Other License Plates

5 Year Collector

 

5 year collector

About: Vehicles must be (a) Model year 1975 or earlier; or(b) Model year 1976 or later that was registered as a collector's item prior to September 1, 2009; except that a vehicle so registered is not eligible for registration as a collector's item upon sale or transfer to a new owner; OR (c) A model year at least thirty-two years old unless the vehicle was registered before September 1,2009, and meets the requirements of paragraph (b) of this subsection (2). if the vehicle is being registered under this paragraph (c) and in the program area, as defined in section 42-4-304: (i) The vehicle must have passed an emissions test meeting the standards of part 3 of article 4 of this title within the last twelve months before being initially registered by the owner as a collector's item; and (ii) The owner must sign an affidavit DR 2839 that the vehicle will not be driven on roadways for more than four thousand five hundred miles per year. All taxes and fees shall be five times the annual taxes and fees normally assessed.

Available For: Passenger cars and trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight. Misc. Info: Motor vehicles that were grandfathered in prior to September 1, 2009 may remain registered as a collector's item until registration is allowed to expire or upon sale or transfer of ownership.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information:
Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-12-101, 42-12-102 and 42-12-401.

Amateur Call Letter
Amateur Call Letter

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight.

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has a valid, renewable amateur radio license issued by the Federal Communications Commission.

Requirements:  
A copy of the person's amateur radio license and form DR 2810.

Fees:  Annual fee of $2.00 for personalization, in addition to other taxes and fees.

MUST be Personalized: Personalized license plates. 
 
Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-210.

Colorado State Patrol
Colorado State Patrol

Available For: Vehicles owned by the Colorado State Patrol only.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Requirements: 
Application, registrations and issuance conducted by State Registration Services.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104.

Commercial Fleet-Set
Commercial Fleet Set

About: Issued to an owner of 10 or more vehicles and who establishes a common expiration month for his/her vehicles.

Available For: Passenger vehicles, light trucks and GVW trucks.

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2428.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-125.

Fleet Owner Request for Participation in the Colorado Fleet Registration Program (CFRP)

Dealer Demo
Dealer Demo

Available For: Any dealer licensed by Colorado Dealer Licensing Board.

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)
$30.00 for the 1st plate

$7.50 for the 2nd - 5th plate

$10.00 for each plate thereafter

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Requirements:
Must be a Colorado licensed dealer and meet the following requirements 1. May be displayed on a vehicle Offered for Sale by a Dealer; and 2. May be displayed on a vehicle operated by a prospective buyer for demonstration drive purposes during Normal Business Hours when a dealership employee is in the vehicle with the prospective buyer or 3. May be displayed on a vehicle operated by a prospective buyer for demonstration drives purposes outside of Normal Business Hours when a dealership employee is not in the vehicle with the prospective buyer; provided that: A. The Dealer must provide the prospective buyer a letter authorizing him/her to operate the vehicle with a Dealer Demonstration license plate after Normal Business Hours; B. The authorization letter must include the name and address of the prospective buyer, Dealer Demonstration license plate number, dates of the demonstration drive, vehicle make, vehicle model, and vehicle identification number; and C. The authorization letter must be kept in the vehicle when operating and must be presented to law enforcement upon request.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116(4)(b), 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 48 .  

Dealer In-Transit
Dealer In Transit

About: Used on vehicles being moved from point of purchase to the point of storage or, from point of storage to the point of sale or, for an intra-state and inter-state transport of motor vehicles consigned to be sold by said auction, for an intra-state and inter-state transport of motor vehicles owned by said dealer or wholesaler or for demonstration purposes on vehicles offered for sale, only when dealer representative is present in the vehicle.

Available For: Plates are transferred from one vehicle to another.

Who Qualifies: Any Colorado license dealer that can demonstrate being licensed by the Colorado Dealer Licensing Board.

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)

$30.00 for the 1st plate

$7.50 for the 2nd - 5th plate

$10.00 for each plate thereafter

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Requirements: 1. May be displayed on a vehicle operated intra-state or inter-state that is Offered for Sale, consigned to be sold, or owned by a Dealer. 2. May be displayed on a vehicle operated from point of purchase to the point of storage, or from the point of storage to the point of sale; 3. May be displayed on a vehicle operated for demonstration purposes only during Normal Business Hours when a dealership employee is in the vehicle with a prospective buyer.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116.1 CCR 204-10 Rule 48

Farm Tractor
Farm Tractor

About: Used to transport to market or place of storage, raw agricultural products that are actually produced, or livestock raised by the owner of the vehicle or transporting commodities which have been purchased by the owner of the vehicle for their own use or to be used in the operation of their farm or ranch. Growers of sod /trees can use these plates only to deliver to the consumer.

Available For: Farm tractor not designed to carry cargo and used to pull a semi-trailer or trailer and its cargo over the public highways.

