Historic Colorado

#FFFFFF

The Historic Colorado License Plate Contest is your chance to make history by helping design the state's 150th Anniversary License Plate! 

The contest has two divisions — 13 and older, and under 13 — and up to 10 finalists per division will be selected by a committee with a final, public vote on the top three designs. The winner will get huge bragging rights — the DMV will feature artists in all media releases and the winners will each receive a special commemorative license plate and a $1,000 grant!

Contest Info

Open for Submissions: Sept. 19 - Nov. 30

How to Enter

Please email up to three submission(s) and completed entry forms to dor_HistoricColorado@state.co.us. Entries must be in the following formats: EPS, AI, SVG, PDF, high resolution TIFF or JPG (3.375 in x 2.125 in at 600 dpi).

English Entry Packet                    Spanish Entry Packet

 

FAQs
1. What is the Historic Colorado Contest?

The Historic Colorado Contest, also known as the Great License Plate Contest, enlists Coloradans to help design, then choose the Centennial State’s 150th anniversary commemorative license plate.  

The Great License Plate Contest features two divisions — 13 and older as well as under 13. Each division will have a winner voted on by Coloradans in early 2023 with the winning plates to be announced shortly thereafter.

2. When will the Historic Colorado license plate be available to the public?

The Historic Colorado license plate will be available for public purchase on Aug. 1, 2023, ahead of Colorado’s 150th anniversary of statehood. You will be able to purchase this license plate at your local county motor vehicle office.

3. How long will the Historic Colorado license plate be available?

The Historic Colorado license plate will be available for public purchase from Aug. 1, 2023 to Aug. 1, 2027.

4. How can I get the Historic Colorado license plate?

You will be able to purchase the Historic Colorado license plate at your local county motor vehicle office on Aug. 1, 2023.

5. How much will the Historic Colorado license plate cost?

The Historic Colorado license plate will cost the same as a standard license plate.

6. How does the License Plate Reissue Program affect the Historic Colorado license plate?

Because the Historic Colorado effort was created under specialty plate statute, License Plate Reissue Program Fees do not apply. 

About the Historic Colorado Contest
7.  What is the process for the Historic Colorado Contest?

The Historic Colorado Contest is broken down into two phases for two separate divisions, 13 and up, and under 13. The first portion is the design phase, which is Sept. 19 to Nov. 30. During this phase, Coloradans will be able to submit their design for the state’s 150th anniversary license plate in their respective divisions. 

Once this phase concludes, submissions will be narrowed down to three finalists per division. The voting phase will start in early 2023, during which Coloradans will be able to vote for their choice of license plate design. 

After the vote has been tallied, the winners will be announced during a historic press conference.

8. How long will the design portion of the Historic Colorado Contest be open?

The design portion will be open for 61 days from Sept. 19 to Nov. 30.

9. What file formats are accepted?

Entries must be in the following formats: EPS, AI, SVG, PDF, high resolution TIFF or JPG (3.375 in x 2.125 in at 600 dpi).

10. How do I enter the contest?

Please follow the directions in the Historic Colorado Contest entry packet. You can send your submission(s) to dor_HistoricColorado@state.co.us; please include which division the entry is for.

11. What are the prizes for winning?

The winner of each division will get huge bragging rights — the DMV will feature the artists in all media releases and they will each receive a special commemorative license plate and a $1,000 grant.

12. How will entries be judged?

Entries will be judged on how well the artwork captures Colorado and its history, the artistic quality and its originality, how well that design will translate into becoming a Colorado license plate.

13. How much does it cost to enter?

The Historic Colorado Contest is free to enter and each participant can submit up to three entries, each of which need to be the participant’s original artwork.

14. What's the selection process?

Up to 10 finalists per division will be selected by a committee with a final, public vote on the top three designs of both divisions.

15. How many submissions can I enter?

You can submit up to three designs for consideration.

 

Media Kit

#FFFFFF

#FFFFFF
#FFFFFF
artistic graphic