Minor Permit

Minor permits are valid for 3 years

You will need to schedule an appointment to obtain your instruction permit. The information outlined below is what is needed to obtain an instruction permit.

Obtaining your permit:

 

What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

  • You must pre-register for a CO permit at myDMV.Colorado.gov.
  • Take an approved 4 hour driver awareness program.
    • You cannot take driver's education or the 4 hour driver awareness without first pre-registering.
  • Identification documents
  • Schedule an appointment at the DMV if you are not taking your Driving Knowledge (written) Test through a driving school or tester.

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

 

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?

What do I need to bring to the driver license office?

You are required, by law, to complete Behind-The Wheel training before you can be issued your driver license if you are under the age of 16 years, 6 months at the time you apply for your driver license. The BTW training can be administered two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor from a department-approved school or, if there isn’t a driving school that offers BTW training at least 20 hours per week with an address that is within 30 miles of the permit holder’s residence, you may complete 12 hours with a parent, guardian or alternate permit supervisor.

Exemption

Per C.R.S. 42-2-104, six hours of behind-the-wheel training is mandatory if you are under age 16 and 6 months at the time of applying for your driver license. If you live more than 30 miles from a full-time certified driving school, an additional 12 hours of drive time may be substituted for the behind-the-wheel training (Bring a map quest printout to the driver license office showing how far you live from the nearest school within your zip code). The 12 additional hours must be submitted on the drive time log.

You should check if and driving schools at least one month before to applying for your driver license. Please note, if a driving school opens (any time) within 30 miles of your residential address before applying for your driver license, you will be required to complete six hours of behind-the-wheel training.

If you are a minor applying for a permit under the Colorado Road and Community Safety Act, you must have the required residency documents. These documents can be in the minor's or a guardian's name.

For customers needing accommodations with the Driving Knowledge Test, we offer having the exam read by the testing machine, visual accommodations within the test, translation to other languages, including sign language (please note that test-takers must provide the translator, except for sign language), and a written version of the test.