Reinstatement Frequently Asked Questions

Restraint actions

I have too many points against my license

If you accumulate too many points from convictions on tickets within a certain period of time, you will lose your driving privilege through a point suspension.

You will be notified of a hearing date which will determine the length of the restraint. A suspension can be ordered for up to one year and a probationary license may be authorized at the hearing.

The following are point accumulations that result in suspension:

Adult Driver (21 years of age and older)

  • 12 points in any 12 consecutive months
  • 18 points in any 24 consecutive months

    Under the Age of 18

    • 6 points in 12 consecutive months
    • 7 points prior to turning 18

    Minor Driver (18 through 20 years of age)

    • 9 points in any 12 consecutive months
    • 12 points in any 24 consecutive months
    • 14 or more points between the ages of 18-21

    Colorado does not have what is commonly referred to as a chauffeur license. However, if a driver proves at a hearing that they are employed as a driver and received all of their tickets in the course of their employment, they are not subject to suspension until they receive 16 points in 12 months, 24 points in 24 months, or 28 points in 48 months.

    Reinstatement requirements:

    • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
    • $95.00 reinstatement fee (check or money order payable to the Department of Revenue)
    • Evidence of Insurance

    When you renew your license you will be required to take the written test.

    NOTE: If this is the only restraint action against your driving privilege, you may reinstate your driving privilege in a full service driver license office or by mail.

    I failed to pay a ticket(s) in Colorado or another state

    Definition:
    Your driving privilege may be suspended if you have any unpaid tickets in Colorado or any other state.

    To Reinstate:

    1. Pay any outstanding ticket. Contact the court listed in the letter you received from the department.

    Ask for the following information:

    • The amount of the fine and what you are required to pay
    • Form of payment (money order, check, credit card)
    • Where to send your payment and how to get Compliance from the Court
    • How long it will take for the payment to be posted
    • When the DMV will be notified of payment

    2. Provide the Department of Revenue with the following requirements

    For out-of-state tickets, documentation must show citation number and date of compliance, and be signed by the Court Clerk. A cancelled check will not be accepted as proof that a ticket has been paid.

    If your Court Compliance shows that the ticket was cleared (paid) on or prior to the date your driving privilege was suspended, please provide this information to the department and the suspension will be lifted.

    Testing:
    After reinstatement, you must purchase a new license. You may have to pass the eye, written and road tests if you have been under restraint for more than one year.

    NOTE: If this is the only restraint action against your driving privilege you may reinstate your driving privilege in a full service driver license office or by mail.

     

    I was behind in paying my child support

    Definition:
    Your driver license may be suspended if you are a parent who is not compliant with court-ordered child support payments.

    Reinstatement requirements:

    1. Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
    2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
    3. Notice of Compliance sent electronically to the department by the State Child Support Enforcement Unit

    Once reinstated, your license status will return to "eligible" status. You must visit a Driver License Office to renew and purchase a new license. If it's been 1 or more years since you had a "valid" license, you will have to pass the eye, written, and drive tests.

    NOTE: If this is the only restraint action against your driving privilege you may reinstate by mail or in a full service driver license office that offers this service.

    I lost my Commercial Driver License

    Information is available on the CDL General Information Page

    Alcohol, drug or controlled substance problems (Driver under 21)

    I was stopped with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .02 < .05

    Definition:
    Any driver under 21 years of age operating a motor vehicle with an alcohol content of blood or breath shown to be .02 but less than .08 will have their driving privilege revoked as follows:

    • 1st offense - three months
    • 2nd offense - six months
    • 3rd or more - one year

    Reinstatement requirements:

    1st offense

    2nd and 3rd offense

    Testing:
    A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

    I was convicted of DUI or DWAI

    Definition:
    A driver under 21 years of age can have their driving privilege revoked for one year if they are convicted of an alcohol-related driving offense - either DUI or DWAI.

    Reinstatement requirements:

    • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
    • $95.00 reinstatement fee
    • SR22 for one year or three years if you have a prior alcohol violation or were involved in an accident
    • Level 1 alcohol education course (Discharge/Referral Summary) (DRS)

    Testing:
    A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

    I have a felony or non-felony drug conviction

    Definition:
    A driver is convicted for certain felony drug charges, or if under 21 years of age, non-felony drug offenses. Three month suspension (for 1st time offense) or one year (multiple offenses) is ordered from the date of conviction. A plea of no contest or a deferred sentence will have the same effect as a conviction. Change in statute: If your conviction date is on or after August 5, 2009, a suspension will no longer be taken. House Bill 05-1266 repealed the suspension.