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2159.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Plate Options: Personalized license plates.

Farm Vehicle Registration Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-306(4)(a)

Government-Set
Government- Set

Available For: State owned or leased vehicles or any passenger cars, trucks, buses, GVW trucks, and motor homes owned or leased by any city, county, town and school districts.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104(4).

GVW Truck
GVW Truck

Available For: Any truck weighing 16,001 pounds or more or with an empty weight between 10,001 pounds and 16,000 pounds, that operate in conjunction with a trailer and have a combined empty vehicle weight of 16,001 pounds or more (empty weight of the truck plus the empty weight of the trailer).

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-306(5).

Horseless Carriage
Horseless Carriage

About: Vehicles are limited to driving to and from assemblies, conventions for demonstrations and parades, occasional leisure drives, and on other occasions when their operations will not constitute a traffic hazard. Plates are registered for a set 5-year cycle with all plates expiring on the same date within that set 5-year cycle regardless of the date of issue. Cycles are 2009, 2014, 2019 etc. Upon sale or transfer, the plate shall remain with the vehicle and be transferred to the new owner.

Available For: Passenger, light trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight and motorcycles.

Who Qualifies: Vehicles that are fifty (50) years or older from the date of registration and that are valued principally because of the vehicles early date of manufacturer, design, or historical interest or valued as collectors items.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Horseless Carriage Plates Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-12-301.

Manufacturer
Manufacturer

About: Plates are not assigned to specific vehicles and may be used on any new vehicle owned by and titled in Colorado to the manufacturer or its factory branch.

Available For: Vehicle manufacturers licensed by the Colorado Auto Industry Division.

Who Qualifies: Vehicle must be titled in Colorado to the manufacturer or its factory branch and must carry the title receipt in the vehicle at all times.

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)
$30.00 for the 1st plate
$7.50 for the 2nd - 5th plates
$10.00 for each plate thereafter

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Manufacturer Plates Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116 

SMM Exempt
SMM Exempt

Available For:  SMM Equipment that is registered with an SMM plate or decal, but does not conform to Colorado lighting requirements. This plate exempts the equipment from certain physical requirements only, not taxes due.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-202

Special Use Truck
Special Use Truck

Available For: Vehicles that have been designated as a single use truck which are designed to carry a specific commodity and weigh over 16,000 lbs.  Special
 
Use Trucks are:

  • Mobile mixing concrete trucks
  • Beverage carrying trucks with roll-up sides only
  • Roll-off trash trucks
  • Veterinary mobile unit trucks
  • Concrete pumpers
  • Trash compactors
  • Trucks used specifically to haul only recyclable materials
  • Roll-off trucks used specifically to haul only recyclable materials
  • Operator-owned vehicles transporting racehorses to and from the stud or to and from racing meet in Colorado
  • Vehicles specifically constructed for towing, wrecking, and repairing that is not otherwise used for transporting cargo
  • Mobile blood donation/collection vehicles
  • Mobile medical testing and screen vehicles.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-305( 

Colorado Senator Senate District
Colorado State Senator

Available For: Passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

Who qualifies: Current State Senators in the Colorado General Assembly.

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per Colorado State Senator.

Requirements: 
First time issuance complete through the state, renewal complete through county motor vehicle office

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209.

Taxicab
Taxicab

About: Taxicab License Plate was created per House Bill 11-1234

Available For: Passenger vehicles, adult buses, trailer coaches, or multi-purpose trailers

Requirements: The Taxicab license plate is issued to a person providing Taxicab service authorized by the Public Utilities Commission

Information: Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-236: 

Transporter
Transporter

A Transporter License Plate will only be issued and renewed to:

  • Dealer or auctioneer that provides a valid license issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
  • A manufacturer that provides a valid license issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
  • A Distributor, as defined in 12-6-102(5), C.R.S. that provides a valid license issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division.
  • A Dealer of special mobile machinery that provides: (1) a valid Colorado Sales Tax License; and (2) a business license or other proof that the Dealer is engaged in the sale of special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business.
  • A Government agency that is acting in the capacity of disposing, auctioning, or movement of vehicles previously owned by the Government.
  • A Repair Facility that provides a current executed written agreement proving that it is engaged in Repair Activity for a State of Colorado licensed dealer and a valid Colorado Sales Tax License.
  • A drive-away or tow-away transporter that provides: (1) a valid Colorado Sales Tax License; and, (2) a current executed written agreement proving that it is providing drive-away or tow-away services for a person listed in the subsection 2.2; or (3) other proof demonstrating that it is providing drive-away or tow-away services for a lawful purpose.
  • A Financial Institution that provides to the Department a copy of its certificate of charter or other documentation proving its authority to do business in the State of Colorado.
  • A repossessor that provides proof of a bond filed with and drawn in favor of the State of Colorado Attorney General pursuant to 4-9-629(b), C.R.S.

