About the law
- Who does CO-RCSA SB251 (C.R.S. 42-2-500) apply to?
CO-RCSA SB251 applies to temporarily legal and undocumented residents as defined in Section 42-2-503 (3).
- How long will a driver license or identification card be valid?
The driver license or identification card will be valid for 3 years from the date of issuance, with the exception of a minor driver license. A minor driver license will be valid for three years or expire 20 days after the minor's 21stbirthday, whichever comes first.
- Are the driver licenses, driver permits and identification cards marked differently?
Yes, all documents issued under CO-RCSA SB251 (C.R.S. 42-2-500)have a black banner with the wording "Not Valid For Federal Identification, Voting or Public Benefit Purposes" printed on the front of the card.
- What does the black banner on my card stating "Not Valid For Federal Identification, Voting or Public Benefit Purposes‚" mean?
This banner means that the card cannot be used to board commercial airplanes or enter federal facilities. The card can also not be used to vote or apply for public benefits. This banner is on cards issued to temporarily legal and undocumented residents.
- Will a driver license issued under CO-RCSA SB251 (C.R.S. 42-2-500) allow me to get license plates?
Yes, you will be able to get Colorado license plates.
Types of licenses
- Can a minor apply for a driver license under this program?
Yes, the same graduated driver license requirements apply as with a U.S. citizen's minor driver license.
- Can I get a motorcycle endorsement?
Yes, you will be required to take and pass the required testing in order to obtain this endorsement.
- Can I obtain a Commercial Driver License under CO-RCSA SB251 (C.R.S. 42-2-500)?
If you're a temporarily legal resident, you are eligible to apply for a Commercial Driver License or Commercial Driving Learner's Permit.
- I'm a temporarily legal resident, what will I need to bring with me to obtain a driver license or identification card under CO-RCSA SB251 (C.R.S. 42-2-500)?
If you are a temporarily legal resident, you will also need to bring documents that prove your name, date of birth, identity and Colorado residency. More information can be found on our Colorado Road and Community Safety Act (SB 251) webpage.
- I'm an undocumented resident, what do I need to do to apply for a driver license or identification card?
If you are an un resident, you will also need to bring documents that prove your name, date of birth, identity and Colorado residency. More information can be found on our Colorado Road and Community Safety Act (SB 251) webpage.
- Are there any special requirements for the passports, consular identification cards or military identification documents?
Yes, they must contain your full legal name, date of birth, date of issuance, country of issuance and your photograph. These documents will be accepted 10 years from the listed expiration date. Documents without an expiration date will be accepted 10 years from issuance date.
- What documents can be used to show proof of current Colorado residency?
Evidence of residence in Colorado may be demonstrated by presenting documents that include your name, date of the document and a Colorado address. The document presented for the current year must match the address of your current residence. Examples include, but are not limited to: utility bill, credit card statement, pay stub or earnings statement, rent receipt, telephone bill, transcript or report card from an accredited school, bank statement or checkbook, mortgage document, homeowner's/renter's insurance policy, vehicle registration and other items with an address that can be reviewed by Driver License staff. More information can be found on our Colorado Road and Community Safety Act (SB 251) webpage.
- How many proof of Colorado residency documents will be required to prove evidence of current residence in Colorado for the immediately preceding 24 months?
- A document from the current year (date on the document must not be older than one year from date of application). This document must have your current Colorado address.
- A second document to show Colorado residency from one year prior (date on the document must be between 12 and 24 months prior to application), and
- A third document to show Colorado residency from two years prior (date on the document must be between 24 and 30 months prior).
Examples of these documents include a vehicle registration, medical records, pay stubs, rental agreements, bank statements, utility bill, phone bill, etc. More information can be found on our Colorado Road and Community Safety Act (SB 251) webpage.
- What documents cannot be accepted as proof of Colorado residency?
Examples of documents that cannot be accepted include documents that give a date range, but not a specific issuance date, documents without a date, documents without an address, documents not in the applying individual's name and documents with an issuance date that is outside of the date range specified in the previous question.
- What if my middle name is abbreviated on my passport, consular card or military ID?
If the middle name is abbreviated on the passport/consular card/military ID you present, you must present an additional document (such as a birth certificate) that demonstrates your full name. All documents presented must be in English or translated into English.
- I use a PO Box as my mailing address. Do I need something to show my physical address?
Yes. You will need one document that shows your physical address (such as a real estate or lease document).
- What is an ITIN and how do I get an ITIN?
An ITIN is an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, issued by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS). For additional information, please visit the IRS's website.
- Do I need to show proof of my ITIN?
Yes. Proof of ITIN can be shown through a certified Colorado proof of tax return filing obtained from the Colorado Department of Revenue, an ITIN card issued by the IRS or the green ITIN letter sent by the IRS.
- How do I know if I qualify for an ITIN?
All questions must be answered by the IRS. Please visit the IRS's website or call the IRS toll-free number at 1-800-829- 1040.
- Where can I get help with my ITIN application?
An ITIN is issued by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and all questions must be answered by the IRS. Please visit the IRS's website or call the IRS toll-free number at 1-800-829-1040.
- I am not able to demonstrate lawful presence, but I have a Social Security number. Can I use my Social Security number in place of an ITIN?
No. Individuals who are unable to demonstrate lawful presence in the U.S. must have an ITIN to apply for a driver license, instruction permit or identification card under the Colorado Road and Community Safety Act.
- Can I bring an interpreter with me to assist when taking the written and driving tests?
Yes, you may use your interpreter with the written test but not the driving test. Interpreters may not be used for commercial driver license (CDL) driving or written tests.
- May I use an interpreter for my Commercial Driver License (CDL) test?
No. CDLs are federally regulated and interpreters are not permitted for the written or driving test. CDL tests, with the exception of the HazMat endorsement test, are available in English and Spanish.
- What are the requirements for an interpreter?
The interpreter must be over 16 years old and have a valid driver license.
- What if my Passport, Consular Card, or Military Identification Document is not in English? Will I be able to use it?
All documents presented to the Department at the time of the application appointment must be in English or be translated into English. If they are translated into English, then you must present the original documents and corresponding translated documents. All costs associated with translating the documents will be at the applicant's expense. Translation services are not provided by the Department.
- What are the requirements for Translators?
Translators must provide the following statement at the end of the translated documents and it must be typed or electronically printed on the same page as the translation, not on separate pieces of paper or the translation will not be accepted by the Department. It must state:
"I, _______________, affirm that the foregoing is a complete and accurate translation from (insert name foreign language) to the English language to the best of my ability. I further affirm that I am fully competent to translate from (insert name of foreign language) into the English language and that I am proficient in both languages."
If interpreting during the test, the person performing the translation must provide an unexpired driver license or identification card number and their full legal name.
- Can I use a third-party tester to take the written?
Yes, there is generally a third-party tester fee.
- Where can I get a list of state approved driving education schools?
Please check out our driving schools list.
- Will the written test be available in any language other than English?
The state provides the test in English and Spanish. For additional languages, you may bring an interpreter with you. The commercial driver license (CDL) test, with the exception of the HazMat endorsement test, is available in English and Spanish. You may not use an interpreter any CDL test.
- What is needed for the vehicle I am using for the skills (drive) test?
Valid vehicle registration and proof of valid insurance for the vehicle used during drive test is required. The vehicle will also need to pass a safety inspection to verify that items such as signal lights and brake lights are in working condition.