    Reinstatement requirements

    Testing:
    A new license may be obtained without testing.

    I was convicted of driving under the influence of a controlled substance

    Definition:
    A conviction in court for driving under the influence of certain controlled substances or while a habitual user of such a controlled substance. A driving privilege is revoked for one year.

    Reinstatement requirements:

    Testing:
    A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written, and drive tests.

    I was ticketed for underage buy/possession of alcohol

    Definition:
    A person under 21 years of age is convicted of a non-driving related alcohol offense such as buying, possessing or consuming while under age.

    • 1st conviction - three month restraint
    • 2nd conviction - six month restraint
    • 3rd or more conviction - twelve month restraint

    Change in Statute: If your conviction date is August 5, 2009, or after, a revocation will no longer be taken except under certain conditions. House Bill 09-1266 amended the conditions for a revocation to be taken on a first time buy, possess or under age consumption charge. A revocation will be taken if the department receives a non-compliance from the court for failing to complete a court ordered treatment program/evaluation on a 1st conviction. The revocation will be for three months.

    Reinstatement requirements:

    Testing:
    A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written, and drive tests.

     

    Alcohol or Controlled Substance Problems (Adult Driver)

    I was stopped with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or more (1st offense)

    Definition:
    You are stopped by an officer and a chemical test is given to determine if you were driving impaired with a resulting BAC of .08 or greater. You have seven days to request a hearing.

    Revocation: Your first violation of driving with a BAC of 0.08 or greater results in a nine month revocation.

    • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
    • ALL alcohol or drug related reinstatements are processed by mail or can be brought to the Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office at 1881 Pierce Street. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately one month before you are eligible to reinstate.
    • If you were 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after one month of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.
    • If your BAC was below 0.15, you reinstate early, drive only an Interlock equipped vehicle and do not have any failed Interlock testing violations (BAC present), you may be eligible for an unrestricted license after four consecutive months of compliance.

    Reinstatement requirements (nine month revocation):

    Early reinstatement requirements (one month revocation plus eight month Interlock):
    In addition to items 1-4, you must:

    • 5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any approved provider for an appointment.)

    High BAC Offender: In addition to items 1, 2, 3 &, 5, above, if your BAC was 0.15 or more whether or not you reinstate early, you must maintain the SR-22 for a minimum of three years, regardless of whether there was an accident OR your Interlock requirement period, whichever is longer and

    • 6. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
      • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment,(Form #DR 2643) or
      • Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion (Omit item 4 above)
    • 7. Carry an Interlock restricted license for at least 2 years following reinstatement

    Click here for a list of Colorado's Authorized Interlock providers.

    Testing
    A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

    Approximately two weeks after we receive your Application with ALL required documents, we will send you a Letter of Clearance. You MUST then apply for a license at any Colorado State Driver License Office. Only after you have the license in your possession is it lawful for you to drive. For further assistance, call Driver Services at 303-205-5613.

    While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

    • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you, on three or more occasions in a twelve month period, attempt to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol as evidenced by your monthly monitoring report.
    • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least one year if you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.
    I was stopped with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or more (2nd offense)

    Definition:
    You are stopped by an officer and a chemical test is given to determine if you were driving impaired for the second time with a resulting BAC of .08 or greater. You have seven days to request a hearing.

    Revocation: Your second violation of driving with a BAC of 0.08 or greater results in a one year revocation.

    • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
    • All alcohol related reinstatements are processed by mail or can be brought to the Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office at 1881 Pierce Street. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately one month before you are eligible to reinstate.
    • If you were 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident, and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate early after one month of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.

    Reinstatement requirements (one year revocation):

    • 1. Complete an Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
    • 2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
    • 3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
    • 4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
      • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment,(Form #DR 2643) or
      • Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion
      • 5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any approved provider for an appointment) for two years following reinstatement.

    Early reinstatement requirements (one month revocation plus Interlock for a minimum of two years)

    Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers.

    Testing
    A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

    Approximately two weeks after we receive your Application with ALL required documents, we will send you a Letter of Clearance. You MUST then apply for a license at any Colorado State Driver License Office. Only after you have the license in your possession is it lawful for you to drive. For further assistance, contact Driver Services at 303-205-5613.

