Colorado driver over 21 must be with you to sign Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (DR2460) 

What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

Out-of-state instruction permit holders, 18-21
  • Your out-of-state permit will not transfer
  • You are required to purchase a new permit and can then take the drive skills test
  • You must successfully complete a drive skills test with an approved driver education school

What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

Rules for Licensed Drivers Under 18 Years Old
Driving is not permitted between midnight and 5,a.m. during the first year you have your license, unless you are:
  • Accompanied by parent or legal guardian
  • Driving to/from school or school-authorized activity and the school does not provide transportation (signed statement from school is required)
  • Driving to/from work (signed statement from employer is required)
  • Have medical emergencies
  • An emancipated minor

Additional Rules

  • The first six months you have your license, only passengers 21 years old and older may ride with you
  • The second six months you have your license, one passenger under 21 years old may ride with you
  • After you have held your license for one year or turn 18 years old, you may have more than one passenger under 21 years old
  • Your siblings may ride with you at any time
  • If you are involved in a medical emergency, you may carry passengers under 21 years old at any time
  • Texting or talking on a cell phone while driving is against the law for drivers under 18 years old, however, you may place an emergency call to the police
  • You and all passengers must wear seat belts at all times
  • Even a trace of alcohol is punishable by law. You could lose your driver license if you drink under the legal age limit - even if you aren't driving
Behind-the-Wheel Training Requirement

You are required by law to complete Behind The Wheel training before you can be issued your
driver license if you are under the age of 16 years, 6 months at the time you apply for your driver
license. The BTW training can be administered two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor
from a department-approved school
or, if there isn’t a driving school that offers BTW training at least 20
hours per week with an address that is within 30 miles of the permit holder’s residence, you may
complete 12 hours with a parent, guardian or alternate permit supervisor. (Bring a MapQuest printout to the driver license office showing how far you live from the nearest school within your zip code).

You should look for your zip code on the Behind The Wheel Zip Code Chart one month prior to applying for your driver license. Please note, if a driving school opens (any time) within 30 miles of your residential address before applying for your driver license, you will be required to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.