All Colorado State Offices will closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024 in observance of Juneteenth.

 
1

State DMV fees

Fees are established by the legislature or promulgated in rule.

State driver license offices accept the following forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Check (made payable to DOR)
  • Credit Card: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card
  • Payroll and 3rd party checks are not accepted
  • Short check fees must be paid by cash or money order only
  • Fees cannot be combined for credit card charges or payments made by check

If you are 21 or older and your driver license is lost, stolen or mutilated, you will be required to purchase or renew a regular driver license.

#FFFFFF

Fees for U.S. Citizens, Permanent Residents

ActivityFee,
Driver License, renewal$30.87
Instruction Permit (includes motorcycle)$18.52
Identification Card (under 60 Years Old)$12.67
Identification Card (over 60 years old)FREE
Duplicate Permit, License, or ID$12.00
Subsequent Duplicate Permit, License, or ID$16.00

Commercial Driver's License Fees

ActivityFee
Commercial Driver's License$17.08
Instruction Permit$18.52
Duplicate License$12
Duplicate Permit$12
Subsequent Duplicate License$16
Subsequent Duplicate Permit$16
#FFFFFF

Standard License Fees

Fees listed in this section are for standard credentials, which are issued to a variety of Coloradans, including undocumented immigrants, international students, refugees, temporary workers and pending asylees. For more information on this program, including appointment schedule, please visit the standard license and ID card webpage.

ActivityFee
Driver License$33
Instruction Permit$21
Identification Card$13

Other Fees

Fees listed here apply to all people.

ActivityFee
Rehabilitation Permit$16.80
Motorcycle Endorsement (in addition to driver license fee)$2.00
Driving Knowledge (Written) Retest (CRS 42-2-114(2)(e))$11.15
Driving Skills (Road Test) - Retest (CRS 42-2-114(2)(e))$15.00

Reinstatement Fee

  • If reinstating from a DUI offense, you must pay an additional DUI/DWAI restoration fee of $25.
$95.00
Surrendered License Replacement$6.00
Identification Card Reissuance following cancelation or denial under CRS 42-2-302(IV)(3)$20.00
Driving Record$9.00
Certified Driving Record (available by mail or at the Lakewood office)$10.00
Extension (one year - civilian)$6.50
Extension (one year - civilian with motorcycle endorsement)$7.50
Extension (three year - military)FREE
Short Check Fee (penalty and administrative fee)$71.00
#FFFFFF

  Taxes & Fees

Fees are not collected by the Colorado DMV for titling or registering a vehicle. All questions regarding taxes and fees should be directed to your local county DMV office. See the titles and registration taxes and fees page for more information.