    While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

    • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you, on three or more occasions in a twelve month period, attempt to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol as evidenced by your monthly monitoring report.
    • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least one year if you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.
    I was stopped with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or more (3rd or subsequent offense)

    Definition:
    You are stopped by an officer and a chemical test is given to determine if you were driving impaired for the third (or more) time. You have seven days to request a hearing.

    Revocation: Your third violation of driving with a BAC of 0.08 or greater results in a two year revocation.

    • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
    • All alcohol related reinstatements are processed by mail or may be brought to the Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office at 1881 Pierce Street. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately one month before you are eligible to reinstate.
    • If you were 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after one month of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.
    • If you were under 21 years of age at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after one year of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.

    Reinstatement requirements (two year revocation):

    • 1. Complete an Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
    • 2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
    • 3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
    • 4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
      • Include the Affidavit of Enrollment (Form #DR 2643) or
      • Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion
    • 5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any approved provider for an appointment).

    Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers.

    Early reinstatement requirements (one month revocation plus Interlock for a minimum of two years):

    Testing
    A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

    Approximately two weeks after we receive your application with ALL required documents, we will send you a Letter of Clearance. You MUST then apply for a license at any Colorado State Driver License Office. Only after you have the license in your possession is it lawful for you to drive. For further assistance, contact Driver Services at 303-205-5613.

    While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

    • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you, on three or more occasions in a twelve month period, attempt to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol as evidenced by your monthly monitoring report.
    • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least one year if you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.
    I was stopped and refused to take a chemical test (1st offense)

    Definition:
    You are stopped by an officer and refuse a chemical test. You have seven days to request a hearing.

    Revocation: Your first violation of driving and refusing a chemical test results in a one year revocation.

    • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
    • All refusal reinstatements are processed by mail or can be brought to the Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office at 1881 Pierce Street. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately one month before you are eligible to reinstate.
    • If you were 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after two months of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive. If you were under 21 years of age at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after one year of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.

    Reinstatement requirements (one year revocation):

    1. Complete an Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
    2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
    3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for one year following reinstatement (three years if you had a prior alcohol violation or accident involved)
    4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
      1. Include the Affidavit of Enrollment (Form #DR 2643) or
      2. Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion
    5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any approved provider for an appointment)
      1. Include the notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (Form #DR 2058)
      2. Include a signed copy of each Interlock lease agreement and each Installation Certificate

    Early reinstatement requirements (two month revocation plus Interlock for a minimum of two years)

    Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers

    Testing
    A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

    Approximately two weeks after we receive your Application with ALL required documents, we will send you a Letter of Clearance. You MUST then apply for a license at any Colorado State Driver License Office. Only after you have the license in your possession, is it lawful for you to drive. For further assistance, contact Driver Services at 303-205-5613.

    While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

    • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you, on three or more occasions in a twelve month period, attempt to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol as evidenced by your monthly monitoring report.
    • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least one year if you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.
      I was stopped and refused to take a chemical test (2nd offense)

      Definition:
      You are stopped by an officer and refuse a chemical test for the second time. You have seven days to request a hearing.

      Revocation: Your second violation of driving and refusing a chemical test results in a two year revocation.

      • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
      • All refusal reinstatements are processed by mail or can be brought to the Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office at 1881 Pierce Street. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately 1 month before you are eligible to reinstate.
      • If you were 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after two months of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.
      • If you were under 21 years of age at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after one year of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.

      Reinstatement requirements (two year revocation):

      1. Complete an Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
      2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
      3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
      4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
        1. Include the Affidavit of Enrollment (Form #DR 2643) or
        2. Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion
      5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any approved provider for an appointment).
        1. Include a notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (Form #DR 2058)
        2. Include a signed copy of each Interlock lease agreement and each Installation Certificate

      Early reinstatement requirements (two month revocation plus Interlock for time remaining on total restraint or remainder of two years, whichever is longer)

      Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers

      Testing
      A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

      Approximately two weeks after we receive your Application with ALL required documents, we will send you a Letter of Clearance. You MUST then apply for a license at any Colorado State Driver License Office. Only after you have the license in your possession, is it lawful for you to drive. For further assistance, contact Driver Services at 303-205-5613.