Plate Fees: (plus applicable material fees)

  • $30.00 for the 1st plate
  • $10.00 for each plate thereafter

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Transporter Plates Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116 and 1 CCR 204-10 Rule 35

U.S. Representative
U.S. Representative

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, or trailers classified as Class B or Class C personal property.

Who Qualifies: Current U.S. Representative from the State of Colorado.

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per current U.S. Representative.

Requirements: 
Application and issuance is completed through the Department of Revenue Legislative Liaison.

Misc: No month and year tabs.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209 

Year of Manufacture

**Plate must be supplied by the applicant**

Fees: None

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

About:  The Year of Manufacture license plate is an original plate for motor vehicles valued principally because of the vehicle's early date of manufacture, design, or historical interest or value as collectors' items.  Motor vehicles using such plates may be used exclusively for:

  • Driving such vehicle to and from assemblies, conventions, or other meetings where such vehicles and their ownership are the primary interest.
  • Demonstrations, parades, and when their operation on the street and highway will not constitute a traffic hazard.
  • Traveling to and from and while on local, state, or national tours held primarily for exhibition and enjoyment.

Available for: Year of Manufacture license plates are authorized for passenger cars, trucks, and motorcycles.

Who qualifies: Any person with a qualifying vehicle and plates.

Requirements: The original plate shall meet the following criteria:

  • The plates were made at least thirty years prior to registration
  • Are embossed with the year of original issue
  • Are legible
  • Were issued with the year of manufacture of the vehicle upon which they are to be displayed
  • Do not exceed seven characters

The vehicle must have a current Colorado registration to allow the issuance of a Year of Manufacture plate. The applicant is responsible for providing the original plate.

Fees: None

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statue 42-12-302

5 Year Collector Truck/Tractor
5 Year Collector TruckTractor

About: Motor vehicles that are model year 1975 or earlier or motor vehicles with a model year 1976 or later that were registered as a collector's item prior to September 1, 2009 driven to and from:

  • Assemblies and conventions,
  • Special occasions, demonstrations and parades,
  • Traveling to and from local, state and national tours.

 
All taxes and fees shall be five times the annual taxes and fees normally assessed.

Available For: 25 year or older trucks or tractors that have an empty weight of 16,001 pounds or more or declared gross vehicle weight of 16,001 pounds or more.
 
Requirements:  Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) proof of compliance.
Misc. Info: Motor vehicles that were grandfathered in prior to September 1, 2009 may remain registered as a collector's item until registration is allowed to expire or upon sale or transfer of ownership.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.
 
Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-12-101, 42-12-102 and 42-12-401.

Apportioned Plates

Apportioned Permanent (APP PRM)                     

Available For: Vehicles participating in inter-state commerce.

Requirements: Contact Department of Revenue, Vehicle Services Section at (303)205-5608.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-107.

Commercial Call Letter
Commercial Call Letter

Available For: Passenger cars and trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

Who Qualifies:  Any person who has a valid, renewable standard radio, FM or television license issued by the Federal Communications Commission.

Requirements:  
A copy of the person's amateur radio license and form DR 2810.

Number of Plates Allowed:  Up to ten sets per commercial radio, FM or television license allowed.

Fees:  Annual fee of $5.00 for personalization, in addition to other taxes and fees.

MUST be Personalized: Personalized license plates.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-210.

Commercial Fleet- Single
Commercial Fleet- Single

About: Issued to an owner of 10 or more vehicles and who establishes a common expiration month for his/her vehicles.

Available For: Trailers, truck tractors and SMM equipment.

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2428.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Fleet Owner Request for Participation in the Colorado Fleet Registration Program (CFRP) 

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-125.

Dealer Full-Use
Dealer Full-Use

About: Vehicles displaying Dealer Full-Use license plates may be utilized by the owners and co-owners or employees of the dealership, the spouse or dependent child living in the same household as the licensed dealer or wholesaler or any person including former, current and prospective customers, in order to serve the legitimate business interest of the dealership.

Available For: Any vehicle owned and offered for sale by the dealer/wholesaler.

Who qualifies: Any Colorado licensed dealer/wholesaler that has sold more than twenty-five motor vehicles in the twelve-month period preceding the application.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Full Use and Special Mobile Machinery (SMM) plate fees increase every July 1.  After July 1, 2021 they are as follows:

Light Truck and Passenger - $415.86  

Motorcycle: $186.22

Passenger Vehicle: $392.58

Special Mobile Machinery (SMM): $903.37

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116(6).

Depot Tag
Depot

About: Plates are not assigned to specific vehicles and are used for road testing authorized vehicles or for moving vehicles for purposes of repairing, painting, upholstering, polishing and related activities.

