Out-of-State Transfer - Minor

Use the information below to determine the proper requirements for transferring your minor permit or license from out of state.  

16 Years to 17 Years - Out-of-State Permit Holder
  • You are permitted ONE drive test on your out-of-state permit if the requirements listed below have been met
  • If the drive test is failed, the applicant must obtain a Colorado permit and follow the Colorado requirements listed below before taking another drive test

Requirements:

You must complete a drive skills test with an approved driver education school Per Colorado Statute 42-2-104:

  • You must be at least 16 years old
  • You must hold a valid permit for at least 12 months
  • You must complete Drive Log Requirements
  • If younger than 16 years, 6 months, you must meet the six hours of Behind-The-Wheel (BTW) Training requirement. Out-of-state forms may be accepted if issued from a state jurisdiction
  • A parent or legal guardian must accompany you when visiting the driver license office who can sign the Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship form

 

Bring the following to the driver license office:

18 Years or Older - Out-of-State Permit Holder

You are required to purchase a new permit and can then take the drive skills test

You must complete a drive skills test with an approved driver education school

 

Bring the following to the driver license office:

16 Years to 21 Years - Out-of-State Driver License Holder

You may transfer your valid, out-of-state minor driver license to Colorado. It will be used for identification purposes and to waive testing requirements. Per Colorado Revised Statute 24-60-1106, the license you previously held will be voided (it will be marked with a single hole punch in the upper right corner). If you do not have your out-of-state driver license, you may provide a motor vehicle record from your previous state of residence, dated within 30 days of your office visit, to waive the written exam and drive skills tests, but you are still required to meet identity requirements.

 

Bring the following to the driver license office:

 For additional information, call 303-205-5600