      While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

      • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you, on three or more occasions in a twelve month period, attempt to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol as evidenced by your monthly monitoring report.
      • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least one year if you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.
      I was stopped and refused to take a chemical test (3rd or subsequent offense)

      Definition:
      You are stopped by an officer and refuse a chemical test for the third or subsequent time. You have seven days to request a hearing.

      Revocation: Your third or subsequent violation of driving and refusing a chemical test results in a three year revocation.

      • The revocation remains in effect until you complete the reinstatement process.
      • All refusal reinstatements are processed by mail or can be brought to the Lakewood Motor Vehicle Office at 1881 Pierce Street. You should begin the reinstatement process approximately one month before you are eligible to reinstate.
      • If you were,21 years of age or older at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after two months of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.
      • If you were under 21 years of age at the time of the violation, are a Colorado resident and have no other driving restraints, you may reinstate after one year of revocation provided you install an interlock in every vehicle you own or may drive.

      Reinstatement requirements (three year revocation):

      1. Complete an Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
      2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
      3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
      4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
        1. Include the Affidavit of Enrollment,(Form #DR 2643) or,
        2. Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion
      5. Have an Interlock installed in every vehicle you either own or may drive (call any approved provider for an appointment).
        1. Include a notarized Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit (Form #DR 2058)
        2. Include a signed copy of each Interlock lease agreement and each Installation Certificate

      Early reinstatement requirements (two month revocation plus Interlock for time remaining on total restraint or remainder of two years, whichever is longer)

      Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers

      Testing
      A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

      Approximately two weeks after we receive your Application with ALL required documents, we will send you a Letter of Clearance. You MUST then apply for a license at any Colorado State Driver License Office. Only after you have the license in your possession, is it lawful for you to drive. For further assistance, contact Driver Services at 303-205-5613.

      While your privilege to drive is Interlock restricted:

      • Your Interlock restriction may be extended if you, on three or more occasions in a twelve month period, attempt to operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol as evidenced by your monthly monitoring report.
      • Your privilege to drive will be revoked for at least one year if you drive a non-equipped vehicle or try to circumvent or bypass the Interlock under any circumstances.
        I have one alcohol or drug conviction

        Definition:
        This restraint is taken when a driver receive one alcohol or drug conviction. The revocation is ordered for a period of one year.

        Reinstatement requirements:

        1. Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
        2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
        3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement

        You must hold a restricted license for at least one year prior to applying for a regular driver license.

        If the offense occurred on or after July 1, 2004 the interlock requirement and restricted license must be held for two years.

        Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers

        Testing:
        A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written, and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

        I have two alcohol or drug convictions

        Definition:

        This restraint is taken when a driver receives two alcohol or drug convictions in a five year period. The revocation is ordered for a period of one year.

        Reinstatement requirements:

        1. Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
        2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
        3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
        4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
          1. Include the Affidavit of Enrollment (Form #DR 2643)
          2. Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion

        You must hold a restricted license for at least two years prior to applying for a regular driver license.

        In addition to the above requirements an interlock must be installed if one alcohol offense occurred on or after July 1, 2000.

        If either offense occurred on or after July 1, 2004 the interlock requirement and restricted license must be held for two years.

        Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized Interlock providers

        Testing:
        A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

          I have three or more alcohol or drug convictions

          Definition:
          This restraint is taken when a driver receives three or more alcohol or drug convictions over the lifetime of the driving record. The revocation is ordered for a period of two years.

          Reinstatement requirements:

          1. Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
          2. $95.00 reinstatement fee
          3. Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
          4. Enroll in or have completed Level II Alcohol or Drug Education and Treatment
            1. Include the Affidavit of Enrollment (Form #DR 2643) or
            2. Include a Discharge/Referral Summary (DRS) from your treatment agency showing Level II completion

          In addition to the above requirements the interlock must be installed if one alcohol offense occurred on or after July 1, 2000.

          You must hold a restricted license for at least one year prior to applying for a regular driver license. If offense occurred on or after July 1, 2004 the interlock requirement and restricted license must be held for two years.

          Click here for a list of Colorado's authorized interlock providers

          Testing:
          A restricted license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests in an interlock equipped vehicle.