Available For: Used on license dealer's vehicles which are being transported to and from the dealer's place of business or storage.

Requirements: 

  • Complete DR 2521 form.
  • Fees: $5 per plate plus material fees

Number of Plates Allowed: One plate per mechanic or service technician employed by the licensed dealership.

Depot Plates Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116.

Farm Truck
Farm Truck

About: Used to transport to market or place of storage, raw agricultural products that are actually produced, or livestock raised by the owner of the vehicle transporting commodities which have been purchased by the owner of the vehicle for their own use or to be used in the operation of their farm or ranch. Growers of sod/trees can use these plates only to deliver to the consumer.

Available For: Farm truck equipped with a body, which is generally and commonly used to carry and transport property over the public highways.

Who Qualifies: Applicant must submit form DR 2159.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Plate Options: Personalized license plates.

Farm Vehicle Registration Application

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-306(4)(a) 

Government - Single
Government Single

Available For: State owned or leased vehicles or any trailers, SMM, tractors or motorcycles owned or leased by any city, county and town and school districts.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-104(4).

Honorary Consul
Honorary Consul

Available For: Vehicles owned by official representatives of a foreign government or to official consuls of a foreign government.

Who qualifies:  Person recognized by the United States Department of State as being a representative or consul of a foreign government. Applicant must submit a current Colorado registration on the vehicle, a copy of their Consular card or a letter of recognition issued to them by the United States Department of State.

Number of Plates Allowed: Two sets per representative or consul of a foreign government.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-103.

Livery
Livery

About: Creation of this plate was per House Bill 10-1161.

Available For: Passenger Vehicles, adult buses, trailer coaches, or multi-purpose trailers.

Who Qualifies: Any person providing luxury limousine services authorized by the Public Utilities Commission.

Requirements:
Persons authorized by the Public Utilities Commission with a valid and current Colorado Public Utilities Commission Certificate of Registration as a Luxury Limousine Carrier by Motor Vehicle certificate.
Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

Online: Public Utilities Commission.
 
Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-235.

SMM Dealer Demo
SMM Dealer Demo

About: The SMM Dealer Demo license plate is issued to a person who sells special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business.

Available For: The SMM Dealer Demo license plate may be displayed on special mobile machinery for sale and being demonstrated for the purpose of a sale.

Who Qualifies: Any person who sells special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business. Person requesting to be issued the SMM Dealer Demo license plate shall provide sufficient evidence that he/she sells special mobile machinery in the ordinary course of business.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited

SMM Dealer plate fees increase every July 1.  After July 1, 2021 they are as follows:

Special Mobile Machinery (SMM): $903.37

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-116(7)(a):

Special Mobile Machinery

Available For: Machinery that is pulled, hauled, or driven over a highway and is either: a vehicle or equipment that is not designed primarily for the transportation of persons or cargo over the public highways; or a motor vehicle that may have been originally designed for transportation of person or cargo over the public highways, and has been redesigned or modified by the addition of mounted equipment or machinery, and is only incidentally operated or moved over the public highways. SMM includes vehicles commonly used in the construction, maintenance, and repairs of roadways, the drilling of wells, and the digging of ditches. (Effective October 1, 2010)

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Colorado Representative House District
Colorado House Representative

Available For: Passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight.

Who qualifies: Current State Representatives in the Colorado General Assembly.

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per current Colorado State Representative.

Requirements:
First time issuance complete through the state, renewal complete through county motor vehicle office

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209  

Street Rod
Street Rod

About: Vehicles manufactured in 1948 or earlier.

Available For: Passenger cars, light trucks, and recreational trucks.

Requirements: 
Applicant must submit a copy of their title or registration to verify the year of vehicle the plate is to be registered to along with form DR 2810.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-211

Tow Truck
Tow Truck

Effective January 1, 2013

About: Tow Truck License Plate was created per House Bill 12-1327

Available For: Passenger vehicles, adult buses, trailer coaches, or multi-purpose trailers

Requirements: The Tow Truck license plate is issued to a person providing Towing service authorized by the Public Utilities Commission

Plate Options: None

Information: Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-235.5 

TVW (GVW Tractor)
TVW (GVW TRACTOR)

Available For: Any tractor designed and primarily used to pull trailers and semi-trailers, which carry a cargo load over the highway.

Number of Plates Allowed: Unlimited.

Transporter Plates Application

Information:  Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-1-102(109) 

U.S. Senator
U.S. Senator

Available For: Passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed sixteen thousand pounds empty weight, or trailers classified as Class B or Class C personal property.

Who Qualifies: Current U.S. Senators from the State of Colorado.

Number of Plates Allowed: One set per current U.S. Senator.

Requirements: 
Application and issuance is completed through the Department of Revenue Legislative Liaison.

Misc: No month and year tabs are issued.

Information: Research Colorado Revised Statute 42-3-209