             

            Insurance problems

            I was convicted in court of a no liability insurance ticket or did not carry insurance

            Definition:
            Your driving privilege can be revoked when the department receives a conviction from the court of No Liability Insurance. If an SR22 insurance form is received before the action date no restraint will be taken. This coverage must be maintained for three years from the date of conviction.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years from the date of conviction on the ticket

            Testing:
            Once reinstated, your license status will return to "eligible" status. You must visit a Driver License Office to renew and purchase a new license. If it's been 1 or more years since you had a "valid" license, you will have to pass the eye, written, and drive tests.

            I cancelled SR22 coverage prior to end of the requirement

            Definition:
            This action is taken when a driver is required to file SR22 coverage and it is cancelled before the end of the requirement.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            Testing:
            Once reinstated, your license status will return to "eligible" status. You must visit a Driver License Office to renew and purchase a new license. If it's been 1 or more years since you had a "valid" license, you will have to pass the eye, written, and drive tests.

            I was given an Affidavit and Notice of Suspension by an officer at a traffic stop

            Definition:
            If you are stopped by an officer and cannot verify insurance on the vehicle (Compulsory Insurance Law 42-4-1409), you are issued an Affidavit and Notice of Suspension. The notice is a valid license for seven days following the date of notice and during that time you may request a hearing. Proof of current insurance is required for this hearing request.

            You may avoid suspension by providing proof that the vehicle was insured at the time of the stop or by providing an SR22 filing (for three years from the date the Department receives it).

            • 2nd stop for not having insurance on a vehicle carries a four month suspension.
            • 3rd or subsequent stop carries an eight month suspension.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years from the date it was received by the Department

            Testing:
            A duplicate license must be purchased for $9.00 (1st) or $14.00 (2nd) unless a new application is required for some other reason.

            I received a ticket or was involved in an accident when under an insurance suspension

            Definition:
            When you are under an insurance suspension and you are convicted of a moving violation or are in an accident, a revocation of your driving privilege is ordered for one year from the conviction date if caused by a violation, or one year from the accident date.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            Major violation

            I have committed vehicular homicide or assault while driving a motor vehicle

            Definition:
            Your driving privilege will be revoked for one year with a conviction in court for vehicular homicide, criminally negligent homicide or vehicular assault while driving a motor vehicle.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
            • Hearing to determine reinstatement eligibility

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            I have a history of driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance

            Definition:
            Your driving privilege will be revoked if you are convicted in court for driving under the influence of a qualifying controlled substance or while a habitual user of such a controlled substance. The revocation is ordered for one year.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            I have used a motor vehicle to commit a felony

            Definition:
            When a driver is convicted in court of any felony in which a motor vehicle was used. The most common instance is driving while revoked as a Habitual Traffic Offender. The revocation is ordered for one year.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement,(Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
            • Hearing to determine reinstatement eligibility

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            I have been convicted of failure to stop and render aid

            Definition:,
            When a driver is convicted in court of failing to stop and render aid due to a motor vehicle accident resulting in death or injury. This revocation is ordered for one year.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
            • Hearing to determine reinstatement eligibility

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            I have given false affidavit or statement under oath to the department regarding ownership or operation of a motor vehicle

            Definition:,
            This revocation is taken if a person is convicted of perjury in the first or second degree or the making of a false affidavit or statement under oath to the Department under any law relating to the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle. The revocation is ordered for a period of one year.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            I have been convicted of motor vehicle theft, trespass or criminal mischief causing damage to a motor vehicle

            Definition:,
            When the department receives a conviction from the court that an adult or minor driver is convicted of:

            • 2nd degree criminal trespass involving a motor vehicle (conviction/deferred) or
            • Aggravated motor vehicle theft (convicted/deferred) or
            • Criminal mischief involving damage to a motor vehicle.

            Revocation is effective for one year. A hearing may be requested.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            • Application for Reinstatement (Form #DR 2870)
            • $95.00 reinstatement fee
            • Provide an SR-22 from your insurance company and maintain it for three years following reinstatement
            • Satisfaction of court ordered restitution or proof from the court that no such restitution has been ordered (must be a court document)

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.

            I have been convicted of defacing property

            Definition:

            When a person is convicted of defacing public or private property, including caves, the Department receives a conviction from the court. The restraint is for 6 months.

            Change in statute effective August 5, 2009:,
            If your conviction date is August 5, 2009 or after, your license will no longer be revoked. House Bill 09-1266 repealed the revocation.

            Reinstatement requirements:

            Testing:
            A new license must be obtained by taking the eye, written and drive tests.